Fair playâŚ
Fourth . Grand chap. Was chatting to him up the top of the mountain. Horgan was the first to finish despite starting fourth.
Cummins left wan on wan with the mountain there.
MD Sports myclubship.ie All-Ireland Senior Hurling Poc Fada Final Playing Order
The cream of hurlingâs Poc Fada players will begin their quest for the 2020âs An Corm Setnana in the following order.
i. AON - TBC
ii. Colin Ryan â Limerick
iii. Brendan Cummins - Tipperary
iv. Cathal Kiely â Offaly
v. Darren Geoghegan - Louth
vi. Ronan Taafe â Clare
vii. Tadhg Haran â Galway
viii. Gareth Johnson â Down
ix. Paddy Mc Killian â Tyrone
x. Sean Nugent â Galway
xi. Callum Quirke â Wexford
xii. Cillian Kiely â Offaly (2019 Champion)
Will the 2020 event be as close os the 2019 event, when Offalyâs Cillian Kiely had only one poc to spare over his younger brother Cathal?
#PocFada #OnAMountain #PocAllBeforeYou
September 5th lads. They can do restrictions on the fucking mountains, and if they do, I know about ten different ways of getting onto them
Aaron Gillane the sponsorâs pick this year
The final Senior All-Irelandâs for 2021
Traditionally held on the August bank holiday the MD Sports myclubshop.ie All-Ireland Poc Fada is the first All-Ireland up for grabs in Hurling or Camogie. In the COVID effected year of 2021 the event will be the last to be competed for this Saturday 25th September over The Cooley Mountains.
However, owing to the revised schedule some players will been unable to take part in this Saturdays event. This does not mean the field will be any the weaker, as the replacement players are among the best in the Country.
We wish all the players taking part all the best of luck as they seek to become crowned King and Queen of The Cooleys.
Hurling Player Order.
- Paddy McKillian (Tyrone)
- Colin Ryan (Limerick)
- Gareth Johnson (Down)
- Alan Nolan (Dublin)
- Darren Geoghegan (Louth)
- Callum Quirke (Wexford)
- Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
- Tadhg Haran (Galway)
- Ronan Taaffe (Clare)
- Enda Rowland (Laois)
- Cathal Kiely (Offaly)
- Cillian Kiely (Offaly)
Camogie - Aideen Lyons (Galway)
- Roisin McCormack (Antrim)
- Lyndsey Condell (Carlow)
- Martina McMahon (Limerick)
- Abbye Donnelly (Meath)
- Ăine Slattery (Tipperary)
- Sarah Healy (Galway)
- Molly Lynch (Cork)
- Caitriona Daly (Galway)
Tis the Kielys to lose.
Theyâll dominate it for years to come.
Whatâs the rules? Canât find them.
Do you have to start and finish with the same ball?
Who watches and counts each player?
That Malachy fellow, I wouldnât trust his to count his own shots.
I did the one in Kildare a few years back around the Curragh plains. You go out in groups of 4. Each person gets 3 balls each at the start marked with your name. Each group has a volunteer going around counting the shots in the group as you go.
Thereâs areas marked in bounds and out of bounds. Go out of bounds and itâs like golf. Hit again from where you were. So if you make a mistake youâre fucked. I was competitive enough but made some rookie mistakes. Didnât go out of bounds but you need to really cut the corner and hug the inside track as much as possible when you can. The best lad in my group had a nice low flight forward spin strike (think topspin forehand in tennis) that was helpful into the wind. Think he came second overall.
The Kildare winner would get beaten easily enough by the Offaly brothers.
Commentatorâs
More All Ireland glory for Limerick
Each player has a ref that follows them through the entire course. Young lads - âspottersâ - are charged with finding the sliothar. Itâs rough enough terrain on parts of it.
Myself and the auld lad were chatting to him for a bit when he did in 2019. Seemed an alright sort.
Wouldnât have been a great day to be up the mountain youâd say
Are these like GAA special teams? Would they all play regular club or just bats balls over mountains all the time?
2023 M. Donnelly GAA All-Ireland Poc Fada playing order
Senior Hurling
1: Liam Watson (Ulster Runner-up)
2: Mark Fahy (Connacht Winner)
3: Peter Duggan (Clare)
4: Tadhg Haran (Galway, 2017 Champion)
5: FionĂĄn Mackessy (Munster Runner-up)
6: Ronan Byrne (Louth)
7: Conor Woods (Ulster Champion)
8: Matt Kenny (Leinster Champion)
9: Pat Burke (Leinster Runner-up)
10: Brendan Quinn (Connacht Runner-up)
11: Colin Ryan (Munster Winner)
12: Killian Phelan (Reigning Champion, Kilkenny)