It’s fantastic how independents like Lowry, the Healy-Rae’s and Michael Collins drive lads demented.
There’s a reason they piss in at every election - they work and put their own constituents first. And that’s why Stephen Donnelly, Gino Kenny and Catherine Martin, among others, were turfed out by the electorate.
For the good of the country I hope it’s independents who go in with FFG. There would be some cop on at least. Labour/Soc Dems would be Green lite and an unmitigated disaster were they to get in. Last time the Labour champagne socialists were in they cut the blind pension. Bacik wouldn’t know a working class person if they passed her on the street.
They get things done. They try and help with planning permission applications for their constituents - whereas Francis Noel Duffy and his ilk actively block houses being built. They get the potholes fixed. They support their communities - that’s what any TD should be doing.
We’re a dot in the landscape. A tiny island. Crying about climate change but when Eamon Ryan was over in China he didn’t open his mouth about that country’s coal burning and emissions. Nah, fuck over the Irish people with carbon tax after carbon tax increases.
You sneer at a guy like Michael Collins who arranges buses from west Cork to Belfast for his constituents to have cataract surgery to save their sight. Ask any of the people who benefited from said service, or their family, if that’s a worthwhile system he has overseen. Or should he have just let them rot and done nothing.
Given your own well documented eyesight issues on here, maybe you should be lauding the man.
The far right support them. I dare say you’d get the odd FGer at a low level supporting them, councillors and such, but it’s not much of a vote winner to say you’re pro-Israel.
There’s 100% a place for that but should TDs be the ones fixing potholes and driving buses? It’s a sad enticement of our political system as a whole that they have to.
Fair play to them.
But a 21st century system should separate the local from the national. Our national house should be debating engineering projects and disease prevention strategies. Not dominated by local gombeens and self serving politicians who all probably have 2.5 years to do anything in their 5 year term.
That’s some epic slow count in Cavan/Monaghan. They spent the whole morning and into this afternoon distributing a surplus of about 800 for David Maxwell, the first candidate elected.