Post Recession Tiger Largesse and Excess

Took a lot of convincing my grandparents to sell up there mobile just beofre covid. Had the site over 40 years but the drive was too much and it got too cold for them to get the use out of it. The fees were ridiculous, almost to a point where you get chsrged per litre of piss (exaggerated). Cut a long story we found a claise in the contract that you can sell your site with a reduction of 50% in that fee if to blood relative. A family friend is unofficially officially now related.

I was shocked at the fees considering the use they got over probably 5 years where didnt dodnt use as much. Used to spend the whole summer there which was fair enough then

Sounds like a right cunthole

Depends where it is. A full summer for kids with a big bunch of friends roaming round the beach dunes etc is heaven. Swimming, fishing, football rounders, bases, tip the can, manhunt etc.

It’s bizarre.

*The summer resident adds: “It must be the only place where there’s no bus link to Dublin and most people are happy about that.

"Recently the Press Up Group opened an Elephant And Castle Restaurant and while most were delighted with the lovely food, there were still plenty giving out that ‘we don’t want new trendy places landing and generating even more interest in Brittas Bay.’”*

You’re from Limerick mate. I’m sure it’s true anyway.

And lashings and lashings of ginger beer.

Could be good for kids alright, but you get all that with short let’s in caravan parks as well.
It wouldn’t be for me

If you look hard enough most likely. I went outside the county to thin out the blood lines.

State and Goodman reach deal on €10m department lease error

JENNIFER BRAYThe State has reached an agreement on an estimated €10 million overpayment for the Department of Health’s 25-year office lease, which will the see the tenancy extended rather than the money being repaid.

It emerged in 2018 that there was a “mismeasurement” by the Office of Public Works (OPW) of the floor space of Miesian Plaza on Dublin’s Baggot Street before the lease began in December 2016. The building provides accommodation for more than 900 civil servants from the Departments of Health and Children, Finance, and Public Expenditure and Reform.

Talks between the State and landlord Larry Goodman have been ongoing for years in an attempt to recoup the extra money paid due to the mistake.

Minister of State for the OPW Patrick O’Donovan said the parties had agreed to extend the lease on Miesian Plaza by nine months at a nominal rent of €10. Given the State paid €8.25 million in rent last year, this would equate to it receiving an effectively payment-free lease term worth nearly €6.2 million.

The Government had previously estimated that over the term of the lease some €10 million would be lost because of the error.

While the Minister did not reveal how much, if anything, had been lost because of the agreement, he maintained that “the OPW considers that this agreement is the best possible outcome achievable for the taxpayer in all the circumstances”.

In a statement to Fine Gael TD Jennifer Carroll MacNeill, Mr O’Donovan said that “while this issue of measurement was unfortunate and should never have arisen, I would acknowledge the efforts of my own officials and the representatives of the landlord in bringing the issue to a conclusion”.

“When the issue was identified, the OPW engaged with the landlord to mitigate the effect of this issue in a manner that would be acceptable to both parties,” he said. “A deed of variation has now been finalised to give effect to this agreement.”

The Public Accounts Committee has examined the issue on multiple occasions, and last year produced a report expressing “concern that the OPW will not succeed in preventing taxpayers being exposed for an additional €10 million that is a direct result of a fundamental error by OPW”.

Sinn Féin TD Brian Stanley, who chairs the committee, said he would be bringing the OPW before the committee within the next two months and would be seeking full information in relation to the deal that had been done. “I want to see that there has been full due diligence here, and that the taxpayer has not been left exposed.”

Fucking hell.

A mismeasurement you say…who was holding the stupid end of the tape?

Surely to god the landlord has the measurements of his own building?
If the clients had undermeasured the building would he have known?

It’s amazing the way these lads are always overpaid rather than underpaid

A few years ago the department of health or the HSE paid a few million in rent for a building they didn’t use. I understand it was because some of the staff refused to move because they didn’t want to work in open plan areas.

They can use it to store Watts and Mulvanys egos or use it as a new hiding place for Donnelly.

That’s the building in question.

It took ages to convince them to leave that Kip Hawkins House.

Hawkins house is a mins walk from tara st. A fucking super place to work. Miesian plaza, or whatever it’s called is an ultra modern superbuilding that doesnt work properly in pricey baggott st. Grand for southsiders but id take Hawkins any day.

There’s a new hipster version of Larry Murphy’s opening nearby in Baggot St. Plus you have the magnificent Chai Yo across the road.

Southside hipster cunts.

The Golden Mile of pubs there too.

I used to love working near Baggot st.

Great lunch options and Eddie Rockets for a hungover Friday.