‘Waiting in the long grass’
Where did that saying come from? It’s bloody everywhere. It is like ‘hunger’ a few years back…
‘Waiting in the long grass’
Where did that saying come from? It’s bloody everywhere. It is like ‘hunger’ a few years back…
There were lads talking about hunger on the television the other day
It’s all to do with the British Empire,the damned fuzzy wuzzies and ambushes.
And Mayo.
It’s a load of bollox, in my opinion. It was a pet hate of mine for years how the RTE pundits never actually analysed a match - they’d show a few clips of scores and say one team was hungrier than the other.
Why didn’t you tell anyone?
I did. But I should have done so sooner.
Heading down to the smoke this weekend to take in the London/Roscommon game at Ruislip,the winner will take on Leitrim in the Connacht semi final.
Reading the Irish Post today the feeling is that this is the year for the Exiles to cause an upset.
The London lads seem confident they can do it,Roscommons self belief is at rock bottom after a shite league campaign that ended in relegation.
London are waiting in the long grass and if they are hungry enough a shock is on the cards.
Manus anything to say?
I was trying to get around to this for a few days. This was an enjoyable game. I was only saw the first 25-20 minutes (watched full game after) and was then driving into the Pairc. On the radio i listened to both Radio 1 and Newstalk, the difference between the analysis and what the guys thought of the game is stark. Luke Dempsey knows what its like at that level, the RTE guys are way off.
The likes of Spillane and O’ Rourke are involved with 2nd level football, O’ Rourke especially at a very high level. I think this involvement is clouding their judgement. Underage football i have often said is the best you can watch, after Minor players tend to get a bit over coached and the athletes come through in alot of cases. The lads need to accept that this is just the way, Inter County football is all about winning. Either way they should start analyising the games for what they are or fuck off.
On the game, Down should have won in regular time, and are a far more tactically astute team/management. I know he made a balls of the U-21 final, but i wonder would Jim McGuinness more analitical approach be better for Donegal long term. Anyway they have some excellent players and i believe they have potential to be a better team.
Down have potential to burn, but vitally they have 3 or 4 excellent scoring forwards. Benny was on fire, Clarke will be better than he was Sunday, and they have good support. They have the basis for a good Inter County team, scoring forwards and a athletic footballing midfield. Their problem is they aren’t dirty enough, especially at the full back line. Plenty speed, but they need a bit of dirt.
Well done to the ref by the way, he showed the way forward, clamp down early on and then let it flow. Was very sensible.
Coulter gave a masterclass on Sunday. First forward I have seen to destroy Karl Lacey.
He was the difference between the two teams.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 464229”]
Manus anything to say?
I was trying to get around to this for a few days. This was an enjoyable game. I was only saw the first 25-20 minutes (watched full game after) and was then driving into the Pairc. On the radio i listened to both Radio 1 and Newstalk, the difference between the analysis and what the guys thought of the game is stark. Luke Dempsey knows what its like at that level, the RTE guys are way off.
The likes of Spillane and O’ Rourke are involved with 2nd level football, O’ Rourke especially at a very high level. I think this involvement is clouding their judgement. Underage football i have often said is the best you can watch, after Minor players tend to get a bit over coached and the athletes come through in alot of cases. The lads need to accept that this is just the way, Inter County football is all about winning. Either way they should start analyising the games for what they are or fuck off.
We had the team on the pitch to win the game,the tactics were the thing that let us down(?).
I admired JJ as a player,he was quality,but i don’t think he could manage a good shite nevermind an inter county football team.
Michael Murphy is an awesome talent who was double/triple marked on sunday,we knew that would be the case so why wasn’t there a Plan B to compensate for that? Inept management,thats why.I think the lads from the u21’s did well,Molloy in particular.We were never direct enough,all the fucking about and sideways hand passing makes my blood boil.As an old Rossie at the game on sunday declared" Would ye ever kick the shaggin’ ball!!" Sums it up for me.
FAO Farmer,DB,Massey,etc…i only saw the second half of the game in Ruislip and i don’t think ye have too much to be worried about come the semi.Roscommon were poor and London could have really put them under if they were more clinical and had a wee bit of luck.
If ye can keep Donie Shine quiet i would say Leitrim would win handy enough.
Laois went down to Cork in a challenge match last week, 2-9 to 0-17. 9 points is poor enough scoring, Laois led by a point at the break but only managed to pop over one point in the second half. Kingston scored 2-1 for Laois and both sides had next to championship sides out. Not a bad run out for the lads leading up to the match against Meath.
Quietly quietly. Meath will be taken.
Where did Shine play Manus? According to the team line out he was at full forward but I wondered if that is where he actually played as he generally plays left half.
The thing is, we are actually hopeless as well. Any neutral attending that match on June 20th is in for a treat!
How are things in the Leitrim camp these days after the passing of Philly Farmer? Its gotta be a tough thing to cope with I’d imagine.
Very tough and puts a football match in perspective really.
Moran said that they are beginning to focus again on the Championship and will be ready for Roscommon. Life goes on and all that. The truth is though that Philly’s passing will leave a mark on Leitrim football for a long time.
Where did Pierce O’ Neill and Donnacha O’ Connor play? And who were the full forward line for Cork.
If you were there?
Any chance it might inspire some of the lads to try and win in his honour farmer? Or has it had too much of an impact on the lads for them to be able to lift themselves to play?
Yea, I was tossing this around in my head, it could go either way, win it for Philly, or jsut not be able to stomach a competitive match, even against the Rossies. I’d love to see them do it, and think they could, but you just dont know how anyone might react to something like this.
Wasn’t at it Kev, just hearing from a lad who was, said Cork were at full strength apart from Canty and Lynch. When I say “went down” I mean lost to, the match was in O Moore Park.
Don’t know what the story with Canty is, he got through a club game and an AvB game and all of a sudden was injured again. Lynch played Junior Championship for his club, and came through with flying colours, scoring a brilliant goal as well from midfield, which used to be his calling card.
I’m sure the lads will, and it would be great if we could.
However, we have regressed substantially since the days of Dessie Dolan. Mulligan and Maxwell are injured and M&M seem intent in playing a three man full forward line in on top of the goolkeeper.
It could be enough to beat Roscommon but I wouldn’t hold out a lot of hope.
It would be a great victory though.
Wexford play the Dubs in Croker next weekend too.
A hoor of a bating…