On this day

He’s just about to kiss Christy’s Ring.

Mick Mackey supposedly said: “They’ll have to shoot you, Christy.”

Christy Ring supposedly replied: “Ye tried everything else.”

The photo was taken by Justin Nelson at the City End of Páirc na nGael and people used regularly sit near the endline during games from the late 40’s to the 60’s. Cork-Tipp clashes of the time could regularly attract 60,000 to the GG.
Incidentally, the lad kneeling is the late Gerry Pigott, a stalwart of the Ahane club. Some forumites might remember him from Limerick games as an elderly man with a Jack Russell dog which was always decorated in Green & White.

I’d many gran uncles at this game. They’d great stories. I think it was my great grand father who died and they’d to go to a neighbours to listen on the radio which was custom at the time. Possibly more in the 1930s.

By God, Dunne gave us some nights on those Hunky Dory fights, but this was a night for the ages. I can still vividly remember the fella ahead of me walking out in the fith declaring the fight over

Collymore closing in

30 years

The Big Man was born 100 years ago today, 6 April 1926.

Adolf Scharf, President of Austria from 1957 to 1965 was born on April 20th in 1890.

He died in a freak accident while out playing golf in 1965. Standing in a bunker taking a shot, he accidentally hit himself in the head with his own ball and died immediately.

Queen Elizabeth II born 100 years ago today, April 21st, 1926. A bittersweet day for her two sons Charles and Edward, who had success in the early 1990s with the single “Would I Lie To You?”

The Queen never allowed her two sons to lie and today the Royal Family goes from strength to strength as a result.

19 years fucking hell

Strachan started with a back four of Kennedy, Caldwell, Pressley and O’Dea!

Just looked at the clip & you’d almost forget how some people overlapped at Celtic.

Cillian Sheridan & fecking Kenny Miller on the pitch for the celebrations. Tommy Burns running up to hug Neil Lennon & he would pass away the year after when his cancer returned. Not sure if Kennedy played another game after that day? He’d tried to comeback that season but just didn’t look comfortable. Other heads like Riordan, Naylor etc involved there too.

Happy 124th birthday to Manchester United FC and congratulations to all who celebrate.

I would love it if we beat them

30 years today.

Kevin is a lovely man.

Wiki doesn’t say much about him these days, except he was diagnosed with cancer in January 2026.

Do you expect daily updates for Kevin Keegan on Wikipedia?

No, but it’s a complete blank for the last 15 years or more.
Which to me at any rate, is surprising.

Then bang…Cancer.

We’d love it if he beat it. The cancer.

Ah, we would.
He had some operation on his ‘abdomen’ and is booked to do some public event in May. That’s all I found. So hopefully on the mend. :+1:

40 years ago tonight Liverpool went to Filbert Street with 82 points in the bag from 40 matches.

Everton went to Oxford’s Manor Ground with 80 points in the bag from 39 matches.

Liverpool won 0-2 and Everton lost 1-0.

In the two points for a win Fine Fare Scottish Premier Division Celtic went to Fir Park to play Motherwell, four points and six goals behind Heart Of Midlothian. Celtic won 0-2 to theoretically take things down to the final Saturday.

Happy Albert Kidd day to all who celebrate it