[quote=“mickee321, post: 828719, member: 367”]how the fuck could you put Cobh in the same bucket as Stillorgan and Ballsbridge?
Cobh, Kinsale, Youghal, clonmel, castlebar, mullingar, Limerick, Dublin , Dun Laoirghe, Ballybofey… are all the same type of place… garrison towns where the influence of the British army had a detrimental effect on the locals creating little Englanders like Rocko who claim to hate the crown but behave in the image and likeness of a Brit…
Stillorgan is different, here people didnt need the influence of the British army they just choose to look towards Westminister and used shameless fawning to try to convince London that they were loyal subjects.[/quote]
@mickee321 - please use the tagging function when abusing other posters.
[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 828658, member: 1503”]Fingal
Any place where Cricket is a popular pastime can not call itself Irish.[/quote]
This is just one of the characteristics of a multicultural society daly, me old flower. Along with the excellent multicultural dining experiences (as outlined in the many fingal dining threads) come proud members of those communities, evereager to showcase their national game. A sunday spent windsurfing on broadmeadow estuary followed by a bag of chips watching an innings unfold on seabury green is indeed quality time. Be you indian, pakistani, sri lankan or bengali, the stakes get higher as the restaurant opening hour approaches.
If only the rest of the country could follow our lead.
[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 828657, member: 1503”]I’ll start off…
Adare -
Looks like an English country village. Why the fuck tourists flock that place I don’t know. They could just go to Warwickshire.[/quote]
Funnily enough, we got a letter of complaint in from a lady from Ballyclough who was visiting Adare with some female companions and was made to feel inferior and treated with hostility by the proprietor of a shoe-shop in Adare. She basically felt that herself and her pals “were made to feel like they were undesirable clientele” by the stuck up bitch in the shop.
I’ve only heard one side of the story but the lady’s handwriting, spelling and grammar were all top notch so I’d be siding with her on this one.
Not that there’s diddley-squat we can do about it, mind.
dp
Kinsale
Care to elaborate?
[quote=“Juhniallio, post: 828759, member: 53”]This is just one of the characteristics of a multicultural society daly, me old flower. Along with the excellent multicultural dining experiences (as outlined in the many fingal dining threads) come proud members of those communities, evereager to showcase their national game. A sunday spent windsurfing on broadmeadow estuary followed by a bag of chips watching an innings unfold on seabury green is indeed quality time. Be you indian, pakistani, sri lankan or bengali, the stakes get higher as the restaurant opening hour approaches.
If only the rest of the country could follow our lead.[/quote]
Some of these lads would rather be knee-deep in silage effluent, feasting on a plate of raw cabbage than sampling some of the culinary delights the more cultured part of this country has to offer.
Cork.
Anywhere, where that british sport soccerball is played.
and that other shithouse “sport” rugby. Or rugger as they call it. fucking gaylords.
Can someone define what really Irish is please?
:rolleyes: If you have to ask you’ll never know.
[quote=“Horsebox, post: 828680, member: 1537”]Urlingford.
Cobh.
Portlaoise.
Mountbellow.
Churchtown.
Stillorgan.
Ballsbridge.
Killarney.[/quote]
@Horsebox please elaborate how Urlingford made this list
Tom Ryan = Irish
Ivan Yates = Not Irish
Mac knows the score.
It has exactly 2 or more Protestant Farmers with over 500 acres of land?
Cloughjordan
I’d say Horsebox got a dodgy hand job from some yoke down the back of a JJ Kavanagh bus and has held the grudge ever since