The narrative is certainly out there that he is the only one who can.
No it isn’t.
We were horrific in those matches. Did a bit better second half away to Switzerland but the Georgia game looked like a team just thrown out there and make it up as you go along. O’Neill was similar. Long ball by Duffy a major feature.
for the money he is on, probably. Who else would do it ?
Ronaldo’s knees were shaking like jelly after last nights match. He was frothing at the mouth. Our bunch of performatively stupid man-children having a laugh and shouting “fanny” at him reduced him to human rubble.
We won.
Assume that kid will on the late late show tonight
and all the angry lads will be frothing at the mouth with rage of a Friday night
Shur how bad if she is?
The last Ireland match I attended in person was Denmark 0 Ireland 0 in Copenhagen four years ago last night.
At the time it felt exciting in that you sort of felt to yourself “jaysus, we might actually qualify for the World Cup here”.
Looking back on it, and remembering the bluntness of the affable Danes I was talking to coming out of that match - “you’re fucking shit, you’re horrible, that’s not football”, it now feels like I was supporting a footballing version of ISIS, or Donald Trump, or a Talk Radio presenter telling everybody the Covid vaccines are useless, or C. Montgomery Burns trying to block out the sun. We were lowest common denominator neanderthals.
At least I don’t have to support that any more. At least we don’t.
He needed that hug.
“There there, Cristy, yis aren’t out of the World Cup yet.”
The Danes were horrendous to watch themselves until they got rid of Hareide
The narrative of how well Mick did v Denmark is back again. Poster in question totally forgetting what a transtormed team Denmark are now 2 years later.
Denmark hadn’t lost a game in close to 4 years under Hareide when his tenure ended. They were a very solid team for a very long time. Drew with France at the 2018 WC and were knocked out on penalties by Croatia. They mightn’t be pretty but were a very well organised and effective team
They mined a pure seam of footballing Brexitania at the 2018 World Cup.
And O’Neill’s Ireland still made them look like peak Barcelona in terms of style.
It was incredible how many really really drunk people were milling around Ringsend after the match. For that alone I think Kenny deserves a lot of credit.
What was the story with lads allowed carry drink back to their seats with them?
I didn’t think that was allowed?
There was some ‘devil may care attitude’ around the place.
It was always allowed at rugby matches there pre covid but I have never seen it allowed at a soccer match there. There was lads falling around the place drunk immediately after the match last night.
Wasn’t it non-alcoholic beer?
A load of lads pretending to be langersed after drinking heineken 0.0%