People

I know if have said to people before tongue-in-cheek that I tend not to like people and stuff but I am beginning to think that it is true.

I was out for a few beverages last night with Ball Ox and a non forum member. We left our jackets on a pole thing and when we went back they were gone. Vanished. Some drunk bastard proabably went over, grabbed all the jackets and was probably half way down the street before he realised that he had three jackets instead of one. He then probably chucked ours in a skip somehere. Meanwhile I have to shell out 100 odd quid for a new one

Farmer I get a load of grief from people I know/like for living my life by the maxim that if I don’t know you I don’t like you. It’s fecking true though. Look at the number of people in your workplace for example. And how many of them do you actually like? It’s the same with life. It’s a safe bet to assume that most people out there are intensely dislikable so why bother even pretending to have any time for Joe Public.

Another example. Since my identity was given away at the tfk Christmas party many of you will know that I am quite a tall lad. I was in Flannerys on Friday night, minding my own business when this munter of a bird comes over. She grabs me by the arm and says ‘I have to ask you - what height are you?’. I let that go by completely blanking her but then she asks me again. I told her to ‘get t’fuck away from me’ and she wondered what was wrong with me. ‘Its only to settle a bet’ she says. Then I looked over and I saw about three other munters and a few gobshite lads looking over. I repeated ‘Get t’fuck away from me’. She finally got the message and I could hear her say to the others - ‘he won’t tell me - I don’t know what’s wrong with him’.

In the words of Yeats - ‘was it for this that the wild geese spread?’

Sunday is slow here in work.

This is a quality thread that needs further insight. I too live by the same logic that if I don’t know someone I will inherently dislike them.

I generally give people the benefit of the doubt especially if I’ve drink taken.

However no benefit of doubt whatsoever is given to certain folk. People who try to start conversations with you when you’ve got earphones in would fall into that bracket. I was at the bus stop during the week listening to a debate on Swine flu on my walkman when some cunt stops his car across the road from me, gets out, walks past several people along the way to cross the road and then passes two punters waiting for the bus and asks me for directions, even though he can clearly see that I’m the only punter at the bus stop with earphones in. Does my face scream I know all roads in Dublin or something?? Turns out I was able to give him directions, that’s beyond the point though!

Ben I really think you’re edging towards dislike of people more so than giving the benefit of the doubt.

I take people as I find them.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Another example. Since my identity was given away at the tfk Christmas party many of you will know that I am quite a tall lad. I was in Flannerys on Friday night, minding my own business when this munter of a bird comes over. She grabs me by the arm and says ‘I have to ask you - what height are you?’. I let that go by completely blanking her but then she asks me again. I told her to ‘get t’fuck away from me’ and she wondered what was wrong with me. ‘Its only to settle a bet’ she says. Then I looked over and I saw about three other munters and a few gobshite lads looking over. I repeated ‘Get t’fuck away from me’. She finally got the message and I could hear her say to the others - ‘he won’t tell me - I don’t know what’s wrong with him’.

In the words of Yeats - ‘was it for this that the wild geese spread?’[/quote]
Don’t worry Farmer, people are always coming up (or down) to me asking how short I am.