The mid to late 90’s was an extraordinary time to be around, the underground dance music scene was exploding, the economy was taking off and the revolution years in hurling took hold. for young roasters from the likes of Clare and Offaly, this was the pinnacle of civilisation, it took me three attempts to pass first year engineering in cork such was the amount of ecstasy tablets I was consuming
And the advent of the bootcut.
I remember walking out of Páirc Uí Chaoimh as it was known then in 2000 after Tipp inflicted their first championship defeat since Nicky laughed in 1993, ending the Gerlock era. Tipperary fans like @johnnysachs and @peddlerscross cross with their chest out as the long walk into town commenced, the sun beating down coming down after a feed of cider and speed, we knew it was over that day.
Strutting their timberlands and fifties falling out of the arse pocket.
A classic Reeling in the Years there on the plus one. The Bertie Bowl, Foot and Mouth with the auld farmer saying tearfully that there wouldn’t be a sheep left in the country, the escapades of the Irish soccer team and 9/11. An iconic year.
Id like to see one of ye lads do a ranking on each year by ICONICNESS in a reeling in the years context
Id definitely rank 94 as #1.It was a sensational year.
And Mark O’Leary being very efficient
94 was an iconic one.
I had left my native Limerick to learn the trade in Deutchsland, after accepting that I would never wear the green & white in championship hurling. Timber Tom had brought me in for a trial but Joe O’Connor (father of Aidan) handed me my hoop outside in Bruff and that was it for Elvis.
A year of incredible experience in Stuttgart, Baden Wurtemberg. Pure Dinkel beer and the finest of buxom frauleins. Weekend trips to Prague, VIenna, Berlin, Budapest. The world was our lobster.
Trips home as Timber Tom got us flying to a Munster Championship and going all the way to an unlikely and ultimately heartbreaking All-Ireland final appearance. Poor Matty (RIP) suggested stopping the in “Mon Tayge” outside Portlaoise for a pint. The Sunday Game came on and we had it away on our toes. Ended up in Jerry’s of Daly’s Cross til about Tuesday.
We were young, we were free, kept our teeth nice and clean. A ceasefire was declared and a new hope was born. The burgeoning of a responsible life was both exciting and daunting. Steve Staunton sweltered in the heat of Orlando and we swilled in the side streets off the Konigstrasse. Myself, Quinn, Murphy and Gallagher - four shams and the truth.
On the final trip home I rekindled a schoolboy romance with a lovely Laurel Hill girl, way above my league and I stuck around. Herself and myself are still standing 31 years on.
94, a hell of a year.
Fantastic post ![]()
Great post Elvis! A 30 pluser for sure ![]()
Most
Least
Yeah just forget about the firat Sunday in September
As good as it gets. It would only be bettered id he’s made it up.
94 Would absolutely be up there along with 99 for me, as mentioned the former had the World Cup which along with the All Ireland were the first I can vividly recall.
After Ireland beat Italy there were dozens of local lads hopping around and chanting OLE OLE OLE outside the chipper of Tony Mosconis in Croom.
We were in our pomp in our domination of Eurovision, the birth of Riverdance and Rock ‘n’ Roll Kids, Ireland was finally showing itself as a proper country.
This is some footage. How un dressed-up the women were strikes you straight away.
By God. That’s a good one.
The Miseducation of Laurel Hill?
That was 95 ![]()
95 and 96 were my years
It’d take a flute like you. alright.
I never said the song was from 1994, I just quoted the line.