Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

both codes. a 20 or 30% chance versus a 90% chance for the free taker. instead of encouraging lads to tackle the ball they should be encouraged to let the shot take place and pressure the shot. A hook or block in hurling or block in football. obviously there’s a small few lads you’d play different but as you said, the majority that would be sufficient.

like how many clean tackles would you see where the possession is changed in hurling or football, it mostly comes from interceptions or challenged high balls.

It’s becoming clear why there are no defenders in the modern game.

In fairness every rule change in the last 10 or 15 years favours the forward. Very hard for defenders nowadays.

Its no wonder you can score around 2-29 and still lose an AI Senior Final.

If you wanted Performance Analysis covered, I’d do it for no charge obviously

Own a Performance Analysis company (work with many clubs and counties)

PM me if you’d like

Fair play. If you need a module on how to spoof gaa coaching in either code with little or no experience I’m your man @Fat_Pox. *

• Cumann na mbunscoil medal tucked away sa phòca.

Hopefully a few other counties get behind this.

U17 is working the finest. Clubs need to catch themselves on.

You’re like tfk’s version of Dick Clerkin

But it is.

Ah its shite. Its caused mayhem all over the country.

I’ve not seen it to be honest. Its working fine with us and with any other club I talk to. Whats the major issue?

Change is bad.

Even when its good?

Carnage and chaos by having games played off on some kind of schedule.

Couldn’t be avin that.

Some fuckers just wanna watch the world burn.

u17 is too young for a lot of lads to be moving onto adult. It’s fine for elite players going up onto a senior team but average club lads much prefer another year with their peers than going up to play adult. I have been managing the transition from minor to adult for my own club for a good few years. There is definitely a higher drop ioff rate since minor moved to u17.

Haven’t experienced this at all. Majority moved into clubs first, second or third teams at ease and rest wouldn’t have anyway and played away at U20 when that kicked off.

Maybe an issue in clubs who struggle to bring players through regardless. Maybe we’re lucky.

Go back to u18 and allow them play with the men.

Keeps the old u18 grade which was perfect while also allowing players develop on their 1st,2nd or even 3rd string teams.

It’s so simple really but too many Dick Clerkin types can’t accept this.

I suppose all club’s are different.

It feels to me that the whole thing was a padraig duffy attempt at a legacy before he fucked off. They are now trying to drive u19 through at inter county. An absolute balls of a job as most young lads are 19 doing the leaving now. The reason he gave for moving minor away from U18 in the first place was the fucking leaving.

Totally crazy move.

90% of kids do TY now so it will be consternation with the Leaving cert.