Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2010 Thread

the correct name is archbishop croke park :angry:

I was present in Dr Cullen Park for a Saturday afternoon April end of league campaign game in 2000 where Forde got sent off. It was the last year of the old ‘round robin’ where the 4 weakest Leinster teams all played each other and the team with the best record got the last quarter final place. He ended up missing those games against Wicklow, Carlow and someone else (can’t remember - probably Longford) but we managed to top it before we got destroyed by Dublin in Croke Park - he missed that game too.

Basically, the chap marking him was winding him up throughout and flicking his legs, standing on his feet and all that site and he eventually reacted in the second half by turning around and punching yer man in the face. A good crowd waded in then and a few punches were thrown and Forde was sent off. He’s generally the one reacting to something rather than initiating the bother. Fucking scary there trying to remember the game and realising it was over 10 years ago.

Are you Pat Spillane? Watching a game you clearly don’t enjoy.

Thats kinda stupid don’t ya think?

Here Sid, go fuck yourself. :guns:

not stupid at all- watching gga adds to my superiority complex

Ah no I agree, it was terrible defending to let Dunne be completely unmarked like that but it was jammy at the same time for the ball to come back off the bar. But there’s always a chance of that kind of stuff happening. I remeber Kerry got a goal just like that in a quarter final against Dublin in 2004. Probably a good lesson for the Down defence to mark up at all times. But after that I thought they tightened it up a lot.

Ya, agreed.

No probs Sid, and calling it a “challenge” is generous of you

He was roaming all over the shop,not one of the London backs got anywhere near him,he is a quality player.

Get outa that garden

Anyone reckon Louth couild upset Kildare this weekend? 3-1 to win and pretty sure they’re Kildare’s bogey team?
Totting up my betting slip for the weekend so any other stand outs throw em up.

I’m biased, but I think they’ll give Kildare a right run for their money. Is Earley fit? Louths full forward line are as good as any around, its the midfield that lets them down. If Earley is out, they could have a chance.

Kildare gave Rainbow pucks of gametime in the league, for me that says it all about where they are. However, like I said, I’m a little biased when it comes to the flourbags.

Sligo could conceivably catch Mayo first game out.

Westmeath Wicklow is anyones guess.

Cork Kerry draw at 15/2?

Didn’t even see that-that’s the stand out one really

I would have presumed that Limerick would be a lot shorter than 1/2 to beat Waterford. Runt / Dunph, are your lads not a good bit better than Waterford. Is the Limerick (-2) at 10/11 banker material?

Not bad odds, but i can’t see it happening. Louth were better than i expected last time out, but i think Kildare are a level above that game. I’d look at Louth +3 at 11/10.

Kildare, Sligo & Wicklow is 8/1, i’m going on that. Can’t believe Westmeath are favourites over Wicklow.

Mayo are painful and i think JO’M may have lost a bit of his magic possibly, with the young pretender Walsh doing as superb job with the All-Blacks. Mayo favourites, but its worth 25 for the treble IMO.

Edit: Wicklow are favourites, misread that, Rightly so too. I think Wicklow are a very decent outfit, who have even improved from last year.

Leinster football seems to be gone to shite. Wicklow are favourites to beat Westmeath. Should be a turgid low scoring game so I would imagine there’ll be some good prices on some of the individual players scoring below a certain amount when those prices come out on Friday.

They’re not Kev - look at it again

I edited Mac, keep up, i was looking wrong. The 2 W’s got me. :smiley:

Don’t know why you think it will be low scoring (not saying it won’t, but wouldn’t be a stand out) as Wicklow scored 3-13 in last game and Westmeath can concede huge scores.

In the league Westmeath were -56, Wicklow + 46. Now i know they are different divisions, but all the same thats dreadful from Westmeath. They have got forwards back, but the backs will be much the same.

I’m sure they’ll be out to prove a point, but i’d be very surprised if they done Micko on this one.