Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2010 Thread

The Cooney Affair

Go away with that ‘self appointed moral majority’ shite. This isn’t a won’t somebody think of the children debate so stop trying to turn it into one. A strict disciplinary code is vital in any sport and things like what Galvin did do not improve the game in any way. I could understand somewhat if he went in hard and milled some lad with an elbow but cowardly sneaky shit like he did has more in common with Uruguayan club football than traditional gaelic football.
Galvin is a dirty player, end of story, I’d say he’d even admit that himself. Sure he openly admits breaking a mouthy young lads jaw in a club game among scores of other black marks. He’s been sent off countless times, mostly in the right, and I’ve been at games where he was constantly getting involved in stuff off the ball that went totally unpunished. When a fella with a very very poor disciplinary record sticks his finger into another lads mouth and tears at his cheek he can expect less sympathy than if someone like Sean Cavanagh or Declan O’Sullivan, with clean records do it. It almost certainly wasn’t an accident and his record makes it even less likely.

By the way, I actually like Galvin and what he brings to football. I also think he’s a great player and though he was absolutely brilliant last Sunday. However, if he does what he did he has to be punished, simple as. He got the minimum ban, which was then doubled because of his record already this year.

Don’t mind him mbb. He’s an anal gouger of the highest order.

Your ma doesn’t mind the aul anal gouging. Hiyoooo.

The sheer and utter inanity of it all. Is there no end to it.

Come on lads we allknow what mullach is on about

Exactly Pukey, that and what Clare did to Jimmy Cooney coming back to haunt them 60 years later.
To Jimmy Cooney, an alright sort if ever there was one :pint: :pint: :pint:

I missed all this today.

Eight weeks for sticking a finger in someone’s mouth?!

Bloody hell.

:lol: :stuck_out_tongue:

Your ma is a shit guzzler

Thats below the belt there in fairness. Bad form there from the student.

Anthony Tohill is to be congratulated for drawing the attention of the authorites to this scumbaggery. He has responsibly used his media profile to set the agenda and help in the war on thuggery. Well done Anthony.

For the record, Anthony Tohill is in Frank Murphy’s pocket. He owes him big for something that happened during Anthony’s playing days.

Anthony obviously doesnt want Galvin on the Intl Rules team by the looks of things.

How do you think he got that job? He’s a puppet.

Elaborate please.

Are you lads saying its acceptable behaviour for one lad to stick his hand down another lads throat?

That is clearly what they are saying (with the possible exception of bandage who was possibly taking the piss), pretty sick to think they wouldn’t see anything wrong with that.

I think MBB is saying that it’s acceptable behaviour for one lad to stick his hand down a Cork lad’s throat. He seems to have a strange bitterness towards Cork, which is really odd because I’d say there isn’t a person in Cork that has an opinion either positive or negative about Laois. We probably wouldn’t even know it existed if we didn’t keep getting stuck in Abbeyleix on the way to Dublin until recently.

Cork should be divided into two counties. They obviously have too much influence over disciplinary proceedings as things stand.