Old Ireland’

@Fagan_ODowd @boxty @balbec

Blue cheese?? Unless it was the Galtee processed block turned mouldy that’s a crock of shit

A good few cricket clubs in old Ireland alright. :roll_eyes:

One of the oldest in cork actually

That’s some load of bollocks.

Share how brave your parents were, as if they fucking went over the wall in the somme.

I’m v proud of mine
They went over n above to feed n clothe us
Despite having v limited means.
Always backed all of us irrespective of what difficulty we were in,
Always but always a hug from my mam.

Anyone under 60 hasn’t a fuckin glimmer how things were

None of that is brave. Its what you do to raise children and its called good parenting. People do it now too.

I suppose that mightn’t be in relation to the law.

But the youth of today see the Guards as the enemy for some reason.
They don’t see them as the guardians of law and order at all.

@Locke

A 40 year old would have had the same type of childhood really

very similar to my own actually

We weren’t even sent out early during the summer months, we went willingly! From the age of 6 we were off over to our friends straight after the breakfast, off down through the fields, running at and from cattle, building forts and dams, playing soldiers, always with our hurls with us in case there was a bit of a lull and we’d have a few pucks. Our timekeeper was the Anglais, you’d hear the 12 o’clock and you’d know to start heading back up for lunch. You’d hear the 6 o’clock one and you’d know you were late for dinner and had to leg it up to be sat before the auld fella. Great days.

Mores the pity
I got a tap of a baton a few times ( as a teen)and deserved it,
And despite formerly being a Republican for most of my life from the age of 16

I retained friendships with a few in AGS,
And whilst being a guest in Dundalk Garda station under a ‘suspected membership charge way back in the day ,
I knew one of the detectives from Cork stationed there- he gave a quick look in to the interview room ,
Neither he nor I batted an eye lid,
I still consider him a friend ,
Met him once since - no sweat,

Most ranking lawmen are professional,
Only the 5/8 th will give u hassle-
We’d be fucked without AGS ,
Like the dental profession I view them as a necessary :imp: evil,
Evil too strong a word.

FYI anytime we were stopped or arrested by AGS ref republican activitity I never got a bad hiding
And in some Garda stations back in the day interviews weren’t recorded - so they could have yanked me properly if they chose.

I doubt a 40 yr old would recognise a mid 60 years old childhood
I was lucky to remember the tv appearance on our street
Black n white

Beer kegs being delivered by horse n dray
And some coal merchants aswell
Going to mass and the creamery on horse n cart
( farmed out to Kerry fir a few months in 64 after my old man was seriously hurt in a motorcycle accident)

Going to the creamery near Abbeyfeale via same.

Train still crossed Brian Boru bridge

And bridge still raised up to let ships pass
All went to national school wearing shirt pants,
Mandatory lice inspection every morning before PE in the yard( all had to partake)

Also our necks and hands were checked to make sure we were clean.

Each boy had his turn to bring in toilet paper( cork examiner)

And turf or a few bits of coal.

There’s a few

Ps half four cottage overlooking the valley of knockanure gad no electricity
No running water
No jacks

But my grand uncle and gran aunt had the fiddle and accordion down most nights

Extraordinary a town town boy to experience this,
No tv obviously, but plenty of north Kerry stories of the poocha, banshees, etc

Tilly lamps and home cooking
Great to have experienced it

Would the Cork Examiner flush down?

Wasn’t any flush to worry about- cabins

My now 20 years old boy went to the same school and I was telling him about the writing slates and nibbed pen
He looked at me as if I was cracked

When I mentioned about getting a Hurley across the arse whilst wearing short pants he didn’t believe me.
Or that we’d a cunt who’d make u pick your own stick from one of the neighbours trees / bushes which ran behind / adjacent to the boy’s school,
And if the muinteoir thought the stock was too small/ big/ light etc he’d give u another 10 across the finger’s

My mothers (82) class had a rhyme about their teacher.

Master Tim
He is so slim
He goes to mass on Sundays
He prays to God
To get a rod
To beat the children on Monday

The good ol days where our parents would fuck us off to be beaten and treated like a slave by a Mother Superior or beaten and rogered by some queer priest when we did wrong.