Heās consistently run the right times, Juhni, he just was always bettered by a number of other walkers when it counted. His main rival for this pulled out along with a heap of other Russian athletes on the eve of the games. I wonder what drugs they were doing and what info they received relating to testing.
Anyway, 50km walking is surely verging into ānot a sportā territory.
Yes this guy has been consistently challenging for a few years now. Only really started to take 50km walk seriously about 3 years ago when he surprisingly came 4th in Euro championships despite focussing his training on 20km, in which he had also come 4th, earlier in same week.
If you read his tweets youāll see him mentioning tonnes of tests at all kinds of hours. Himself, Derval OāRourke and Gavin Noble are 3 regularly targeted who seem to be clean. Although these days its hard to fathom that any athlete is truly clean I guess.
You can go with your gut a lot of the time, though, I find, at this stageā¦e.g. as soon as I saw Nevin Yanit from Turkey winning against OāRourke in the last few years I knew she was a doper. A child couldāve seen it.
True enough. Iām reading walshes book on LA at the moment so Iām naturally questioning everything. The book is so good that I feel sorry that Walsh took the Team Sky / News Corp soup. Was only for him referencing it in an early chapter that connected it for me. Iām a bit slow that way.
Historically a lot of the drug tests (eg steroids) didnāt test for the presence of a drug - they test for ratios and once you are in approved ratios then you pass. Approved ratios give quite a bit of scope. Most drug tests were failed because somebody mistimes a dose or miscalculates quanity and they take diuretics to flush out the system and get caught for the diuretic.
Biological passport which means ratios can be personalised and so less scope to work the system may mean more athletes test positive for a period until they figure out how to beat that system.
[quote=āThrawneen, post: 817615, member: 129ā]Heās consistently run the right times, Juhni, he just was always bettered by a number of other walkers when it counted. His main rival for this pulled out along with a heap of other Russian athletes on the eve of the games. I wonder what drugs they were doing and what info they received relating to testing.
Anyway, 50km walking is surely verging into ānot a sportā territory.[/quote]
Ah thraw, Iām disappointed. I think this lad is a legend. I was just hoping for a bit of explosive expletives from Kev, not real responses.
In the run-up to the crowning achievement of her career, Bartoli did not so much fly under the radar as go subterranean: she quit at 6-3, 4-1 down against Andrea Petkovic in Miami in March; the American Coco Vandeweghe knocked her out in the first round in Monterrey; Shuai Peng did the same to her in Estoril; she got to the fourth round on the Madrid clay; there was another first-round embarrassment in Strasbourg, beaten by the world No88 Camila Giorgi; Francesca Schiavone walloped her in the third round at Roland Garros; she handed Li Na a walkover at Eastbourne ā¦ and then she won [U]Wimbledon[/U] without dropping a set, and collected $2m, her biggest purse on her biggest day.
Later in the article:
Thatās not the way I am. So, I prefer to stay true to myself rather than just cheating."
If she was cheating, it was certainly a beautiful lie.
Was reading this in the Guardian. The website Tennis Has a Steroid Problem has shown plenty of example that point to doping being rife. Bartoli quitting at 28 (and I know she is on the Tour a long time) seems somewhat fishy. If sheās tired and sore, why not take a year off and then come back? Or maybe the quote from Lance to Oprah about if he hadnāt have returned to the sport in 2008 he wouldnāt be sitting here struck a chord with her.
Considering sheās a fatso, itās quite amazing she could suddenly summon the form to play a Grand Slam and win it out, albeit against weak enough opponents.
correct regarding the time, i wasnt aware that the race was devoid of what kev would refer to as " black fellas", in that case weāll give him the benefit of the doubt, im still a tad wary after the whole martin fagan episolde and the olympics are only around the corner
The other Irish lad who came second was actually favourite to win but it was nailed on that thereād be an Irish winner this year as theyād cut the Elite funding after Adidas pulled out of the sponsorship and they didnāt get Airtricity on board in time.
If they donāt re-instate the Elite funding Iād say either myself or @fenwaypark will win it next year.
[quote=āThrawneen, post: 852809, member: 129ā]The other Irish lad who came second was actually favourite to win but it was nailed on that thereād be an Irish winner this year as theyād cut the Elite funding after Adidas pulled out of the sponsorship and they didnāt get Airtricity on board in time.
If they donāt re-instate the Elite funding Iād say either myself or @fenwaypark will win it next year.[/quote]
+1 to this. A chap I know ran it today and gave me the lowdown on the funding issue and the fact no elite runners would be taking part due to lack of āappearance feesā or āsponsorshipā.