She could talk to you about football. What more could you ever want in a woman :rolleyes:
For years, and years, and years these cunts on the sunday game complained about the pulling and dragging and fouling in the game and now that players are punished for persistent fouling they complain about that as well. These guys are just really shit at their job.
They are utter cunts. They never actually analyse the game at all.
I actually dislike O’Rourke the most I think, and that says something. Mentioned that Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry and Meath (!) would dominate in the next decade, and five minutesd later said Cork would dominate for the next five years.
He tries to come across as the more reasonable of the three but consistently talks through his arse while manitaining a smugness.
O’Rourke’s comment when Spillane was complaining about too much handpassing: ‘You played in a Kerry team that did plenty of it - if they painted ye black, ye could have been the Harlem Globetrotters’.
how the fook did the handpassing rule change get passed at congress? its making shit of the game now. who gives a fuck if you overhand pass it, palm pass it or what the fuck just as long as there is a striking action in the pass. did they honestly think it was going to speed up the game or eliminate handpassing? thick fooks.
Eh, isnt this the rule as it was, with just a tightening of the wording? It always had to be a striking action, and it should always have been underhand. Far too often you were seeing lads throw the ball with both hands moving when handpassing. Tis not rocket science.
Nice to see Brolly whining on again about Ulster football needing Ulster refs. Its fucking horrible the style they play up there, maybe it’d be best just to let them knock the shite out of each other for a few months on their own. Wouldnt fault Deegan for much he didnt yesterday, neither of those sides were too interested in playing the game.
Ok mbb, the lads didn’t play great football yesterday, bar some good Armagh breaks and long kicks, but the ref was a joke, an absolute disgrace. I’d allow him a little leeway with new rules or whatever, but it was shocking start to finish and the rules had nothing to do with it. The penalty, the constant fouling from the Derry full back line he didn’t see, the ridiculous thrown ball out on the sideline when Derry couldn’t take the fact that their player got bowled over the line very fairly. He also allowed the ball be picked straight off the ground on a few occasions and blew it then on others. He was brutal, and looked intimidated and out of his depth. He was inconsistant on the hand pass to the end.
The rule has changed mbb. There was no mention of under hand before. Thats a massive change. You can’t pop pass anymore as the ref will blow, even if its closed fist. The way i saw it described and demonstrated the other night actually brought a few laughs. They almost expect you to wind up.
On a personal level I will find that very hard to adjust to, a lot of forwards games are getting in to the ball in front and then popping it off to an in-rushing team mate. It’s not going to make life easy on your average club ref either, as you can be sure a lot of them will have taken their own intrepetation of what consitutes a “proper” hand-pass.
Why cant you pop pass? All its saying is a striking action from underneath? Surely underneath is the definition of a pop pass? It doesnt even have to be a closed fist, it can still be an open hand. I do think it’ll lead to turmoil in the Club game, but most that were blown yesterday were dodgy to me and right to be questioned at least. I do think the timing was well off.
As for being out of his depth, Deegan has refereed an All Ireland Final between Kerry and Tyrone and got no criticism for it, cant see how he’s suddenly out of his depth. Its just more Ulster Football bullshite for me. Let them have McEneaney (another overhyped ref imo) and let them knock the shite out of themselves for weeks if they like. Deegan (who I’ve had run ins with) wasnt the reason for that heap of shite served up yesterday.
As for the penalty, that was a stone wall pen for me. He struck the Derry player on he back of the head with his elbow, if thats not a foul, then what is?
Mainly due to speed and the ref being blinded by it. I know it can be open hand, but even yesterday Deegan couldn’t see 2 passes, one he gave, one he didn’t.
I meant he was out of his depth for a dour Ulster game like that with all the sneaky stuff going on.
McEneaney is an excellent ref. Obviously you could pull out a mistake or two from anyone, but he understands the game better than most.
We are not going to agree on this.
No way was that a penalty, he was terrible terrible terrible/ Totally inconsistent.
An alright sort, does his own thing and doesn’t give a fuck what anyone thinks of him. A hardy cunt for the size of him, he won’t break you up with a joult or anything, but you couldn’t bury the wiry little fucker, no matter how hard you try, he’ll just bounce back up every single time.
Listened to that interview this morning, Wooly and Micko weren’t friends, and I would have a lot of time for Micko, but there’s merit to what he’s said there. Still, and he acknowledged it himself in the interview that Micko does bring a huge buzz gives a County and aul gee up, which was what was needed at the time. Just couldn’t shift it on a bit more the following year when we gave Westmeath the easiest provincial title since Leitrim picked one up in the 90’s.
Still, great bit of listening there in that and would love to see and hear Wooly more on the airwaves. TV3 should get in there for the shits and giggles.
I dont see why the need to tinker with the handpass rule at all. Deegan gave a free at one stage for an open handed underneath handpass, and I havent a clue why. Actually he gave a few frees that I havent a clue why but thats a different matter. by changing this handpass shit is going to slow down games and make them shite, and they were bad enough already. I dont see why you cant overhand handpass. why the need to eliminate that from the rules I cant understand. it just means if you get bottled up by players you will be giving away the ball. the only outlet from that was to try knock it over their heads, and now you cant.
The reason for the rule change was simple, there was far too much ‘throwing’ of the ball, and the change is an attempt to tighen up on this. For example Kieran Donaghy went ballistic yesterday when his pass was pulled up, but on the replay you can clearly see that both hands were moving when he passed the ball. That was never legal, one hand must be stationary and this is for me, what a lot of the passes are being pulled up for. I can understand the reasoning behind it in that respect. To be honest, if they had just pulled up on the stationary hand thing, they’d have been as well off. The underhand issue seems to be causing a lot of people problems.
Ya I played football with him Parkinson for a while on my travels. Very much an alright sort, who had NO time for Micko. 12 laps and match was what training used to consist of. During his time in Laois Micko was at an awards dinner one night where he was seated with a couple of Dublin players. He proceeded to cut the shit of Parkinson not knowing that the Dublin boyos were actually very friednly with him and they relayed the whole conversation straight back.
but really, unless its a blatent throw, who cares if the ‘stationary’ hand is moving. it is still possible to strike off one hand whilst the other is moving. as I said, blatent throws should be blown, but why the need to give stupid technical frees which slows up the game for the sake of ‘both hands moving’. let the thing flow be damned. its already too stop start.
Yea I can respect that, but for me there was far too many blatant throws going on, and until you clamp down on something nothing will change. Its a shame they didnt just experiment with this rule in the NFL and not go on about that shite about the fist pass, thats where the mistake was made imo. Thankfully no game yesterday was determined by the confusion for me, Derry were abysmally bad and unlikely to beat an average Armagh side anyway.
As a fan of Aussie Rules Gman I’m sure you can appreciate their strongly defined handpass though? Ours is a bit of a mess, and while I’m all for letting a game flow, sometimes a foul is just a foul and should be blown.