Official All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2010 Thread

First games this Sunday.
Laois and Carlow could be a bit of craic.
My prediction: Carlow to have at least one player sent off.

We doing facetheball again or what? And will Carlow/Laois be on the net like Limerick/Laois was last year?

Regardless, Tipp to win out.

Carlow in the leaque decided to try rough Laois up, which was grand, if they want to play it that way, thereā€™s no better men to lower the blade than a few Camross and Ballinakill boys. Iā€™d fancy Laois to win that pulling up. Dublin will be the one then. Canā€™t wait to get a crack at them, but would fear that the gap between Division 1 and 2 would show up a wee bit. Still, Iā€™d fancy us to give them a run.

Laois were in UL Activity Centre at the weekend, due to play Waterford or Limerick next weekend in a challenge game I believe.

[quote=ā€œmyboyblue, post: 462334ā€]
Carlow in the leaque decided to try rough Laois up, which was grand, if they want to play it that way, thereā€™s no better men to lower the blade than a few Camross and Ballinakill boys. Iā€™d fancy Laois to win that pulling up. Dublin will be the one then. Canā€™t wait to get a crack at them, but would fear that the gap between Division 1 and 2 would show up a wee bit. Still, Iā€™d fancy us to give them a run.

Laois were in UL Activity Centre at the weekend, due to play Waterford or Limerick next weekend in a challenge game I believe.
[/quote]Laois would be 11-12 pts better than this current Limerick side.

Leix for me. By 5 points

Leinster hurling is where itā€™s at

galway v kilkenny leinster final and a tipp v waterford munster finalā€¦pretty much nailed on at trhis stage

Are they still going ahead with this?
Would they not be better off to give it a break for this year :unsure:

Very true Locke. Its worth pointing out that should Laois get by Dublin and the Rasta Monsters, it would give Kilkenny any opportunity to gain some revenge for that shuddering defeat Laois inflicted on the All Ireland Champions in the Walsh Shield.

Why is the Clare V Waterford game on the bank holiday Monday?

I stand over my earlier thoughts although I may have overshot Clareā€™s hopes somewhat.

The Leinster Final result is a massive one.

think it was the only way they could guarentee live tv coverage

Tipp to beat Galway in the All-Ireland Final.

The qualifier draw has the same ridiculous anomaly as last year where the early provincial losers play each other and the late provincial losers play each other and the winners of each tranche (apologies for using that word) skip ahead to phase 3. So itā€™s a probable advantage to get beaten in a provincial quarter final and draw Antrim, like Laois did last year, in phase 1 and win that and move ahead to phase 3 rather than win your first round game and then get beaten in a provincial semi-final before potentially drawing a stronger team in phase 2.

Last year was:
Phase 1:
Laois/Antrim
Cork/Offaly

Phase 2:
Wexford/Limerick
Clare/Galway

Phase 3:
Laois/Limerick
Cork/Galway

I think the phase 1 winners should play the phase 2 losers or something.

Quite possible Galway could lose 2 All-Ireland finals this year.

Qualifiers are a load of shite, they havenā€™t workewd in my opinion.

Play off provincial championships in 3 weeks concurrently, break for some club games. Then have 4 groups of 3, the 4 winners meet in semis, decided on scoring difference if needs be. Reward Provincial winners with home advantage for all group games.

There you go, traditionalists and moaners kept happy, club structure easily worked around it.

FYI

Senior Hurling
Prem. Rd
Carlow v Laois 22.05.2010 Portlaoise

Not the 9th as the wall chart states.

Yeah the wall chart has a load of errors. Shoddy.
They have the Leinster final down for a Monday.

Great work from the spoons in Croke Park alright.

Waterford at 1/2 v clare are seriously underpriced imo and will hockey the shite out of that clare team in june, i can see it being a total mismatch and they could do them by 20 points if they turn up any way focused on the day.
first free money opportunity of the summer.

What do you mean by ā€˜workā€™? To what end?