When have rte ever showed/will show a friendly between Mexico and Tahiti. They aren’t even in the same group
A pity that Offaly-Waterford is not televised. There are so few decent intercounty hurling games as it is, the game tonight could be very competitive and I’d prefer to watch a knock out championship like that than any of the Confederations Cup matches.
Was driving home today and listening to RTE Radio One and the Saturday sports programme hosted by that cunt Des Cahill was on. Scimpy updates provided from Wexford Park and the panel consisted of Tom McGuirk, DJ Carey and some other lad. The bould Des was discussing a number of sports issue and Des started rambling on about Joe Kinnear’s controversial return to Newcastle.
Des - “It was one of the big stories of the week. Were you following it, Tom?”
McGuirk - “No, I wasn’t really.”
Fantastic. Job for life in RTE once you get your foot in the door.
[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 790425, member: 1552”]A pity that Offaly-Waterford is not televised. There are so few decent intercounty hurling games as it is, the game tonight could be very competitive and I’d prefer to watch a knock out championship like that than any of the Confederations Cup matches.
Was driving home today and listening to RTE Radio One and the Saturday sports programme hosted by that cunt Des Cahill was on. Scimpy updates provided from Wexford Park and the panel consisted of Tom McGuirk, DJ Carey and some other lad. The bould Des was discussing a number of sports issue and Des started rambling on about Joe Kinnear’s controversial return to Newcastle.
Fantastic. Job for life in RTE once you get your foot in the door.[/quote]
Fuckin shower of assholes.
I understand there’s a clause in the TV rights deal with FIFA that means RTE must televise relative shite like the Confederations Cup too and not just the main attraction of the World Cup.
Newstalk gave decent coverage of the Wexford game today.
Correct. You have to buy both as part of the world cup rights package.
I think the gaa is also at fault here, they reduced the number of televised games last year to try and boost qualifier attendances
The Wlr coverage was superb
[quote=“chewy louie, post: 790563, member: 1137”]Correct. You have to buy both as part of the world cup rights package.
I think the gaa is also at fault here, they reduced the number of televised games last year to try and boost qualifier attendances[/quote]
This may be the case with whatever deal RTÉ negotiated but as far as I know, there’s no stipulation that broadcasters must take the Confederations Cup if they want to take the World Cup.
[quote=“dodgy-keeper, post: 790425, member: 1552”]A pity that Offaly-Waterford is not televised. There are so few decent intercounty hurling games as it is, the game tonight could be very competitive and I’d prefer to watch a knock out championship like that than any of the Confederations Cup matches.
Fantastic. Job for life in RTE once you get your foot in the door.[/quote]
if you wanted to listen to the wexford game you should have been with newstalk as they had the rights to it.
the radio coverage of the championship is bizarre
if RTE are commentating on the game then newstalk cant have a reporter at it and vice versa, instead the coverage is a few lads in the studio talking about the match every few minutes.
newstalk’s program on a saturday is good i think, they usually have a few interesting characters in the studio and the discussion can be lively enough and i like their GAA commentary. however on a sunday they are a disaster if they dont have the commentary and are instead doing the 2 fellas watching the game on TV lark
The Joe Molloy presenter chap on Newstalk has an interesting habit of starting sentences where he’s seemingly unsure of what he’s actually going to say. So he has regular pauses mid sentence or instances where he extends a word while he thinks of what to say next.
An interesting game in store todaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy because…