Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

Lads on here wouldn’t coach ladies teams would they

There’s a few that wouldn’t be allowed I’d say.

Would you be getting them flying fit from February? With Limerick likely to be in the AI final it could be a long season to keep them ticking over at that level

Ha! I want them flying fit in late May. Break then again until July which will be tricky to manage with exams and holidays etc. But group training would start around mid Feb. They have a club gym and will be following a program that they have used over the past 2 winters from November to end of January/Mid February. They are divided into rotating groups on 3 different programs with a different focus in each program. Im unsure as to how religiously the players follow this, I suspect it is like any other team with 10 or 12 putting in a great effort and the other 10 dragging their holes all winter doing nothing.

Test them. Test them in November.

Test them again in Jan/Feb and tell them nobody is getting on the field unless there is a 10% overall improvemebt in Strength & Movement.

Limerick is full of lads who could do the testing for you. I know a perfect lad from near Charleville if thats the area.

Another thing. I would suggest hardship sessions (like @TreatyStones suggests) around every 4-6 sessions. That doesn’t have to be done purely thru running. I use the Micky Ned 9 sec game in football for instance, but make it 7 secs and if they don’t complete they do push ups/squats/lunges/broad jumps. Double whammy of getting strength work in and they are killing themselves in a football (hurling in your case) challenge they are highly unlikely ever to complete.

The benefit of a layered approach is you don’t lose the middling lads. Guys there for health or craic reasons. They are very hard to keep if you keep killing them. It also reduces injuries.

Injuries are the sole reason the Premier Int. Football in Cork panned out the way it did this year. Fermoy and Kiskeam stayed very healthy. Kiskeam pound for poynd are probably ranked 7/8 team in the comp but are wholly committed and very well looked after. They have no room for injuries. Probably 3 subs capable of the level. Yet they may well be senior next year.

Testing is important, and players generally enjoy it as it shows them their improvement.

Even something simple we used to do was a 3 lap run or a one lap run and keep a note of the time.
I’d knocked a minute off my 3 lap run between February and July.

Yip. And the easier the test the better.

If you are not testing you are guessing.

After a long year myself and @Rintintin’s u14s are finishing up today. Contesting the Division 1 Shield Final in 2 hours. Going in as rank outsiders, but no one bar ourselves thought that we’d even keep it kicked out to the teams in Div 1, so quietly confident we can spring a shock here. Trophy or not it will go down as a successful year.

Great to hear @TreatyStones. Best of luck to ye.
Involved in a co ourselves today. Hard to call the result,btw, the drills worked a treat.
We drilled them non stop on moving the ball fast up the field and we blew the opposition away in the semi, if we produce the same today we’ve a right chance.

Mike sends his best wishes for the final to you & @Rintintin

Planning to go to askeaton myself for the inter final today

Jam packed schedule over the next couple of days. I’m over the u13s in the morning, then onto mungret for our minor A semi against Oola. I’ll struggle to fit in the two mens finals today. Might make the 2nd half of the one in Askeaton.

Who would you be fancying ?

Low scores on adare’s style. Senans narrow win.

Well done, chaps. :clap:

I understand adare had a serious coaching line up for the last few months

They were born for this moment

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vwpTj_Z9v-c

Best of luck TS & RTT.

Come on Ashkatin,
Never batin’,
Always ate’n
Hairy Bacon

Best luck @TreatyStones

We only went and fuckin hammered them :clap:

Hon the lads

Zippety doh dah zippety day. Me oh mi what a wonderful day. :champagne::champagne::medal_military: