Official All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2010 Thread

Fair play to Galvin for this, looks to be taking it completely on the chin. Still hard to believe fellas here and elsewhere were trying to claim he didn’t deserve a suspension.

In his first full interview since receiving his latest eight-week ban from the CCCC, Kerry’s Paul Galvin has spoken about his well-publicised sending-off against Cork in the Munster SFC semi-final at Pairc Ui Chaoimh earlier this month.

Speaking to Aidan Cooney on TV3’s Ireland AM, Galvin admitted that his actions in the clash with Rebel defender Eoin Cadogan were wrong and that he accepted the suspension handed down to him by Croke Park’s disciplinary body.

He stated: "It wasn’t a hard decision to appeal really Aidan. Look at the end of the day what I did you couldn’t condone. I was wrong to do what I did so I felt it best to take it on the chin.

“Yeah it will be difficult, that’s the hard part but you know if you do the crime you’ve got to do the time I suppose.”

The Finuge man will not be eligible to line-out for Kerry again until August, assuming the Kingdom are still in the All-Ireland championship at that stage, with another six weeks remaining on his suspension.

While he agrees that highlighted TV coverage of the incident between himself and Cadogan may have had a telling influence in certain decisions, Galvin has taken full responsibility for his actions and also confirmed that he had never intended to hang up his boots over it.

“There probably was a lack of balance in the way everything was portrayed but no that’s not an issue for me really. I can only be responsible for myself, I was wrong to do what I did,” he said.

Looking to move on, he is now hoping that his Kerry team-mates can claim victory in Sunday’s Munster SFC final against Limerick without him:

“I just hope the boys beat Limerick 'cause it’s a big challenge for us, you know this Limerick side is a good side they were very unlucky not to beat Cork last year in the Munster final so they will be coming to Killarney with all guns blazing.”

To view the full exclusive interview with Paul Galvin tune into Ireland AM tomorrow (Tuesday) at 8.15am on TV3.

A gentleman. He’s blackguarded up and down the country, and still can come out accept this punishment. If only other players had his tact, decency and morals. For me this is the most telling line of the interview

"There probably was a lack of balance in the way everything was portrayed but no that’s not an issue for me really. I can only be responsible for myself

Fair play to the man.

I think i’m going to puke.

He had no choice but to accept it, because he was way out of line. He knows that, but fair play to him for saying it, but all this other shite mbb i spuing is beyond funny.

To be honest caoimhaoin I wouldnt have expected your reaction to be anything else, nor will I expect anything from much from Turenne. I commend the man for accepting this (in my opinion) excessive punishment. I am delighted he will still be around to entertain us for a long time to come. I just hope the preplanned targetting of him would stop, but I fear it won’t.

An absolute gentleman :clap:

Galvin being the bigger man here. A credit to himself and his county. :clap:

And Gaelic Football

Great to see he disagrees with ye and feels he fully deserved a suspension too :clap:

Listen, your talking through your hole. I have met the man and played against him, he is indeed a grand fella, but on the pitch he has acted like an absolute cunt plenty of times. Bottom line.

Cork have a policy of ignoring him they don’t target him at all, and were doing the exact opposite. Cadogan breached this agreement in my mind, i doubt he’ll be doing it again. I hate that roaring in guys faces, and i’m a massive admirer of Cadogan, but that was wrong. What Galvin did was far worse.

Your also foolish to be thinking i’m biased or anti Kerry, because there is no doubt they have been my favourite football team ll my life, i went to school with Kerrymen and i love the county generally.

No point in whingeing about it. This is merely good tactics and will possibly serve him well next time the likes of Eoin Cadogan targets him, like he’s done twice already this season. It could cause referees and/or disciplinary committees to think twice about taking the easy decision and throwing the book at Galvin. See Mullane accepting his suspension a few years back.

Spot on Bandage. At the time I commended Mullane and hoped others would follow suit. Fair play to Galvin again for taking this on the chin. If only others would take their punishment as well we’d truly have a system to be proud of. Again, I just hope this targeting of one of the greatest players in the modern game stops, twice already one player has done it this season, I trust the referees will be watching this guy next time he enters a field alongside Galvin.

No shame in admitting ye called it spectacularly wrong lads. Would show ye to be the bigger men and we could truly have a forum to be proud of.

:clap: :smiley:

You would have to question their manliness alright from time to time.

In what way did I call it wrong GOLA?

The wrong way.

A spectacular way. You wanted it to be one way, but it’s the other way

But I still believe he’s been hounded by the media. All thats changed is that he’s had the decency to accept this most cruel of punishments when his aggressor has gotten away scot free. Were I in the same position I’m not sure I could have been as magnanimous as Galvin. Its a credit to him that he’s been able to show this level of decency. As Bandage said it is very reminiscent of Mullane.

Paul Galvin = Football Legend

Cadogan is a cunt.

Think of it from Galvin’s perspective - he’s been the victim of an injustice. But he knows from past experience that this wasn’t going to matter when it came to the disciplinary process. Best to front up like this publicly and try to earn some goodwill and kudos that may serve him well in the future.

So your a “do what i say but not as i do” kind of cunt, you don’t hold yourself to the same values you preach about, says a lot really. There is no spectacular decency in accepting punishment for doing wrong, it happens all day every day.

Cadogan roared into his face, that was the sum of his ill discipline.

Galvin loves the media and the spotlight, he thrives on it. He likes being hated, its what gets him going.

Holding him up as some sort of saint is quite possibly the most retarded thing ever posted on this forum, and thats saying something.