Paul Galvin

My attempt at a post on this yesterday wasn’t very successful…

This is hilarious. McDonald’s PR company represents Callan. I’ve had the misfortune to be present at an event where Callan was the entertainment. His material isn’t at all funny. He was hit and miss with the impressions / mimics but the script and attempts at humour were appalling. I guess there’s a market for an unfunny fucking cunt doing shit impressions in Ireland - remember that Bull Island show that used to air on RTE some years back?

At least Gift Grib had the odd piece of smart writing behind it.

KERRY footballer Paul Galvin has lifted the lid on the infamous pub bust-up with RTE comic Oliver Callan.
The controversial All-Star and Irish Independent fashion columnist claimedthe row was sparked after he politely refused to join Mr Callan for a pint. But he refused to apologise for the flare-up with the ‘Nob Nation’ comic during a radio interview yesterday.
The pair hit the headlines in October when they were involved in an altercation in the landmark Dublin pub Kehoe’s.
Mr Galvin-- who revealed on the show that he was dating Today FM presenter Louise Duffy – said the comedian had pursued a friendship with him in the run-up to their row.
And he insisted he had not been upset by insinuations that he was gay, which were made in Mr Callan’s sketches.
He said: “That’s not the issue and wasn’t the issue. He did that and people thought that was my problem and it wasn’t really.”
He said the comic, who came out as gay in the weeks after the incident, had tried to befriend him in recent months.
"I met that man. He went out of his way to make himself known to me on two occasions socially.
“I took him at face value and I thought he was an OK guy and I’m sure he is an OK guy. As it turned out he had his own things going on, he did his thing on TV afterwards,” he said.
“I didn’t know he had a radio show until subsequent to this. I wouldn’t know him or the sky above him had he not gone out of his way to make himself known to me,” Mr Galvin added.
The sports star, who is known for his volatile temper on the pitch, said he heard jeering emanating from where the comic was sitting after he refused an invitation to join his party on the night of the incident.
Speaking on the ‘Ray D’Arcy Show’ on Today FM, Mr Galvin said: “On the night in question I go in the door of Kehoe’s pub and within minutes I’m approached by a man who grabbed me by the waist and tried to pull me over around the corner and asked me to join his company. I didn’t actually recognise him. I had met him previously but I didn’t recognise him. I said:‘No thanks I will stay where I am.’ I was perfectly sober. It was also suggested I was roaring drunk, which I was not,” he added.
Mr Galvin said he declined three times “very politely” to join Mr Callan’s table, and this resulted in “a bit of jeering”.
“What happened next shouldn’t have happened. I should have gone out the door home. I left myself down and I shouldn’t have, probably,” he said.
Mr Callan, star of the hugely successful satirical show ‘Green Tea’ on RTE Radio One, has since revealed he will not be pressing charges against the footballer.
However, Mr Galvin said he didn’t feel he should apologise for his aggressive behaviour.
The GAA star, who ditched his teaching job last year to pursue his passion for fashion, has been wickedly mocked by Mr Callan on numerous occasions for his fashion columns that appear in the Irish Independent’s Weekend magazine.
Yesterday, Mr Galvin arrived at Today FM’s studios in Digges Lane, Dublin, wearing red cord trousers and brown leather lace-ups from Topman, plus a green jacket from All Saints.
"It was a bit of a spat.
“I don’t know what you would call it. It was not my thing, so good luck to him and his career,” he said.
Mr Galvin was also asked about his relationship with Louise Duffy, who presents Today FM’s early morning weekday show.
The pair had been denying rumours they were an item for months – but when asked directly if he was seeing Ms Duffy, Mr Galvin answered: “Yeah, I mean like yeah. She’s really good on the radio. That’s all I’ll say.”

• Lynne Kelleher and Edel O’Connell

The funny thing about this article too, from the Indo, is that it took two people to write it!!!

Sounds like Callan wanted to knob him.

“Yesterday, Mr Galvin arrived at Today FM’s studios in Digges Lane, Dublin, wearing red cord trousers and brown leather lace-ups from Topman, plus a green jacket from All Saints”

What does that have to do with anything :lol:

I’d have sympathy for Galvin in the above incident but at the end of the day, the guy has gone out of his way to seek attention and make himself a ‘celebrity’. The entire episode can be best summarised as ‘Two dickheads get into an argument in a pub’.

Callan comes out of this

Yep Callan is a scorned man who couldn’t take rejection, then went crying to the guards to get revenge. Galvin is an alright sort.

That’s certainly what Galvin is leading us to believe anyway.

within minutes I’m approached by a man who grabbed me by the waist and tried to pull me over around the corner

I think he would have been better off just gay bashing the face off that irritating cunt

Would this cunt ever just fuck off

Callan hits back as tiresome Paul Galvin row refuses to end

The Oliver Callan and Paul Galvin row seemingly isn’t going anywhere soon, after the RTE mimic publicly refuted Galvin’s explanation of events last night.

If you can recall, the ongoing feud stems from Kerry footballer Galvin beingaccused of headbutting the RTE’s Nob Nation star Callan in Kehoe’s of South Anne Street back in October.

Speaking to Today FM yesterday, Galvin told Ray D’Arcy of his own version of events and stated that he was not drunk, as Callan had claimed, and that the confrontation transpired after he was grabbed by the waist by Callan and asked to join his friends. After declining the invite three times, Galvin said that Callan’s group began jeering him and that’s when he decided to confront him.

However, Callan has hit back at what he described as a “confused” Galvin, after telling the Irish Sun last night: "Paul Galvin is clearly confused in relation to event in Kehoe’s pub, so maybe he should go have a look at CCTV footage of his antics.

“I didn’t jump Paul or anyone else - I never or would I ask Paul Galvin to join my company, and I certainly didn’t grab him by the waist. I never became ‘pally’ nor was I in his ‘circle’ as he has claimed.” Callan also told the tabloid that he believes Galvin “clearly has issues”.

Just to keep the interminable feud running a few weeks longer, Callan revealed that he will have a special slot at his January show at the Olympia reserved specifically for Galvin. “I’ll be wearing red pants and a patchy beard for the occasion,” he said.

He’s just asking for a kicking at this point. The last line is a bunch of attention seeking nonsense to promote his “funny” show. I hope Galvin kicks seven shades of shite out of this cunt.

I see in the paper today that Callans “manager” got a bit aggressive with him back at his flat.

Read this and it seems like a pile of shit to me. The manager referred to is not exactly a big man and I can’t imagine he’d carry out what seems like a couple of pre meditated beatings on this (unfunny) clown.

Also if this wasn’t a publicity stunt in advance of Callan’s upcoming shows then who leaked the very detailed information to the Sindo?

I suspect that Callan leaked the story and all charges will be dropped in due course.

[quote=“Appendage, post: 756447, member: 11”]Read this and it seems like a pile of shit to me. The manager referred to is not exactly a big man and I can’t imagine he’d carry out what seems like a couple of pre meditated beatings on this (unfunny) clown.

Also if this wasn’t a publicity stunt in advance of Callan’s upcoming shows then who leaked the very detailed information to the Sindo?

I suspect that Callan leaked the story and all charges will be dropped in due course.[/quote]

Apparently domestic abuse is far more common place in the gay community than in the normal community.

Probably explains why rogbee footballers act like animals towards each other.

The manager dude is not gay.

Really? From my reading of the article I thought it was implying he was more than just a manager?

what is the exact nature of your relationsip with the manager Appendage?

Is his manager a wexford DCU graduate?

Yep, he’s named in the article.

Fair enough

Galvin in the news again tomorrow

Why?

He is being sued by the pupil he threw the duster at