Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

It’s a Hurley.

“If they dont have it by 3, they’ll never have it”

They’re grand for indoor use and if your chaps are inclined to bate the heads off each other, they will do less damage. A proper hurl is grand for a novelty at that age, but fuck all use really. Having a small mini hurl and getting them used to balancing and correct hand useage and grip is more effective if you want them hurling. Although being in Dublin, if you want them to be hurlers you should get some creatine and dumb bells.

Tipp is “pretty much everywhere”

Sometimes you get lads lying on TFK to back up their argument. Its very disconcerting, but when you realise who they are, you know what to expect.

People actually parted with €40 of their hard earned money to go to a coaching clinic run by Poacher, Galvin and Ger Brennan today :exploding_head::exploding_head::exploding_head::exploding_head:

Poacher :roll_eyes::roll_eyes::roll_eyes: is he still living off dermo getting sent off?

Man’s given to much oxygen.

€40 wouldn’t get you much these days, about 6 pints in any of the busy pubs in south Dublin.

Lads could spend it worse.

Did the Level 1 Camogie coaching course the last 2 Saturdays. Have to say it was excellent. Some great content. No silver bullets but a strong emphasis on injury prevention, player retention and movement fundamentals.

Give us a few of the key learnings under each of those three headings.

1. Stand in close
  2. Free gear
  3. Wan foot in front of tother

Girls are more susceptible to knee injuries because of wider hips. Need to work with them on landing properly, lateral movement and have plenty dynamic warmups.

Play them all in games. Give them equal game time. Make it fun. Allow them to make mistakes. A safe environment. Dont allow the stronger girls to do everything, in training games introduce controls to make sure stronger girls are bringing weaker players into the game.

Running, jumping, landing, lunging, squating, bear crawls… Tonnes of stuff here, build it into each session. Build condition slowly over the years.

I’m in a coaching whatsapp group that Poacher is in. A few weeks ago he was castigating the price of those OurGame clinics. :grinning:

Did you tell the instructor you’re planning to do the opposite next year? “Playtime’s over Mary”

Poor Philip, I’d say every 2nd post he puts up the other fella is disagreeing with him underneath. Philip then has the break it down to explain exactly what he means. The other fella then says they are both right.

Philip just doesn’t get it fella

Poacher has no shame :grinning:

Sure he’s offering his advice on cardiovascular health to a consultant cardiologist at the Blackrock clinic at the moment.

“lishen, any ye that can’t hit the fucking thing at this stage are washhhting my time and yere own time”