Jesus coaching sounds like awful hard work…I’ve been approached a few times to run teams…not a fuckin hope I’m doing all that shit…
FFS, a big response just got deleted. Bullet points
- He was talking about everything he has seen in last few years, not specifically Level 2
- Great to see the Physical Literacy be moved on, still a way to go, even that link of stuff is outdated. Wexford doing it is great, and they seem to be learning from their neighbours, but there is not widespread use of it. That’s my issue
- Track & field coaches are not good with field sports, generally. Technically there is differences in acceleration and general running and then don’t have to change direction or decelerate and it shows in their coaching. Being an International sprinter means nothing, are they an International Coach? Massive difference. But still better than nothing and at least there is an appreciation of where they need to go. But again its kinda “who sprints? Sprinters, lets get one in”
- this is all very new, and centric to what you are doing or your county is doing rolling out for '16 etc(and that’s great), but its not taught widespread and is still very much down to clubs or counties having particular applied individuals.
- S&C talks are a waste of time, you have to give people the tools. I still argue that’s a flawed approach. The IRFU have an S&C course that any coach can do, its excellent. Its saving clubs a fortune. To correct movement(thus reducing injuries) takes lots of practice. But you now have club coaches with enough S&C knowledge to get by and while not perfect they are reducing injuries.
- Still same issues remain regarding integration, you say they got an athlete in, then an S&C coach, then skills is separate. Was anyone putting this altogether, was there someone saying we do this so we can do this etc etc. You have to remember this is small club amateurs we are dealing with. It all goes out the window on a cold night in February.
As I said, I didn’t do the course, this is what was relayed. And I still don’t see the channel to sustain this and develop it to every club in the country. Content is one thing, widespread delivery is another.
you are essentially replacing parents and teachers due to modern life. I’m glad you said it like that, its a very important role and a massive under taking, not realised by many. And as I said is often a box ticking exercise.
I’m writing an article at the moment about Youth injuries in Ireland and i’m getting a couple of physios and Dr’s in on it and a Skills Accusation Coach actually. I’ll post it in here when its finished. Its cronically bad. I work with a physio and i’m observing 1 in 3 people into the clinic are under 17
I’m sure your article isn’t that bad mate,
sure that’s why I need the doctors
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”]
FFS, a big response just got deleted. Bullet points[/quote]
no prob, easier to respond to your points one by one.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”] - He was talking about everything he has seen in last few years, not specifically Level 2 [/quote] even so, the question specifically asked was about level 2, so thats what the response was based on. Even at that, I just conducted a foundation level course in our own club, and again the basis for the whole thing was about effective communication for coaching rather than drills or formatted robotic type training. his account seem totally and utterly contradictory to everything I have seen being done within Leinster for the last 5 years. The absolute opposite to be honest, so I’d question what tutoring he is doing if he is still saying the focus is on drills.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”] - Great to see the Physical Literacy be moved on, still a way to go, even that link of stuff is outdated. Wexford doing it is great, and they seem to be learning from their neighbours, but there is not widespread use of it. That’s my issue[/quote] I cant speak for other counties, but I do know the Leinster council does have a program for counties to implement. I suppose it is up to individual counties to make sure it is implemented, but there is only so much the greater authority can do. The means for it to be widespread is there. all coaching co ordinators employed by the Leinster council have fundamentals as part of their briefing and implementation for their own counties.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”] - Track & field coaches are not good with field sports, generally. Technically there is differences in acceleration and general running and then don’t have to change direction or decelerate and it shows in their coaching. Being an International sprinter means nothing, are they an International Coach? Massive difference. But still better than nothing and at least there is an appreciation of where they need to go. But again its kinda “who sprints? Sprinters, lets get one in”[/quote] it was one small aspect of an overall coaching course. The sprinter involved was also a GAA player, played midfield for his club. It was more of an appreciation that players develop incorrect running techniques from a young age, and he was trying to show ways of correcting it an making the best of the player.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”]- this is all very new, and centric to what you are doing or your county is doing rolling out for '16 etc(and that’s great), but its not taught widespread and is still very much down to clubs or counties having particular applied individuals.[/quote] it was a Leinster based course. There were coaches involved there from all 12 counties in Leinster. The means and access and content is there, there is only so much they can do without actually forcing people to do it.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”] - S&C talks are a waste of time, you have to give people the tools. I still argue that’s a flawed approach. The IRFU have an S&C course that any coach can do, its excellent. Its saving clubs a fortune. To correct movement(thus reducing injuries) takes lots of practice. But you now have club coaches with enough S&C knowledge to get by and while not perfect they are reducing injuries.[/quote] at no stage was it made out that anyone there would be a S&C coach at the end of it. It was more an understanding of the role S&C plays in GAA and how it should be treated. It also called out spoofers who think they are S&C coaches. Agree that the GAA could provide an S&C course, but I suppose it’s one step at a time. Wexford did do an internal one a few years back I did, was again just an expanded introduction to it rather than a full on course that people go to college for.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”] - Still same issues remain regarding integration, you say they got an athlete in, then an S&C coach, then skills is separate. Was anyone putting this altogether, was there someone saying we do this so we can do this etc etc. You have to remember this is small club amateurs we are dealing with. It all goes out the window on a cold night in February.[/quote] yeah, the S&C coach was part of all the above. He got the sprinter in, and he was the one speaking to us about the evaluation of drills. And whilst he did not have a part in the analysis, I know he is integral to his counties video analysis software and runs it himself. All tutors were involved in all of the talks. It was only the guest speakers/coaches who didnt go to everything. everything was linked together.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post:103, topic:20004, full:true”]As I said, I didn’t do the course, this is what was relayed. And I still don’t see the channel to sustain this and develop it to every club in the country. Content is one thing, widespread delivery is another.
[/quote] it was a Leinster based course. I cant speak for Munster or Connacht, but I know Ulster also do a huge amount of coaching courses and information workshops. It is widely available. Wexford are currently doing 3 foundation courses a week for 2 months in different clubs/areas. They are also doing 4 or 5 level 1s in January. And they have also managed to get an award 2 course to be done in the county starting in February. There is also Leinster based award 2’s starting in CIT and Maynooth in February. I genuinely dont know what more they can do really. Each club is supposed to have a coaching officer, and it would be down to them to ensure that they avail of the tools available to them and get their members to do the courses etc.
I’d say its what he is seeing at the coal face to be honest. And his net would be reasonably widespread including Leinster. But as you said, sometimes you can only bring the horse to water. I think as part of a responsibility to the kids all clubs should be forced to get to at least a very basic standard and if they don’t they don’t get grants etc.
It does seem like they are heading in the right direction though and I will correct him and saying they is a lot of good going on. I’m actually glad you made me aware of what you are doing and that at least Leinster is pushing. Munster is farcical. Ulster has always been trying but I always felt it was very Mechanical (stereotype I know), it may have moved on.
The problem still for me though is that everything is still so separated and everything is given a box. Rugby is around 2 years ahead all the time. Ulster Rugby in particular are doing some brilliant things in this regard.
yeah I wouldnt have a notion what rugby is at to be honest. I’d have seen a few things with soccer, but nothing to a high level in recent years.
You should see about going to one of the new award 2s now. The whole thing is totally opposite to being given a box, and more that there is a massive amount of elements of coaching and development needed to be an all rounded coach. I think that would be fairly evident from the contents of the course outlined above. It would be easy to just re hash a whole load of drills, but that was the very least of the course content and there was more emphasis on how a whole lot of particular techniques are needed to get to one end goal.
The GDA’s in Limerick have a run a few courses throughout the year for coaches focusing on incorporating functional movement into training sessions for underage.
Problem comes with underage coaches obsessed with winning rather than developing.
Its way down the list in terms of education now to be honest, and without being arrogant, I don’t need it now and I ain’t going to be getting any Senior IC jobs anytime soon.
football must be really taking off in wexford…there was a gang of Wexicans standing beside me in the clonliffe house on all Ireland final day…I was making my seasonal debut in croker and felt a bit bad but when I saw a shower of Wexicans planning to head in it put me more at ease…
nah it’s shit pal. Division 4. hurling is king. always will be.
Where do ye lads stand on laps ? n lots of them, for fitness and generally keeping the squad in check.
the more the better. and dont bring a ball near training until the weather dries up, it’ll make them mad to play once you throw it in then.
If it was good enough for a 4 in a row and 3 in a row team, it’s fucking good enough for the rest of ye.
I thought as much. Good man.
And a one in a row team…
Informative rating!
Are they really willing to spell check your article with such busy jobs?