Re: Celtic Signings - Season 2007/08

correction accepted. hopefully brown will offer something dofferent in our midfield.

Heā€™ll certainly bring pace to the midfield which weā€™ve been badly lacking for much of the season. I hope and expect heā€™ll bring more to the table than that but pace going forward is something weā€™ve been badly missing sometimes this season.

Apparently the back page of todayā€™s Scottish Sun leads in big, bold letters ā€˜Walter in for Whittakerā€™ - thatā€™s Hibs full back Stephen by the way. Then down in the corner thereā€™s a little part that says ā€˜Gers Say No To Brownā€™. They really are hurting. Brown offers way more than pace too.

Some great quotes from Scott Brown:

ā€œCeltic told me they wanted to build their team around me and a couple of other players - and that was all I needed to hear from them.ā€

He said: "Basically, I was told I could speak to Reading and Celtic. I was then also given permission to speak to Middlesbrough but by that time my mind was already made up.

"There was only one team I wanted to play for and Celtic told me everything I wanted to hear.

"I want the chance to test myself against Barcelona, Manchester United and Real Madrid and Iā€™m going to get that chance at Parkhead. What more could I wish for?

"If Iā€™d chosen Reading, Iā€™d probably be fighting a relegation battle next season and then maybe disappearing into the Championship. In two yearsā€™ time, people would have been saying: Remember that lad Scott Brown - whatever happened to him?ā€™

That pretty much sums up the argument weā€™ve been having on here in relation to Celtic and mid ranking EPL clubs. Why join a Reading or 'Boro when you can play Champions League at Celtic? Very encouraged by everything about this deal.

Huns are really upset over this one. Check this out from one of their sites. Great to see Brown denying that he ever supported Rangers too!

[img width=500 height=625]http://i8.tinypic.com/6820g08.jpg

Anybody know anything about this lad? I donā€™t to be honest. Strachan hust had a hip op and came to meet him - this would suggest weā€™re eager to get him. From BreakingNews:

Degen on trial at Celtic
17/05/2007 - 19:17:18

Switzerland midfielder David Degen has been handed a trial by Celtic after being scolded for his lack of effort by Borussia Monchengladbach coach Jos Luhukay.

Borussia let Degen travel to Scotland to train with the SPL champions after Luhukay criticised his attitude and suggested he finds a new club.

Former Basle player Degen, 24, who is only a third of the way into a three-year contract with Borussia, is hoping to impress Celtic manager Gordon Strachan who welcomed him to Glasgow despite being in the recovery stages following a hip operation.

ā€œThe welcome I got from Celtic was extraordinary,ā€ Degen told Record PM. ā€œThe manager is injured but he still came to see me to say hello.ā€

"This felt outstanding. Iā€™d never been treated that way before.

ā€œCeltic is a massive club with a great tradition and, of course, Iā€™m interested in joining.ā€

Borussia head coach Luhukay, who took charge in March of the team who have been relegated from the German Bundesliga, last week ordered Degen to train with the clubā€™s U-23 side.

Luhukay accused Degen of being a disruptive influence on team-mates at training, saying: "He was lacking concentration, unprofessional and a nuisance factor.

"He did not show the attitude which you would expect.

"His head has been switched off Borussia and therefore he will train with the U-23 side for the next one-and-a-half weeks, but he will not play.

ā€œHis time has run out. He can go, if the conditions are correct.ā€

Donā€™t know him. There was a Degen lad at Borussia Dortmund who is a full back but it doesnā€™t seem to be him if this lad went from Basle to Moenchengladbach. I know nothing about him but Moenchengladbach were awful this year so if he wasnā€™t a star performer for them Iā€™d have my doubts.

Yeah, Iā€™m aware of the other lad. Think heā€™s called ChristopheĀ® Degen. Itā€™s rare enough a trialist gets taken on so weā€™ll just wait and see.

Checked it there - heā€™s Phillip Degen and theyā€™re twins.

From the admin of Celtic Minded - generally quite good with his sources:

Celtic PLC will next week announce a profit for the year of 17m.

Strachan will have the biggest transfer budget of any Celtic manager ever.

We have approached Whittaker of Hibernian.

Gravesen, Jarosik and Balde up for sale.

We are in second place at best to sign Torres.

Expect a ā€œshowstopperā€ signing this summer, be it Torres or A.N. Other.

Distin has left Manchester City. Canā€™t blame him really for looking to better himself, if thatā€™s what he decides to do. Thereā€™s also talk that heā€™ll join a similarly rubbish team like Portsmouth or Boro just to get more cash. He was linked with Celtic on a Bosman but Strachan has said heā€™s not looking for defenders.

He reckons heā€™s not looking for more cash, and by all accounts he was offered good money at City so it might be true. But if he goes to Portsmouth then Iā€™d say thatā€™s all been a lie and he is indeed after silly wages.

This is funny. Reading arenā€™t best pleased with Scotty Brownā€™s quotes. See the chariman claiming he wouldnā€™t have made it in England anyway. Why did you lodge an offer that would have broken your transer record then d1ckface? From the Reading site:

Hiberianā€™s Scott Brown will not be heading to the Madejski Stadium after opting to join Celtic for 4.4 million.

Reading had agreed a club record fee of 4 million with Hibs, but the 21-year-old declined to meet Steve Coppell.

And Brown infuriated Royals staff by claiming he chose to move to Glasgow because he did not want to ā€œdisappear into the Championship.ā€

ā€œItā€™s best we didnā€™t get Scott Brown,ā€ fumed assistant manager, Eamon Dillon. "The boy hasnā€™t got a clue. I bet he doesnā€™t know where Reading is.

ā€œWhat he said was so wrong. He should have investigated it. Heā€™s closed the door on a lot of possibilities, not just with us.ā€

And Royals chairman John Madejski added: "It was demeaning. Heā€™s 21 and he doesnā€™t know what heā€™s talking about. Heā€™d probably struggle in an English league anyway.

ā€œBut good luck to him, though he would be far better off keeping these things to himself. Heā€™s clearly a good player, he just doesnā€™t know how to behave.ā€

HAHA echoes of Allardyceā€™s comments about Vennegoor of Hesselink. Gobshites.

http://www.randalstowncsc.co.uk/modules/news/article.php?storyid=361

Celtic are moving for Spartak Moscow midfielder Mozart.

The Brazil international is ready to leave Russia this summer and his agent, Dario Canovi, confirmed that Celtic are on the brink of a deal for the ex-Reggina man.
ā€œAt this moment, the club that is showing the most serious interest is Celtic,ā€ said Canovi. "They want to place him alongside (Shunsuke) Nakamura.
ā€œThis is a move that I am happy with, even though Iā€™d prefer to bring him back to Italy.ā€

Interesting.

Did you get the season ticket renewal letter, rocko?

GBP440 for our tickets next season. Iā€™m on course to be joining a new club myself on Tuesday 5th June when the transfer window re-opens so I think Iā€™ll renew now that my financial status has improved. Thereā€™s an option to pay in 3 credit card instalments at the end of September, October and November so I think Iā€™ll do that.

Gonna make an effort to get over more often next season.

Didnā€™t get the form at all - did you only get it today?

Think Iā€™ll renew and Iā€™m going to favour prioritise trips to Scotland over travelling to away European games this season. Works out cheaper and thereā€™s less hassle about tickets etc. Also having seen how the foreign Garda treat British football fans weā€™re better off staying on the mainland.

I was in Wexford all week until coming up last night to vote and the letter was there so unsure when it arrived.

Need to read it in detail. Think thereā€™s some discount if you renew before June 1 so Iā€™ll probably do that as Iā€™m definitely renewing so may as well get the benefit.

Good point on safety in Europe. Perhaps things would improve if more British police travelled across with supporters and passed on their expertise to their unprofessional colleagues abroad.

Iā€™ll renew if and when I get the form so. Might be in Fingal for me actually now that I think about it.