People who are beginning to give me a pain in the hole

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 927998, member: 2272”]In fairness Ian Bailey is a self admitted woman beater

In one notebook entry, Bailey recorded, “I attacked and severely beat Jules to such an extent she sought hospital treatment . . . I actually tried to kill her . . . Two nights on, she is badly hurt and walking wounded, with bruises on her face, lips and body.”
Yet, in court, Bailey again said his own written words should not be taken as literal truth.
“You put something in your diary that is wrong?” asked Mr Gallagher.
“Yes.”
“You made it up, did you?”
Bailey said, “I know I didn’t try to kill her.”
“You think the court should award you damages for being told that you were a prime suspect in the Sophie Toscan du Plantier murder, even though you were a self-confessed person who tried to kill your lover?”
“That,” said Bailey, “is for the court to decide.”

Not a woman-killer

the guy who hit his wife over the head three times with a lump hammer is not a woman killer either

You’re worse than bloody Kev

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 927998, member: 2272”]In fairness Ian Bailey is a self admitted woman beater

In one notebook entry, Bailey recorded, “I attacked and severely beat Jules to such an extent she sought hospital treatment . . . I actually tried to kill her . . . Two nights on, she is badly hurt and walking wounded, with bruises on her face, lips and body.”
Yet, in court, Bailey again said his own written words should not be taken as literal truth.
“You put something in your diary that is wrong?” asked Mr Gallagher.
“Yes.”
“You made it up, did you?”
Bailey said, “I know I didn’t try to kill her.”
“You think the court should award you damages for being told that you were a prime suspect in the Sophie Toscan du Plantier murder, even though you were a self-confessed person who tried to kill your lover?”
“That,” said Bailey, “is for the court to decide.”

Was that notebook entry from his diary?

EDIT: D’oh - see it further down

Yeah - was evidence in the libel case he brought

Is it fair to bring up such evidence?

Is the issue not that the Guards have acted the complete cunt? They have no evidence that he did it and yet have tried every underhand attempt to pin it on him?

The issue is that a member of An Garda Siochana had an affair with du Plantier, later killed her, and has walked free ever since, thanks to his pals in the force.

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 928016, member: 24”]Is it fair to bring up such evidence?

Is the issue not that the Guards have acted the complete cunt? They have no evidence that he did it and yet have tried every underhand attempt to pin it on him?[/QUOTE]
He brought the libel case and the diary was evidence in that case - that case was eventually settled after 8 years or so - no damages but he got contribution to legal costs

Yes GardaĂ­ seem to have a case to answer but Bailey seems to have done himself no favours with how he behaved in interactions after he was named as a suspect

I would argue that releasing suspects names before they are convicted is wrong - people will always say no smoke without fire but that is a wider debate

Most of what we know though is a result of the libel case Bailey took

Ritchie and Rosie Shelley as well as Malachi Reed - all of whom told a Cork Circuit Civil Court libel hearing in December 2003 that they believed they heard Ian Bailey confess to the crime - are standing over their testimony.
Garda sources said that, of 26 people who gave evidence at the sensational libel hearing, only Marie Farrell has now moved to retract sworn testimony.

The evidence of the Shelleys and Malachi Reed was that Mr Bailey had, in their opinion, admitted the killing. The Shelleys, who attended a party on New Year’s Eve 1998 in the house Mr Bailey shares with Jules Thomas, said they heard the freelance journalist say, while he was in an emotional state: “I did it, I did it - I went too far”.
The married couple said they became so disturbed at the scene that they immediately left the house and wouldn’t wait to be collected by a relative.
Malachi Reed, who had accepted a lift from Ian Bailey, claimed that the reporter turned to him and said: “It was fine until I went up and bashed her f-ing brains in”.
Mr Bailey has insisted all three comments were merely repetitions of hurtful rumours and comments being passed about him in West Cork.

Equally there seems to be no evidence of that and like all conspiracy theories it falls down in requiring lots of people to remain quiet about a very serious issue when most Irish people cannot keep anything secret

Of course not, shes still alive FFS sakes

I agree.

Another thing that bugs me is when they say someone that was killed was ‘known to the Gardai’. As if that somehow diminishes their death.

Also, I was watching one of those Cracking Crime programmes last night and that Barry Cummins lad was speaking. He was going on about two brothers being robbed in Meath by two members of the Travelling Community. Of what relevance is the last bit only serving to increasing the hostility in this country against them?

Yep - accident or design that he is not a murderer though?

FFS sakes

ATM machine

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 928037, member: 24”]I agree.

Another thing that bugs me is when they say someone that was killed was ‘known to the Gardai’. As if that somehow diminishes their death.

Also, I was watching one of those Cracking Crime programmes last night and that Barry Cummins lad was speaking. He was going on about two brothers being robbed in Meath by two members of the Travelling Community. Of what relevance is the last bit only serving to increasing the hostility in this country against them?[/QUOTE]
When I was a kid I thought “helping Gardaí with their enquiries” meant that the individual was a Magnum PI type helping the Gardaí with their investigation and finding clues for them

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 928040, member: 2272”]Yep - accident or design that he is not a murderer though?

FFS sakes

ATM machine

:D[/QUOTE]
Accident or design doesnt come into it as the simple fact is that he didnt kill her.

:rolleyes: re: atm and ffs

Well the evidence I have is a senior Gard telling my my missus’ mother. Which you can scoff at, but the stuff coming out now points towards it being true.

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 928040, member: 2272”]Yep - accident or design that he is not a murderer though?

FFS sakes

ATM machine

:D[/QUOTE]

FFS sakes makes no sense.

For fucks sake sakes…

[QUOTE=“count of monte cristo, post: 928069, member: 348”]FFS sakes makes no sense.

For fucks sake sakes…[/QUOTE]

christ on a bike, how fucking long have you been around here ?

The information is readily available on my profile page.