Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2010 Thread

thats the thing tho MBB, whilst there is a ‘defined’ handpass in aussie rules, they still fire the ball all over the place, loads of overhead handpassing, and over the shoulder handpassing. they fling the ball much much more than here, and 50%* of passes there wouldnt be allowed here. to be honest, I thought the games were destroyed by it yesterday. Deegan gave 4 frees for it in the first 10 mins, and I genuinely couldnt see why for a couple of them. others was hard to make out as tv coverage isnt as close to action as he is, but I couldnt see the benefit in giving frees for it.

*stats provided have no statistical basis.

Maurice Deegan looks like TV3’s ‘wacky weatherman’ Martin King.

The quick interchanging of the ball under the old rule made football better to watch. It’s just another example of them treating hurling and football as the same and changing one when they change the other. Calling for a clear striking action in hurling was a good idea, in football it just seems unnecessary.

Jack O’Connor and John Evans give their views on the rule change:

JOC: “I thought that was a legal pass, even though it was kind of overhand; it was a closed fist. But I’m not giving out about David Coldrick – of course referees will get these calls wrong. Somewhere down the line there’s going to be a critical call that will cost a team a match. All hell is going to break loose.”

O’Connor added: “Somebody somewhere has determined to get that rule through by hook or by crook. It was obvious that the handpass in the league was going to be defeated. Mickey Harte described it well when he said that it was brought in underhand but look, I’m not involved in bringing in rules of deciding rules. I’m involved in the coaching side of it. There’s no other game in the world where you would change a fundamental skill and give the players a crash course a week before the thing to learn it. These players have been passing the ball this way for 15 years – in the name of Jaysus.”

Evans could find himself in hot water for his comments as he raged: "I used to do interviews for a school one time. I was thinking in the car coming up from Kerry and the one thing we used to do when I was on the panel was to stop the intelligent fool getting through.

"I honestly think intelligent fools have gotten through to administrate this stuff here. They are hugely intelligent, they are certainly being paid well, but to come along and bring rules before us today… to bring poor David Coldrick into the dressing room…

"The referee wants the game to go well, Jack O’Connor wants it to go well, John Evans wants it to go well and yet we have been hit with this.

“This is silly lads, it is beyond belief.”

And he insisted: “It’s not good enough lads. That’s what we’re dealing with. I always say, if you go into a position of authority you should have a small bit of pragmatism and a bit of practical knowledge.”

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/gaa/tipperary-boss-labels-handpass-lawmakers-intelligent-fools-119988.html#ixzz0oBafs6Lh

A very decent player back in the day for whom injury seem to make a shite of. His and Cinneide’s injury probably cost Gaeltacht an All Ireland Club.

MUNSTER JFC FIRST ROUND Kerry 1-13 Tipperary 0-9: FORMER SENIOR All-Ireland medal winner Aodán MacGearailt was the key man as Kerry powered their way past Tipperary in the Munster junior football championship at Thurles yesterday.

MacGearailt, at the heart of everything Kerry did in attack, chipped in with four points as Kerry pulled clear in the second half.

The Gaeltacht attacker also had a 52nd-minute penalty turned over the bar by Tipperary goalkeeper Kieran Kenrick, after MacGearailt himself was fouled.

It made no difference to the outcome as Kerry were coasting courtesy of a 1-12 to 0-7 lead at the time.

A Michael O’Donoghue goal for Kerry after eight minutes was the main difference between the sides in a competitive first half. It helped Kerry to an interval led of 1-5 to 0-6.

Five points in the opening 10 minutes of the second half had breeze-assisted Kerry firmly in control and they never looked back thereafter.

KERRY : S Óg Ó Ciardubháin; S Enright, A Cahill, B McGuire; F Griffin, A Greaney, E O’Neill; G O’Driscoll (0-1) , D Murphy; M Murphy (0-2), M O’Donoghue (1-3), A O Sullivan (0-1) ; G Sayers, A MacGearailt (0-4), J Buckley (0-2). Subs : E Hickson for Cahill; F Courtney for Sayers; B Paff for D Murphy; T McGoldrick for Buckley.

TIPPERARY : K Kenrick; D Buckley, R Power, D Lynch; D Bourke, D Dwyer (0-1) , P O’Dwyer; D Heffernan, L O’Gorman (0-1); T Hanly (0-2) , R O’Dwyer, L Coskeran; T Egan (0-2), S Hahessy (0-3) , P McEvoy. Subs : D Foley for Heffernan; R Kiely for Power; D O’Brien for McEvoy; D Lynagh for Coskeran.

He plays for Ballygarvan in Cork, at least he did up to last year, lost 2 county finals in a row with them.

I can’t believe he’s play for Kerry Juniors. Thought they’d have more out there, he was poor at times in Cork Junior club. Although he did win one or two games for Bally as well.

Yea I knew he had moved to Cork alright for the Club. I was surprised to see him there too, making much the same argument as you, but I guess sometimes a bit of experience on a team like that does no harm. Ciaran Carey played full back for a Limerick Intermediate side not long ago if I recall correctly.

Ya true, with pace around him he’d be very good alright, 'cos he’s a savage kicker. Thats the thing i suppose, Bally had a few similar guys to him, big lumps, but they didn’t have much pace on the team.

Ciaran Sheehan has disclocated his shoulder.

That happened to me once in bed. Fookin sore as fuck.

In training Turrene? Thats a disaster for the guy himself, but also for Cork Senior and the U-21 hurlers and footballers. Just as well Colm O’ Neill has gone into over drive again with his form.

We’re getting alot of injuries lately, in both codes, not good.

Jason Sherlock - an appreciation :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

http://www.sportingvisions.com/imgdir/52228529/004842.jpg

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF5/004846.jpg

http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked/Library/SF5/004841.jpg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fKUpSFXIb28

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLwFP5VCGpA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UigZ8IIlM1w

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9bNEG7h8g_8

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs524.ash1/30788_444409663501_350398153501_5880960_2992459_n.jpg

Fair play to Ulster GAA, doing a bit of half decent marketing, putting the main clowns to shame.

The examiner is full of stuff about the hand passing, and the CP lads ain’t too happy about being criticized. :smiley:

Would it be at all possible for RTE to give us the full names of the players as opposed to their initials? I expect N.McNamee to be a threat for Offaly here.

Considerable forum interest here with TFK serial Celeb spotee Gary O’Brien making his championship debut for Meath, and Gary has already made a good impression. Malahide’s John Coughlan, former Dublin All-Ireland minor finalist, playing centre field for Offaly.

Stephen Bray darted in to intercept a wandering pass by Offaly’s Richie Dalton and Meath are 3-2 up.

12 minutes and 50 seconds in we have our first illegal handpass and it was the forum’s own Gary O’Brien penalised.

Meath well on the way already.

It’s Tit Sunday in Portlaoise. Offaly penalised for a perfect fist pass to make it 7-2. Then a great goal for Offaly. N.McNamee the creator, B.Connor the finisher.

Joe Sheridan has the ball in the net in Portlaoise. Ball in the net.