Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2010 Thread

I don’t think Wicklow are all that creative and a lot of their scores come from frees. They accumulated +46 against the likes of London, Kilkenny etc. Westmeath are dour who play as many men behind the ball as possible. The better teams will cut them to shreds like Dublin did last year but other teams can struggle to break them down. Wicklow needed extra time to beat them last year if I remember correctly.

Wicklow shat themselves and lost to them in extra time despite having most of the play last year, Mac. It was that defeat that put them into the qualifiers. There’s not a hope in hell that Sligo will beat Mayo.

The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Cork on Sunday 7th June is as follows:

1. Brendan Kealy Kilcummin 2. Marc Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht 3. Tommy Griffin Dingle 4. Tom O’ Sullivan Rathmore
  2. Tomás Ó Sé An Ghaeltacht 6. Mike McCarthy Kilcummin 7. Killian Young Renard
  3. Seamus Scanlon Currow 9. Micheál Quirke Kerins O’Rahillys
  4. Darran O’ Sullivan Glenbeigh /Glencar 11. Declan O’ Sullivan Piarsaigh Na Dromada 12. Donnacha Walsh Cromane
  5. Colm Cooper Dr Crokes 14. Kieran Donaghy Austin Stacks 15. Bryan Sheehan (CAPTAIN) St. Mary’s
    The substitutes are:
    16 David Hennessey Kerins O’Rahillys 17. Padraig Reidy Scartaglin 18 Paul Galvin Finuge
  6. Anthony Maher Duagh 20. Adrian O’Connell St Michael’s Foilmore 21. Kieran O’Leary Dr. Crokes
  7. Barry John Keane Kerins O’Rahillys 23. Niall O’Mahony Spa 24. Pat Corridan Finuge
  8. David Moran Kerins O’Rahillys 26. Daniel Bohan Austin Stacks 27. Paudge O’Connor Legion
  9. Johnny Buckley Dr Crokes 29. Jonathan Lyne Legion 30. James O’Donoghue Legion

The Cork Senior Football team to play Kerry in Sunday’s Munster Semi-final in Killarney at 4pm will line out as follows:

1. Alan Quirke
    (Valley Rovers)

2. Ray Carey 3. Graham Cantry 4. Jamie O’Sullivan
    (Clyda Rovers) (Bantry Blues - Capt) (Bishopstown)

3. Noel O’Leary 6. Michael Shields 7. Paudie Kissane
    (Cill na Martra) (St. Finbarr’s) (Clyda Rovers)

4. Alan O’Connor 9. Aidan Walsh
    (St. Colum’s) (Kanturk)

5. Pearse O’Neill 11. Donncha O’Connor 12. Paddy Kelly
    (Aghada) (Ballydesmond) (Ballincollig)

6. Daniel Goulding 14. Ciaran Sheehan 15. Paul Kerrigan
    (Eire Og) (Eire Og) (Nemo Rangers)

Subs:

1. Paddy O’Shea (St. Vincents)
  2. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
  3. Eoin Cotter (Douglas)
  4. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
  5. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
  6. Derek Kavanagh (Nemo Rangers)
  7. Fiachra Lynch (Valley Rovers)
  8. Kevin McMahon (Carbery Rangers)
  9. John Miskella (Ballincollig)
  10. Kieran O’Connor (Aghada)
  11. Conor O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers)
  12. Paul O’Flynn (Ballyclough)
  13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
  14. Brian O’Regan (Nemo Rangers)
  15. Ger Spillane (Ballygarvan)

Interesting looking team. Harsh on Cotter being dropped, big risk starting Canty considering he has played little to no football since last year.

A couple of awful players on the bench as well.

Very good article by Euan McKenna in the Tribune, sums up what a lot of lads were saying here about the pundits

http://www.tribune.ie/sport/gaelic-football/article/2010/may/30/back-stage-ewan-mckenna-foot-in-mouth/

The 4 bolded i confidently say are not in the top 45 footballers in Cork, not to mind the top 30, the Juniors sunday have better players. I wonder if its a bit of a dummy team, i hate that shite. But i can see Canty not playing, Cotter coming in and Jaime Sull full back. Big game for Paudi Kissane, this will test if he’s really up to the top teams, Donnacha Walsh will give him plenty of it for the day.

Pierce at 10 is interesting, and worth a shot, he’ll cause Young alot of trouble.

Kerrigan is more affective on the wing, but i suppose there is a bit of playing around to get the best fellas on. Colm O’ Neill is supposed to be flying, but his laziness is coming against him, he still doesn’t go for every ball. If/when he adds work rate he’ll be awesome, but until then he’ll lose out to Sheehan. I expect Sheehan to play half forward later on in the year with Pierce O’ Neill midfield or at 11, with possibly Donnacha loosing out. Colm hopefully at full then.

I still think Kerry will win, they want to go straight through, and the qualifiers might suit Cork as they don’t know their team. I heard a CB man on about that fact, so if they are talking about it there is a good chance its being mentioned closer to the team. Personally that annoys the shit out of me, but there you go, if its in the mindset at all Kerry will win.

Don’t rule out Noelie and Galvin flaking again. Galvin was talking alot of shite in the league game.

I think the Wexford lads don’t like the thought of Wicklow being ranked higher than them.

Your points about last year are right though, thingis they have improved an awful lot since that Westmeath game, have Westmeath improved? I don’t htink so going by the players they lost, manager upheaval, league form and the players they have lost. Any team that reallys gets in Westmeaths face and pushes them and i think they will falter, is it 2 competitive wins out of 19 or something?

They seem in trouble to me.

Galvins not starting.

But he’s on the bench. If he couldn’t play some sort of game i’d doubt he’d be there at all.

Probably afraid of Noelie the little shit. :smiley:

Said the same thing on boards, he’s running scared from the crazy Cork fucker.

Yea, good one lads. :smiley: If it got too rough in there, Galvin could just hit him with a bag of All Ireland medals and All Stars.

Dermot Earley out for Kildare, don’t underestimate how important he is to them, Louth have a chance here.

When you finished salivating over Kerry, its a well known fact Galvin has a of fear of Noelie. The word scumbag doesn’t come close to what describes Galvin for the things he’s said to Noelie. The day will come when Noelie has nothing to play for, i hope to be around that day.

Kildare without Early and 3 new players are vulnerable alright.

I should have mentioned Galvins POTY award there too, that would add weight to the bag. :smiley:

That has nothing to do with anything, its gone way beyond medals or anything like that. You watch, Galvin will only play in an All-Ireland or somewhere Noelie doesn’t have time to get over a suspension.

In one-on-one battles Galvin has never beaten O’ leary, its alwyas been even enough or Noelie won out.

If thats what you believe, well and good Kev, I’d find it very hard to believe that he’d be afraid of O Leary, or many for that matter. The mans been there and done it.

Your missing the point, and i don’t want to spell it out. It has nothing to do with football at this stage.

Kev, will you to me a fooking favour and just lose this “Wexford lads” shite. It’s impossible to give you an honest opinion on anything now without you referring back to this crap and you’re point above is typical of the rubbish you usually write on this. I’d love to see Wicklow doing well - we don’t all share the same insular view as you and many of your county men do. You’re a spoofer of the highest order and it’s been tiresome for a very long time at this stage.

I await your retort where you’ll probably point out how rattled / seething I am and how the “Wexford lads” can never handle a decent debate.

Hey i called it just as i say ye saying it. Just like you Mac, i could be wrong. But thats how i saw it. It was you and Bandage, both, supposedly, from Wexford, thus see how i came to the title “Wexford lads”. Is it that hard to understand.

Ye, from what i could read, were totally ignoring all form after the corresponding fixture last year, i could only come up with the fact that ye are biased to completely ignore a year of football. We’ll see on sunday.

But you clearly are rattled about it.

Kev, we are going to destroy Wicklow in the Leinster final. No fear

Is there a rivalry between Wexford and Wickla? I have never ever been aware of any?