Re: Favourite Place in Ireland (that's not in your own county)

Funny story about my one and only visit ot Keadueā€¦

I was only a young lad and I went along to watch my brother participate in one of those Pioneer table quizzes when he was in National School. The school had made the mistake of putting one of the biggest troublemakers in the school on the team. Anyway at the start they were passing around refreshments and yer man decides to chuck a chocolate bun over his shoulder at some random team.

They retaliated and before you know it there was a Tiananmen Square type anarchy in the village of Keadue. Old women were poking the lads with walking sticks but they werenā€™t paying any attention. They were rebels after all. I looked on much like that young lad at the Landsdowne Road riots - in complete and utter shock. Innocence lost.

Anyway eventually when order was restored they had to call off the quiz so we found ourselves walking around the village as the bus wasnā€™t picking us up for a while. We asked some randomer if there was a pool table or slot machines around somewhere and yer man said ā€˜thereā€™s an arcade down the townā€™,. He gave us directions to a chipper with one slot machine in it! Real Father Ted stuffā€¦

Thatā€™s a super tale Farmer. If they were in secondary school and more wise to the world it wouldnā€™t have been that impressive but itā€™s a real feat to get a quiz abandoned while in national school by starting a riot.

used to go on holidays there as a kid.
stayed in the little house on top of the hill right at the end of the road,with the little shop across the road.then up the road for a drink in the tara(?) pub

beautifull beautifull part of the world .

I once walked from Boyle to Keadue and was first chased by a big dog and then a herd of fookin bees,then it started raining and i was soaked,spent hours in my scruds with my jeans in the range,proper surreal experience.

Anywhere west of Dingle. Amazing part of the world

oh no you didnt

fuck you and all belonging to you bandageā€¦how dare you insult me and all the villagers of o briens bridge by saying its on the the limerick tipp borderā€¦its on the limerick clare borderā€¦you just went down a notch in my
estimationsā€¦

Well said Puke. Didnā€™t spot the mistake myself and Iā€™ve no affinity with Clare or anything but itā€™s about time someone had a go at that prick on here.

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]fuck you and all belonging to you bandageā€¦how dare you insult me and all the villagers of o briens bridge by saying its on the the limerick tipp borderā€¦its on the limerick clare borderā€¦you just went down a notch in my
estimationsā€¦[/quote]

How is the Clare border any better!

[quote=ā€œThe Pukeā€]fuck you and all belonging to you bandageā€¦how dare you insult me and all the villagers of o briens bridge by saying its on the the limerick tipp borderā€¦its on the limerick clare borderā€¦you just went down a notch in my
estimationsā€¦[/quote]

Christ, Iā€™m terribly sorry Puke. I hope you can find it within yourself to forgive me. How could I possibly confuse the trek from Shannon up to Sixmilebridge on to Clonlara and then across the bridge and think that was Tipp? Iā€™m emotional just thinking about it.

based on my post about the lady and me hooves - mullingar is now my favorite place.

well thats strike one bandageā€¦no one messes with my villageā€¦i will begrudgingly accept your apologyā€¦

Do you still have the topless barmaid down there Puke?

no he sold the pub licence off to aldiā€¦twas only a hole of a place anywayā€¦i have a video of the topless barmaid on my mobile how would i go about putting it up hereā€¦

A hands down winner for me is Coney Island off the coast off Sligo. A tidal Island, it has only one year round resident, no shops, roads or pretty much anything, bar its ā€˜pubā€™(2mx4m, and you better be able to sing). Beautiful place. Would spend all my summers there if I could. Good waves for surfing etc on one side, good swimming, good fishing, good drink problem. Iā€™ve a brother getting married there this year but Iā€™ll not be able to enjoy the festivities properly as an arsehole|I know is getting married in the Arse-end of Cork the next day.

Dunfanaghy in Donegal. Wonderful scenery, great beaches, great pubs - even if theyā€™re full opf northies during the summer

Malin, Co Donegalā€¦ very friendly ladies in that part of the world ā€¦ ye know

Dingle for the session, the friendly people and the scenery within a few miles.

Love Dalkey as well

I holiday down in Glenbeigh, Co.Kerry and the beach, Rossbeigh, is beautiful. Climb up the mountain road and the views of the Dingle peninsula and the bay are breathtaking. Dooks GC is close by, nice track with the same views.

Balitmore in West Cork and Sherkin Island (I think) is beautiful too. Terryglass Co. Tipp with Lough Derg is nice also.

[quote=ā€œLockeā€]I holiday down in Glenbeigh, Co.Kerry and the beach, Rossbeigh, is beautiful. Climb up the mountain road and the views of the Dingle peninsula and the bay are breathtaking. Dooks GC is close by, nice track with the same views.

Balitmore in West Cork and Sherkin Island (I think) is beautiful too. Terryglass Co. Tipp with Lough Derg is nice also.[/quote]

Rossbeigh is class alright Lockes. Dooks is a coont of a spot to play if the wind blows up

Did you ever answer my question on the golf thread about the jigger?

Aghada in East Cork. The father is originally from there and I spent a lot of summers there when I was younger. On a sunny day thereā€™s no where in Ireland to match this place with the views across the bay to Cobh and East Ferry.