Polish & Ukrainian Language Thread

Perhaps the likes of Balbec and Thrawneen could answer language queries from fellow TFK members on this thread as they arise.

It may also be helpful if they could provide some useful phrases too.

Lads, how do you say “I’m not paying 100 Zloty for a hand job” in Polish?

Nostrovia is what you say when you are about to down some homemade vodka (which can be pink in color).

Kurava machi is a swear word I believe.

100PLN would only be about 25EUR Bandage, not bad value if you ask me.

One of the Polish lads in work was telling me you can get the really desperate heroin ridden ones to give you one for as little as 60PLN pal.

Sorry mate, you’ve really shown my lack of knowledge up here. I’ll do more research on the market before I offer any more opinions again.

Would imagine the Ukraine would be the favored location for lads who are treating it as that kind of holiday. Isn’t Poland still quite a religious country?

Motherfucker in Polish is pronouced something like Matkoyeptza.

When you reach a whore’s apartment and you need to gain entry: Yestem nee zevnonch means “I’m outside”

More to follow.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7899171.stm

The mystery of Ireland’s worst driver

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/45492000/gif/_45492479_poland.gif
Details of how police in the Irish Republic finally caught up with the country’s most reckless driver have emerged, the Irish Times reports.
He had been wanted from counties Cork to Cavan after racking up scores of speeding tickets and parking fines.
However, each time the serial offender was stopped he managed to evade justice by giving a different address.
But then his cover was blown.
It was discovered that the man every member of the Irish police’s rank and file had been looking for - a Mr Prawo Jazdy - wasn’t exactly the sort of prized villain whose apprehension leads to an officer winning an award.
In fact he wasn’t even human.
Prawo Jazdy is actually the Polish for driving licence and not the first and surname on the licence,” read a letter from June 2007 from an officer working within the Garda’s traffic division.
"Having noticed this, I decided to check and see how many times officers have made this mistake.
“It is quite embarrassing to see that the system has created Prawo Jazdy as a person with over 50 identities.”
The officer added that the “mistake” needed to be rectified immediately and asked that a memo be circulated throughout the force.
In a bid to avoid similar mistakes being made in future relevant guidelines were also amended.
And if nothing else is learnt from this driving-related debacle, Irish police officers should now know at least two words of Polish.
As for the seemingly elusive Mr Prawo Jazdy, he has presumably become a cult hero among Ireland’s second largest immigrant population.

Disappointed I’ve not been mentioned above as a noted cultural ambassador for Poland, given I’ve toured extensively through Warsaw, Krakow, Gdansk and…er Olsztyn over many years.

I’ll express a few phrases in their phonetics for simplicity’s sake to help felllow forumites.

I’m from Ireland = “yestem zirlandy”
Yes = “tack”
No = “nnnnnye”
Thanks = “jink wah he”
Please = “pruessia”
I don’t understand = “neah rosiniumm”

Also please note that if you’re in Poland and want to buy say a Mars Bar for 3PLN, try not to present the shopkeeper with a 20PLN note as this evokes the sort of reaction you’d expect after stabbing someone. I think they don’t go to the bank and get bags of change over there or something.

If anyone has any specific questions about the Masurian Lakes or how to get to Hitler’s Wolf’s Lair then fire away.

I’ve never been to the Ukraine but had intended to go to Lviv shortly via Warsaw, getting too cold now though. I believe it’s a fine spot though.

I don’t intend to offend you in my thread opening post, Shannonsider, and I apologise if I do so.

I welcome your contribution above and hope many more will follow.

Thanks mate, I know you meant it as a non-exhaustive list of Polish experts.

To save forumites time fumbling around in McDonalds, it should be noted that the Poles call a Quarter Pounder with Cheese a “McRoyal”, as Quentin Tarantino noted about France many years ago, they are not used to the Imperial system out there I suppose, while the Polish psyche is much more used to the notion of the kings and royalty of Wavel Castle.

SS knows the score.

Skurwisen is another term for motherfucker.
One of my favourites “dziwka” (bitch)

“I’m outside” is a general conversational phrase Thraw, it is not hooker specific.

Ile kostuje = “How much”

Kocham cie = I love you

I love you but I can’t marry you = “Kocham cie ale nie moge cie poslubic”

Some other helpful tips that have just come to me as I reminisced about my days in-country in Poland.

TRANSPORT
For any forumites who happen to be driving in Poland in Winter, I believe it’s legally imperative that you have your lights on all day. You also must have specific Winter tyres. If you’re getting a taxi at an airport in Poland from a guy who is not on a rank and is touting it’s advisable to ask for a quote, then laugh heartily at his absurdly overpriced fare. I was recently quoted a fare of 80PLN from Frederick Chopin airport to Warsaw West bus depot by a guy driving a Mark II Golf. I started at 30PLN and we ended up at 40PLN which was on the steep side I’d say anyway. Alot of cars run on gas out there which is cheaper than petrol, I don’t know how they pay for petrol out there as it’s about the same price it is here.

DRINKING
It should be noted that unlike backward and deprived countries on the fringes of Europe like Ireland, Cherry Coke is available for purchase in cosmopolitan Polska. I enjoyed a refreshing can of it myself recently which retailed for 2PLN.

FOOD
I enjoyed a lard sandwich in Poland once. Helpfully the Poles put bits of bacon in amongst the lard as a sort of bonus. The killing of a bovine for meat appears to be a rare occurance, it’s all pork and chicken. A school kid in Poland asked me was it true that we fried Mars Bars in Ireland, he also asked did we speak Chinese and whether Hannah Montana was popular here.

BIRDS
A common sight in Poland is a huge nest about two metres diameter at the top of a telegraph pole, sometimes this will be propped up by a bicycle wheel kindly placed there by a farmer or other rustic sort to encourage the building of such nests. This will be a stork’s nest. I believe they are popular as they eat rodents and other pests. While in Poland I also brought to the attention of a Polish girl of my acquaintance the disgraceful killing of Irish swans by Poles for meat which has been suspected in the Camogue valley and St Stephen’s Green for years, I made this point as a diplomatic flashpoint that should be addressed by our two great nations. She assured me that Poles do not kill swans and there were many unmolested swans on a lake near her house who lived without fear of butchery and that I must be mixing Poles up with more unruly sorts from the other Baltic nations like Lithuania or Latvia.

FAGS
A carton of Polish Marlboro Lights (again for cultural reasons I think they call them ‘Royals’ not ‘Lights’) will set you back about 110PLN, translated as €28 when I bought them anyway, or €2.80 per box.

I hope you gave that school kid a few bars of Hannah Montana in perfect Cantonese, SS.

I was out in the car there earlier and there was a swan on Beckett Bridge.

Cc @balbec

Ps. Poor quality photo. Apologies.

And all the abuse we’ve been wrongfully giving @balbec over the years, the poor swan eating cunt.

I just let ye boys have ye’re little moment.

Ravenous thread FFS.

Some insightful posts from @SHANNONSIDER on this thread. I miss him.