I have fond memories of gliding around the dance floor with my good wife to the strains of this noble tune at a west cork wedding.
‘The Cork Cosmos’
Grand soft day down there today. Locals were advised not to go or congregate but it fell on deaf ears. There were crowds coming and going all day with local musicians, pipers, wreath laying, few decades of the rosary. It was lovely. Local woman had few flasks of tea/coffee. Guards were on Dunmanway and Macroom sides but they didnt put in or out on anyone despite the fact people would have travelled a fair distance to be there. Left before 4pm when it would have ramped up a notch. A friend said there was going to be a volley of shots nearby so must check with him to see if this happened.
The lorries were ours before twilight
And high over Dunmanway Town
Our banners in triumph were waving
Oh to show that the Tans had gone down
He was a leader in difficult circumstances in charge of raw farm boys , strong Catholics who found murder awfully hard to do , but by fuck they did it and v well, he marched them up and down and through those they dealt with, complex yes of course he was that’s what’s makes all great leaders of men
Scenes
So here’s to the boys of Kilmichael
Those brave lads so gallant and true
They fought 'neath the green flag of Eireann
And conquered the red, white and blue
Up the RA
Oh Brian
I’m watching this now.
Well put together for what seems to be an amateur production.
@Fagan_ODowd @anon67715551 @johnnysachs @Corksfinedtboy
Fuck it I’ll join you and pour myself a nightcap.
Fair dues
Remiss of you not to tag @The_Runt with this valuable information.
He’ll be like a boiling bastard after a snub like this.
“Send back the empties and we’ll fill them again”
The sun in the West it was sinking
Twas the eve of a cold winters day,
When the Tans we were eagerly waiting
Drove into the spot where we lay
Then over the hills went the echo
the peal of the rifle and gun
The flames from the lorries gave tidings
That the boys from Kilmichael had won.
The 28th of November is the greatest day of the year.