Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

Best of luck guys

That defeat by rivals Crokes has sprung the executive into action

To catch a thief you need to hire a thief.

https://twitter.com/naoisegaa/status/1839197311198511604?s=46&t=PYj9bwbGq9x8mR3JFzN-5Q

What a fucking dose he is

We just need Coach Shane Rice, Movement Coach Kev, Alan Mullen Coaching and GameSenseCoaching to comment on it with praise to give it the true Twitter/X sign of quality.

https://twitter.com/karoldillon8/status/1846153656867213535?s=46&t=PYj9bwbGq9x8mR3JFzN-5Q

Amazing

You’d pay in to watch that .

He did give yer man a nice little dunt at the end.

Karol’s quantifiable data on the bilaterally of hand skills isn’t carrying much weight in this debate.

https://twitter.com/KarolDillon8/status/1845211346687885641?t=6aoyPyZ4PBTQW0vXF8JbuA&s=19

What do our brains trust here think of this? Is kicking with left after dropping it off right definitely a general no no? Very good young lad with the u8s I help out with does it.

At the lower levels, it is definitely a no-no.

Without getting all Kev on it, such skills like that or catching the ball with the non catching hand in hurling should be developed by the player themselves or else in conditioned games whereby they have to improvise.

I would never do a drill encouraging such.

Yeah but would you strongly discourage him? I was but then started to think was I being a bit ‘proscriptive’ as like with that solo example above I would have naturally thought that was a no no

I think white just does it there to use his left hand to fend off the tackler coming in on that side.

I think Tomas o Se used to do it all the time. A lot of the Kerry lads I think.

IMO the opposite hand solo is harder but better, far less time between the drop and the foot if done right. You are nearly placing it on the rising foot when perfected. Much harder dispossess and much closer control.

I wouldn’t be trying to start there with kids, but if a young fella can do it I wouldn’t be stopping him at all @Arthur

I’m nearly sure James O’Dongohue used to do it as well. Think he may have advocated it on the pod one day

It’s more the kick talking about with the young fella. I know the video is about the solo

Sorry I misread that. That’s a bit more awkward in he’d be swinging across himself to meet it, be grand running straight at goal, but I’d imagine could be an issue going full pelt where you need to stretch the arm out as far as possible to give you the time to bring the leg around.

Most decent adult players could do that I’d imagine if the situation called for it, but as a default kick it’s unorthodox for sure

You will never be consistent with that kicking style. The arm opposite the kicking foot is the one that provides balance, if you are using that one to drop the ball you can’t have it for balance as well - unless you have the worst of all options which is throwing up the ball to kick it.