Official TFK GAA Coaches Corner

What qualifications exactly does one require to teach FMS to 6-10 year olds?
Does your online certificate from that makey uppy University count?

It certainly would.

The best qualification is a Primary School teaching degree, but you’ll hardly ever be allowed use it.

So we’re the next best thing.

I wouldn’t put too much into the Wexford model of youth coaching ( esp swimming,hehe) they’ve a culture down there of bringing on the elite players and forgetting about the mediocre ones.
I heard of a lad down there before that scored ALL of his teams scores in a co final. That’s surely not right, it’s a team sport.

@caoimhaoin, is it possible to make a big, slow 13/14 year old noticeably faster?

Fucking hell. Tgere is a couple of books of discussion there.

In a line, after puberty and his max velocity growth spurt strength training is critical, especially for tall lads. More in a skill retention aspect than speed but soeed will increase too.

But thats the same for everyone just maybe more pronounced for tall lads

I’m assuming it is something that would need a lot of work and buy in from the young lads in question and isn’t something a coach can solve with an hour a week.

It is actually. You might need some guidence, but it doesn’t need alot. Facilities would be helpful but once a week strength, for as little as 30 mins can have a huge impact. Problem is they are all probably at different stages so groupings works best. You would need someone to assess them though for that.

Is it possible he’s just lazy and isn’t emptying the tank?

No, in fairness the young lad tries his hardest but is clumsy and slow. He’s also a lovely young lad, foreign, with sketchy English but is really polite and just one of those lads you’d like to see do well. Every time he plays I’m hoping he’ll get a score.

There’s another young lad, rugby would be first preference, he’s obviously quiet big and strong and with a bit more pace and acceleration could be a good asset.

That’s a delightful post - I can sense the warmth in it. You must be a fantastic mentor.

Must be from Kilcornan

Well buddy’s. How are the AGMs going?
I’ve spent nearly and hour today doing up reports for various teams. I’ve had to do a Seanie Fitzpatrick on the juvenile club financials. … enough said.
No one shafted at the football AGM, thank fuck. I’ve organised 2 or 3 oustings in the past decade*.
Things are strangely quiet in the hurling club. I’m sensing a shaft directed at @Brimmer_Bradley. I’ve rang around to suss the mood out… it’s not good.
How are the other lads getting on? Asked back again ? Hunted ? We won’t judge you here.

• I fear these coups are coming back to haunt me.

A general lack of volunteers.

I wish someone would oust me. I have a pain in me Swiss with it.

Just back, tame enough affair.

Our best one was where the despot like chairman was deposed. There were snots and tears from the man himself, a roaring match on the floor, threats from the chair’s Mrs to all and sundry and allegations of misappropriation of funds/favours/AOB a gogo

A couple of us held deciding votes and were to-ing and fro-ing all evening. Went on for hours. A great fucking night, ending in a lock in

That line is as old as the GAA itself. The fellas who are stupid enough to volunteer complaining that there aren’t enough stupid people like them.

Lovely stuff. We ousted our treasurer from the football club last year, 4 weeks after she took over the job. Refused to sigh a cheque because in her mind it was unethical even though it had been unanimously passed by the entire committee to give this cheque away.
She’s the stereotypical bad volunteer. Hadn’t a fucking clue about what exactly coaches and selectors do.

Jaysus, I’d say we’ve never had a contested position ever. You could sign away the field to soccer club and you still wouldn’t be ousted.

We still don’t have a football club secretary. No nominations and the current dictator stood down. I chaired the AGM and gave the option of splitting the secretary job 3 ways with defined roles and duties. No takers. So we left it, as I was to approach a local women to canvass her for the job and the committee was to meet again on Dec 1st to ratify this woman.
I approached her last week and she annoyed me with a smart jibe. So I told her, grand, don’t bother your hole helping out the club so. I didn’t bother me bollix calling the meeting last thurs either. They can all go fuck until Monday.