a hompphobe, a racist and an idiot --thats right redknapp classier than gattuso -what next -carlton palmer had a better engine
Im not a homophobe, i dont fear or hate gay people. Racist, I dont fear or hate other races. Idiot?? Nah mate I think you might be the idiot here, making statements matter of factly is a dangerous thing to do with absolutely no basis of fact.
Gattuso and Redknapp arent the same style of player at all, I dont think they can be compared. Classy would insinuate that he is an elegant player which I believe Gattuso is not, Redknapp was certainly more elegant.
That was a smashing performance (I think). Highlights for me were OāDriscollās leadership, Horgan millling the lad early on, OāDriscoll knocking Morgan into the middle of next week, DāArcyās sublime back-handed pass and Dempseyās finish and Shaggyās catch and try.
I hate the way the rugby crowd are so polite. When they win they try to be gracious and stuff and it sickens me. Iāve even been on the end of it once when we were in Cardiff for the weekend a while back and Wales beat us and everyone was so nice and polite. Fook that sport is all about rivalry and competition. When you beat your main rivals you should absolutely rub their noses in it and sicken them. I canāt understand why itās not like that in rugby. I started a āOh the England are shiteā chant in the pub and the mortified looks on all the collars up brigade were hilarious.
I dont think its true to say Irish people were humming God save the Queen, there was just silence and then a belter of our anthem.
Funny thing at the match though. Ken Maginnis of the UUP was behind me at the game and he sang God save the Queen and then was as vocal any irish fan as anyone in the stadium!
On the match, absolutely outstanding performance. Absolutely dominant in every part of the match. Was surprised at how well we scrummaged. We have been criticised here for years but we absolutely mullered a big physical English pack. Just an outstanding day all round.
I hate that cock. He calls himself āLordā something or other. He was on BBC the night the OāLoan collusion report was released saying he refused to accept its contents. You should have glassed him with one of those plastic beer glasses you get at matches.
What a load-of-crap article from Tom āBegrudgerā Humphries in the Times today. Only he could find a downside to the game, that it wasnāt tight enough to see if Croke Park would test Wilkinson. He states ā[With] the 5:30pm start on Saturday ā¦ a little more roaring and bellowing should have ensued. Yet apart from reports of some early booing of Wilkinson as he lined up a kick, Croke Park never got to see the manās legendary sangfroid being tested. Pity.ā Heās obviously never watched a game of rugby in his life - he implies he didnāt watch Saturdayās (āIt was surprising to read in yesterdayās sports pages that, after all the fanfare, Jonny Wilkinson had a quiet & unproductive day in Croke Park on Saturdayā) - or heād know that a proud tradition of rugby is not booing the kicker. And yes, this is yet another example of our āpolitenessā too, I donāt apologise for the fact rugby fans have some self-control and donāt have to be segregated like fucking animals. If there was anyone booing, theyāre obviously blow-ins whoāll hopefully learn to respect our traditions.
Shows how ridiculous it was giving him the front page to talk about rugby last time, glad to see heās been relegated back to the back of the sports section again. Hopefully heāll go back to talking about something heās knows something about too.
I agree about Humphries in that heās almost trying too hard to be glib and dismissive of the last two games and the occasion.
It is a shame about booing the kicker though. I was happy to note that it was creeping into the game over the past few years and was very prevalent in Landsdowne during the autumn internationals but it appears that a lot of people let themselves down on Saturday by being over-welcoming to the England team.
I canāt believe Irish supporters (Ken Magennis and his ilk excepted) applauded God Save The Queen though. I think they wanted to read about how well behaved they were in The Sunday Telegraph or something.
Weād applaud any other anthem. Iād rather not have the English feel theyāre something special by treating them differently. I disagree with German & Russian actions in the past too, but I wouldnāt boo their anthem.
Why should we boo the kicker? Iād boo players guilty of cheating or dirty play, Iād boo the ref if he made a bad call, but the kicker is just doing his job, Iāve no antagonism toward him. If he puts over a kick from the touchline Iāll say āfair playā. And thereās no evidence that booing would put anyone - especially Wilkinson - off his kick; indeed thereās a great story of Grant Fox being so stunned by the silence once that he missed. I dispute that it was very prevalent in the autumn internationals, thereās always a bit of noise from the schoolboysā section but thatās all.
A separate point. Keith Duggan (again, whatās he doing talking about rugby??) on the front page of the Irish Timesā sports section states āWill Carling ā¦ made the point on Saturday morning that it would be wrong if the current England team were somehow made to feel guilty about an atrocity that came in the wake of the first World War. And that never happenedā. Is Carling claiming that Bloody Sunday never happened? Or is Duggan??
While Humphries doesnāt really know what heās talking about regarding rugby heās not afraid to admit that and he has written before that he doesnāt like rugby and he doesnāt like the Ryder Cup. For that reason Iām happy to see him put his true feelings on paper regarding these events, far better than if he adopted a false gr for these big sporting events like so many other people in this country.
I think your issue is with where his articles are located (i.e. Geraldine Kennedy) and not what Humphries has written himself, which is a truthful comment piece.
For what itās worth the silence that greets kickers has been noticeable in Ireland in recent years because itās dying out nearly everywhere else. Iād prefer there was silence but if it annoys Tony Ward when people boo (and it does) then Iām happy to take that as a consolation.
Hereās some raw emotion, pity its the BBC coverage. Imagine they had unleashed Johnny Hayes straight after the anthem rather than having to listen to that bloody Irelands Call, killed the mood.
[quote=therock67 ]
Iād prefer there was silence but if it annoys Tony Ward when people boo (and it does) then Iām happy to take that as a consolation.[/quote]
Agreed.
[quote=therock67 ]
While Humphries doesnāt really know what heās talking about regarding rugby heās not afraid to admit that and he has written before that he doesnāt like rugby and he doesnāt like the Ryder Cup. For that reason Iām happy to see him put his true feelings on paper regarding these events, far better than if he adopted a false gr for these big sporting events like so many other people in this country.
I think your issue is with where his articles are located (i.e. Geraldine Kennedy) and not what Humphries has written himself, which is a truthful comment piece.[/quote]
Pretty much agreed; his ignorance still annoys me (i.e. presuming that the silence for opposing kickers is due to apathy, rather than tradition as is the case), but I suppose one canāt expect him to know everything, and the fault there is probably with the sports editor for not letting him know heās making a fool of himself.
Iāve just heard that Kilkenny College beat Blackrock College 14-13 in either the Senior or Junior Cup.
"Brian OāDriscoll, Hugo McNeill, Bob Geldoff, Fergus Slattery, Craig Doyle, Ryan Tubridy, are you listeningā¦your boys took one hell of a beating. Can you hear me now Doyle? Can you hear me?āā
āIt will be a long time before these young Kilkenny men fully comprehend the magnitude of this result. It may just be a glance from a team-mate on some far-flung university campus or, even sweeter, when meeting one of the Blackrock players 10, heck 20, years from now.ā
You forgot one āRock boyā in your list - Gavin Cummiskey, who wrote the article in the Times, through his tears Iād imagine. Although only someone with Blackrock-bred arrogance could think their exit from the Cup merited half a page of coverage.
Picture the scene; itās Dublin airport in 2022. An ex-Kilkenny College flanker strides purposefully to the check-in desk and spies one of his old Balckrock foes. They stare at each other, however nothing is said. They both know. The awkward silence continues. The Blackrock man turns and sheepishly walks away. He couldnāt bare to look at the Kilkenny man any longer. Will he ever be able to get on with his life? Or will Donnybrook, 2007 haunt him forever?