Real Madrid manager-speaks the truth

i started doing it when a hun i was travelling said lambert wasnt a good player- lippi had just tried to buy him & naturllay i respected lippis view than that of my hun travelling companion

Bandage wrote:

I think Gattuso is a better player than Gerrard. Farmer, you often use the examples of Traore and Roque Junior when alluding to the fact that honours won don’t always correspond to the quality of a given player. However, just because these two are players of questionable quality it doesn’t follow automatically follow that Gattuso should be shunted in there with them. Gattuso has been a key component of the Milan and Italy teams for the last number of years and continues to be so and is a player of exceptional quality. Other people might think Gerrard is a superior player but that’s a matter of personal opinion. To infer that Gattuso is a bad player and of similar quality to Traore is just silly.

Post edited by: Bandage, at: 2007/09/05 18:35

I’m not saying that Gatuso is comparable to Traore as a player but you cannot use his greater number of medals to Gerrard as evidence of his superiority and I cite Traore as an example why…

Post edited by: farmerinthecity, at: 2007/09/05 19:29

Neither can you say:

‘Traore is a shit player and has medals. Therefore Gattuso’s a shit player too because he has medals.’

I cite the part Gattuso played in his club and international teams winning various competitions as evidence of his excellence as a player, rather than the medals he subsequently received (and thoroughly deserved).

Bandage wrote:

Neither can you say:

‘Traore is a shit player and has medals. Therefore Gattuso’s a shit player too because he has medals.’

I cite the part Gattuso played in his club and international teams winning various competitions as evidence of his excellence as a player, rather than the medals he subsequently received (and thoroughly deserved).

Agree on the first part

Gattuso did play his part. But he is a limited player. There are plenty of players like him and he does not possess much footballing ability. Gerrard on the other hand can turn a game (and has done) with flashes of brilliance that Gattuso, frankly, wouldn’t be capable of…

farmerinthecity wrote:

Bandage wrote:

[quote]Neither can you say:

Agree on the first part

Gattuso did play his part. But he is a limited player. There are plenty of players like him and he does not possess much footballing ability. Gerrard on the other hand can turn a game (and has done) with flashes of brilliance that Gattuso, frankly, wouldn’t be capable of…[/quote]

To be fair while there are many players who aspire to be like Gattuso few if any reach his standard. He might not possess superb skill but he is a far more effective player than Gerrard. Steven Carr turned the Spurs Manchester U game on its head a few years ago when he scored a great goal from thirty yards. That was a flash of brilliance. Still doesn’t make him a great player imo. Dennis Irwin on the other hand played consistently very well for Ireland and Manchester over a number of years. He had a far bigger impact through doing unspectacular things than Carr did doing spectacular things.

but gattuso can dominate a game- control the tempo- gerrard can do the occasional good long shot or pass

FingalRaven wrote:

but gattuso can dominate a game- control the tempo- gerrard can do the occasional good long shot or pass

Exactly.

Ah here. I am not entering an argument with someone who compares Steven Gerrard to Stephen Carr if that’s the level of intelligence that we are dealing with

Where is all this bullshit about Gattuso being able to control a game? It is Pirlo who sits in the centre for Milan and dictates if anything but he doesn’t do it all the time. Gattuso generally runs around tackling and roaring as if he’s some kind of maniac that we should all be afraid of. He is not a good footballer, he’s a wannabe hacker…

I know that I will have Bandage, Rock, Piper or whatever he’s called now and Raven coming back on this but frankly I cannot see for the life of me how you can advocate Gattuso over Gerrard - crazy. All I can say is that its another example of anti-EPL drivel that comes to the fore of this website far too often…

Post edited by: farmerinthecity, at: 2007/09/05 20:00

but you compare gattuso to traore

larryduff wrote:

farmerinthecity wrote:

[quote]Bandage wrote:

[quote]Neither can you say:

Agree on the first part

Gattuso did play his part. But he is a limited player. There are plenty of players like him and he does not possess much footballing ability. Gerrard on the other hand can turn a game (and has done) with flashes of brilliance that Gattuso, frankly, wouldn’t be capable of…[/quote]

To be fair while there are many players who aspire to be like Gattuso few if any reach his standard. He might not possess superb skill but he is a far more effective player than Gerrard. Steven Carr turned the Spurs Manchester U game on its head a few years ago when he scored a great goal from thirty yards. That was a flash of brilliance. Still doesn’t make him a great player imo. Dennis Irwin on the other hand played consistently very well for Ireland and Manchester over a number of years. He had a far bigger impact through doing unspectacular things than Carr did doing spectacular things.[/quote]

Excellent post Lawrence. That’s exactly right.

farmerinthecity wrote:

Ah here. I am not entering an argument with someone who compares Steven Gerrard to Stephen Carr if that’s the level of intelligence that we are dealing with

Where is all this bullshit about Gattuso being able to control a game? It is Pirlo who sits in the centre for Milan and dictates if anything but he doesn’t do it all the time. Gattuso generally runs around tackling and roaring as if he’s some kind of maniac that we should all be afraid of. He is not a good footballer, he’s a wannabe hacker…

I know that I will have Bandage, Rock, Piper or whatever he’s called now and Raven coming back on this but frankly I cannot see for the life of me how you can advocate Gattuso over Gerrard - crazy. All I can say is that its another example of anti-EPL drivel that comes to the fore of this website far too often…

Raven beat me to it but what a ludicrous argument to come out with about comparing Gerrard to Carr when you compared Gattuso to Traore and Roque Junior (who had an excellent season last year by the way).

How is Gattuso a wannabe hacker? Are they two words you thought might fit well together or did you think about them at all? Are you saying that Gattuso would be a hacker if he was good enough? Are you saying that he has limitations in his hacking ability which mean he is only a wannabe hacker? Or did you just pick two negative words out of thin air and attribute them to Gattuso. (Seems likely to be honest - surely if he aspired to being a hacker he could achieve that).

Saying Gattuso is better than Gerrard is anti-EPL drivel. Excuse me for a second while I look back at the thread and recall who the paranoid persecuted victim is. Take off the blinkers fool. It’s not about the EPL. It never entered the fecking topic but you dragged it up again because you’re so fucking insecure about the team you love that you think any criticism of any part of that institution is part of some great conspiracy.

We’re not all out to get you Farmer. Some people happen to rate Gattuso as a player. And millions of Italians are among them. Are they anti-EPL too?

I’ll be perfectly honest when I say this - I’ve never been as big a critic of Gerrard as some of the other guys on here (not that you’ve ever bothered to notice because you think everyone who supports Celtic is against you) because I think he’s a talented lad. That said I don’t know how he’d fit into last year’s Milan midfield because he wasn’t capable of playing the role of Pirlo, Gattuso, Seedorf or Kak better than they did. You may disagree with that and that’s your prerogative but please don’t assume that statements that Gattuso is better than Gerrard are biased. It just makes you appear clownish.

therock67 wrote:

farmerinthecity wrote:

[quote]Ah here. I am not entering an argument with someone who compares Steven Gerrard to Stephen Carr if that’s the level of intelligence that we are dealing with

Raven beat me to it but what a ludicrous argument to come out with about comparing Gerrard to Carr when you compared Gattuso to Traore and Roque Junior (who had an excellent season last year by the way).

How is Gattuso a wannabe hacker? Are they two words you thought might fit well together or did you think about them at all? Are you saying that Gattuso would be a hacker if he was good enough? Are you saying that he has limitations in his hacking ability which mean he is only a wannabe hacker? Or did you just pick two negative words out of thin air and attribute them to Gattuso. (Seems likely to be honest - surely if he aspired to being a hacker he could achieve that).

Saying Gattuso is better than Gerrard is anti-EPL drivel. Excuse me for a second while I look back at the thread and recall who the paranoid persecuted victim is. Take off the blinkers fool. It’s not about the EPL. It never entered the fecking topic but you dragged it up again because you’re so fucking insecure about the team you love that you think any criticism of any part of that institution is part of some great conspiracy.

We’re not all out to get you Farmer. Some people happen to rate Gattuso as a player. And millions of Italians are among them. Are they anti-EPL too?

I’ll be perfectly honest when I say this - I’ve never been as big a critic of Gerrard as some of the other guys on here (not that you’ve ever bothered to notice because you think everyone who supports Celtic is against you) because I think he’s a talented lad. That said I don’t know how he’d fit into last year’s Milan midfield because he wasn’t capable of playing the role of Pirlo, Gattuso, Seedorf or Kak better than they did. You may disagree with that and that’s your prerogative but please don’t assume that statements that Gattuso is better than Gerrard are biased. It just makes you appear clownish.[/quote]

1. Steven Gerrard was compared directly to Stephen Carr by Piper as someone who changes a game. I compared Gattuso in an indirect way to Roque Junior et al to point out the ludicrousness of Raven’s argument that the quality of a player depends on the number of medals they have won. There is a difference.

2. Gattuso has a fearsome look about him. He wants to give off a persona of being a hard man. Yet there are many other players who are much better hard men than him. I dpn’t think he offers much else to a team. I think that there are many more players like him out there

3. The argument of Gattuso versus Gerrard is so ludicrous to me that I can only place it as an anti-EPL statement.

4. Some people do rate Gattuso as a player. I’m not one of them. And if you were to ask Italians if they thought Marco Matterazzi was better than Williamm Gallas for instance then I think I know what the would say

5. Hang on. Are you saying that you don’t know where Gerrard would fit into the Milan team or are you saying that Gattuso is a better player than Gerrard? There is a difference

farmerinthecity wrote:

therock67 wrote:

[quote]farmerinthecity wrote:

[quote]Ah here. I am not entering an argument with someone who compares Steven Gerrard to Stephen Carr if that’s the level of intelligence that we are dealing with

I’ll be perfectly honest when I say this - I’ve never been as big a critic of Gerrard as some of the other guys on here (not that you’ve ever bothered to notice because you think everyone who supports Celtic is against you) because I think he’s a talented lad. That said I don’t know how he’d fit into last year’s Milan midfield because he wasn’t capable of playing the role of Pirlo, Gattuso, Seedorf or Kak better than they did. You may disagree with that and that’s your prerogative but please don’t assume that statements that Gattuso is better than Gerrard are biased. It just makes you appear clownish.[/quote]

1. Steven Gerrard was compared directly to Stephen Carr by Piper as someone who changes a game. I compared Gattuso in an indirect way to Roque Junior et al to point out the ludicrousness of Raven’s argument that the quality of a player depends on the number of medals they have won. There is a difference.

2. Gattuso has a fearsome look about him. He wants to give off a persona of being a hard man. Yet there are many other players who are much better hard men than him. I dpn’t think he offers much else to a team. I think that there are many more players like him out there

3. The argument of Gattuso versus Gerrard is so ludicrous to me that I can only place it as an anti-EPL statement.

4. Some people do rate Gattuso as a player. I’m not one of them. And if you were to ask Italians if they thought Marco Matterazzi was better than Williamm Gallas for instance then I think I know what the would say

5. Hang on. Are you saying that you don’t know where Gerrard would fit into the Milan team or are you saying that Gattuso is a better player than Gerrard? There is a difference[/quote]

6. Get off the fecking road Farmer. Direct comparisons/indirect comparisons bullshit. Your quotes were:

“So Gattuso has won everything in the game? What does that prove? Djimi Traore won a Champions League medal, Roque Junior a World Cup medal - it means nothing”

Larry’s quote was:
“To be fair while there are many players who aspire to be like Gattuso few if any reach his standard. He might not possess superb skill but he is a far more effective player than Gerrard. Steven Carr turned the Spurs Manchester U game on its head a few years ago when he scored a great goal from thirty yards. That was a flash of brilliance. Still doesn’t make him a great player imo.”

Care to point out how Larry was direct and you were indirect?

You made a mistake, concede the point.

1. Who are these better hard men than Gattuso? Are you genuinely saying that not only is he not a technically good player and not only is not particularly hard but that he tries to be a hacker but he’s not very good at that either?

2. You can only place it as an anti-EPL statement because that’s the only measure you have for assessing any criticisms of Liverpool.

3. I doubt many of them would think Materazzi is better than Gallas. I wouldn’t have thought so for what it’s worth but that’s talking about Gallas in his heyday. He was fairly indifferent last year.

4. I’ve said both Farmer. I’ve said that Gattuso is a better footballer than Gerrard and I’ve also said that I don’t think Gerrard would fit into the Milan team. Actually the thing about Gerrard is that he doesn’t fit into any teams particularly well. And the reason for that is that he doesn’t excel at the nuts and bolts of midfield play. And that’s not nuts and bolts in a Lee Carsley-break-up-their-attacks way. It’s nuts and bolts as in looking for possession off the fullbacks and centre halves and being prepared to play short little passes forwards under pressure. That was the single greatest facet of Roy Keane’s play - not his tackling or his energy. It was the fact that he was always available and always used the ball well.

the number of medals they won is a good indication of how good a player is. he has won the highest honour at both club & international level ,he also plays in a pivotal position- this suggests that he isn a passenger

This has moved on a good bit since I was last on and given me a good laugh too.

Farmer, you’re being completely hypocritical in your Traore/Roque Junior and Gattuso comparison and then dismissing larryduff’s Carr and Gerrard one. But that’s been pointed out to you by others and you’re still persisting with it.

The tone you’re taking in the Gattuso/Gerrard debate seems to suggest you think anyone who regards Gattuso as a better player has some hidden agenda. I don’t have a preference/particular liking for either player or their respective teams - it’s merely my opinion that Gattuso is a superior player and I don’t understand why you can’t accept that. You appear to be harbouring some kind of persecution complex.

larryduff used the phrase ‘flashes of brilliance’ in relation to Gerrard, which I thought was fairly apt. I rate Gattuso higher due to his drive, workrate, tackling, covering and passing. It’s my contention that he sets the tempo and lays the foundations that allow his team-mates to prosper, as well as being quite capable on the ball himself. In other words he’s extremely effective to both the attacking and defensive facets of his teams’ play. Again, it’s only my opinion but I believe Gattuso’s consistency and ability to effectively control a midfield makes him a better player than Gerrard, who I regard as more of an impact player capable of producing moments of class.

The medals talk is pissing me off somewhat too. It’s plainly ridiculous. The two players you plucked out were subsequently dropped or sold. Gattuso has been a critical component of the Milan and Italy midfields for the bones of 7 years, continues to be so and has enjoyed some tremendous success with both sides. Your medal comparison implies these honours were won despite Gattuso when the reality was he’s been one of the main driving forces behind the two teams. Do you honestly think a crap player would keep his place in these sides for such a concerted period of time? Do me a favour.

Post edited by: Bandage, at: 2007/09/05 23:45

therock67 wrote:

Why can’t I use that phrase? It would really suit me in this instance.

To be honest Clarkey Liverpool didn’t create any chances as good as Inzaghi’s or the wrongly disallowed one on one that would have ended the game long before they finished it off.

To make 2 quick points anyway:

1. As the wikipedia stats erroneously suggest, but as the UEFA stats confirm, Liverpool had 10 shots with 6 wide. Milan had 4 shots with 1 wide. What that says to me is that Liverpool couldn’t break Milan down so they resorted to trying speculative efforts. Milan on the other hand were able to pass it more accurately and created more clearcut opportunities as evidenced by their ratio of shots on target.

Fair enough about the errors but you must be having a laugh with your other pont. So a team that hits the target twice out of three shots creates more clearcut chances than a team with ten shots on target out of twenty. That’s preposterous. You are surely just trying to wind me up?

Let’s talk in absolutes for a moment. Liverpool had four shots on target. Milan had three.

therock67 wrote:

farmerinthecity wrote:

[quote]therock67 wrote:

[quote]farmerinthecity wrote:

5. Hang on. Are you saying that you don’t know where Gerrard would fit into the Milan team or are you saying that Gattuso is a better player than Gerrard? There is a difference[/quote]

6. Get off the fecking road Farmer. Direct comparisons/indirect comparisons bullshit. Your quotes were:

“So Gattuso has won everything in the game? What does that prove? Djimi Traore won a Champions League medal, Roque Junior a World Cup medal - it means nothing”

Larry’s quote was:
“To be fair while there are many players who aspire to be like Gattuso few if any reach his standard. He might not possess superb skill but he is a far more effective player than Gerrard. Steven Carr turned the Spurs Manchester U game on its head a few years ago when he scored a great goal from thirty yards. That was a flash of brilliance. Still doesn’t make him a great player imo.”

Care to point out how Larry was direct and you were indirect?

You made a mistake, concede the point.

1. Who are these better hard men than Gattuso? Are you genuinely saying that not only is he not a technically good player and not only is not particularly hard but that he tries to be a hacker but he’s not very good at that either?

2. You can only place it as an anti-EPL statement because that’s the only measure you have for assessing any criticisms of Liverpool.

3. I doubt many of them would think Materazzi is better than Gallas. I wouldn’t have thought so for what it’s worth but that’s talking about Gallas in his heyday. He was fairly indifferent last year.

4. I’ve said both Farmer. I’ve said that Gattuso is a better footballer than Gerrard and I’ve also said that I don’t think Gerrard would fit into the Milan team. Actually the thing about Gerrard is that he doesn’t fit into any teams particularly well. And the reason for that is that he doesn’t excel at the nuts and bolts of midfield play. And that’s not nuts and bolts in a Lee Carsley-break-up-their-attacks way. It’s nuts and bolts as in looking for possession off the fullbacks and centre halves and being prepared to play short little passes forwards under pressure. That was the single greatest facet of Roy Keane’s play - not his tackling or his energy. It was the fact that he was always available and always used the ball well.[/quote]

5. A comparison between Gerrard and Carr is plainly stupid. Saying that having winners medals doesn’t necessarily make you a great player is a valid point. In this instance I don’t agree because I think Gattuso is a brilliant player and deserves his medals.

6. Gattuso is certainly one of the best “hard men” midfielders in the game. Having said that I’d rather have Mascherano at Liverpool.

7. In fairness farmer it is a bit of a quantum leap to get from “Gattuso better than Gerrard” to “anti-EPL”. Having said that I do think there is an anti-EPL undercurrent on the forum and of course the purpose of the initial post was to wind up Liverpool fans. Had I not such disdain for Raven I’d do an analytical review of his posts to see how many are anti-Liverpool, anti-English etc.

8. Not interested.

9. Kinda depends on your interpretation of “better footballer” but I can’t fathom how anyone would think Gattuso is a better footballer than Gerrard. Thinking that Gattuso fits better into the Milan team than Gerrard would or that Gattuso is a more effective player is understandable, although I disagree with the latter point. The reason Gerrard doesn’t fit into the England team is because of who plays alongside him. Play Hargreaves in there and he’d excel. Won’t happen though. At Liverpool he has historically been played out of position too much. Seemingly he’s only going to be used as a central midfielder now. If Masherano were to play beside him all season they’d be awesome in midfield. I’d also make the point that Gerrard is only young but I think that extra bit of maturity is now in his game and I’m expecting him to be absolutly fantastic this season. As for not excelling at the nuts and bolts of midfield play, that’s a crazy statement. Gerrard can do everything. He’s scored in the UEFA Cup Final, FA Cup Final, CL Final and World Cup Finals. He’s captained a limited side to 2 of the last 3 CL finals. He’s only 27 (I think). One other point I’d make is that he wasn’t blessed with great managers in his formative years which is perhaps a factor in his sometimes ill-discipline in central midfield. Like I said, I think he has the requisite experience now.

him & lampard are much of a muchness as far as im concerned - lampard probably shades it has he has won the league a few times so he probaly is more effective in that he has more staying power

Post edited by: FingalRaven, at: 2007/09/06 12:04

i also think you are being slightly precious by saying Im anti epl - ill freely admit I dont like english football- so what- does it cloud my judgement on english players? im sure it does- doesnt make my judgements less valid, all im doing is coming at it from a differnt perspective
I dont think the epl is aesthically pleasing as spainish football or that the players are as technical as Italian football. Should I write off all farmers posts as being anti calcio?

FingalRaven wrote:

i also think you are being slightly precious by saying Im anti epl - ill freely admit I dont like english football- so what- does it cloud my judgement on english players? im sure it does- doesnt make my judgements less valid, all im doing is coming at it from a differnt perspective
I dont think the epl is aesthically pleasing as spainish football or that the players are as technical as Italian football. Should I write off all farmers posts as being anti calcio?

I agree. Farmer is precious.