Republic of Ireland WNT - We're all part of Vera and Tony O'Donoghues Army

This episode is brilliant, another absolute load of wank for the permanently outraged twitter mob to latch onto

It’s elitist and class bashing is what it is. It was claps on the back and well done Paddy a few years back because of a rubby game played in Croke park… We matured and were welcomed into the Anglo tent as equals.

But soccer ball and the working class types that play it have shamed the nation with their display a couple of nights ago. How dare they open their mouths and express themselves how they see fit.

Leave it to your betters, ladies.

I’d agree with you fagan. Its not acceptable. Its why they were suitably contrite, apologised and we should all move on. I think its at the lower end of the scale of these transgressions though…
I think they were also spared the level of opprobrium that would have happened were it the mens team. Having said that, I’d gladly take a sectarian abuse scandal if it meant our men qualified for something.

The Wolfe Tones are no.1 in the Irish charts :rofl:

Poor old Fagan and Cheasty will be livid.

Up the RA ye cunts.

30 posts in this thread up to two days ago :cry:

You cant spell Irish charts without IRA

It looks like @Juhniallio is only working a half day. Good of him to take the afternoon off to deal with the pressing issue of the day.

Would you draw a clear distinction between the actions of the IRA pre 1923 and the IRA postj 1968 @Fagan_ODowd? Obviously the modern did more because the conflict went on longer but the old one did some pretty shit things.
I think there is a distinction between the attitudes of those in their 60s/70s (not sure are you in this bracket) and those in their 30s 40s on this. And another one again between the younger crew as outlined by una mullally.
I sang the bold fenian men at the Afters of my brother’s wedding to an English woman. In hindsight may not have been culturally sensitive seeing as the Fenians bombed and killed children in Britain but who knows.

I don’t think I need to draw that distinction here. The ‘RA is clearly the post 68 IRA. I never heard the old IRA referred to as the RA.

I’m on record here in liking some of the Wolfe Tones “early stuff”, so it won’t cost me a thought buddy.

I know that it definitely is. But I don’t think you’d disapprove of them singing broad black brimmer or galtee mountain boy or the likes would you?

Up the ra for young Irish people is what n*igga is for African Americans. It’s part of their everyday lexicon.

Whats Up Stare GIF by NBA

Isn’t the Euro vision in Glasgow next year? We need to send the lads over, twouldn’t do any harm

Your post basically amounts to “they’re a grand bunch of girls and they didn’t mean any offence”.

Whether they did or not is irrelevant. They glorified a terrorist organisation. That is not alright. Everybody knows it. The players themselves know it and their manager sure does.

The IRA were not validated by the Good Friday Agreement. They had to disband because of it.

The IRA committed numerous murders every bit as bad as the Michaela McAreavey one. They shot a census collector. They shot the daughter of a judge. They dragged a 15 year Catholic boy out of his school and murdered him. That boy was the son of one of the Ballymurphy victims and had a mental age of 8.

Of course the McAreavey song was malicious and weird. And Catholics sing songs which are just as bad and just as malicious and just as weird. Irish nationalism has a blind spot towards how it insults others in the same way Loyalism does and in the same way English nationalism and Russian nationalism and MAGAism do.

The truth of what happened doesn’t change. Every poster here that shrieks about the “perma-offended” should go and tell the families of the IRA’s victims that they are the “perma-offended”. Tell it to their face. They never do. Far easier to spout shite online about them. The victims and their families are merely a pesky inconvenience to this breed of Irish nationalism, no matter what background they come from. Irish nationalism doesn’t give a fuck about its victims and the online pile ons prove it. The victims are dirt to your average Shinnerbot.

The actual truth of what happened is more than enough to draw the line.

Your rationale is that the meaning of anything can be mendaciously changed and the evil thing it glorifies can be glorified unironically. That rationale is a carte blanche for a world where truth doesn’t matter a whit and nothing means anything any more. That’s the world the Russians have created and choreographed, where nothing is true and everything is possible.

Up the ra.

You conceded whatever argument you’re trying to make right there. You should have stopped there.

How were they “sworn enemies” didn’t the government of the Republic arm them?

I’m self employed Dan. Like yourself i can pop in and out when i like. I formulated the long post earlier while taking a shit. It’s therapuetic i suppose. I will be putting in a whopper work shift on Saturday, a massive day for us. Feel free to check on my posting then.
Mar fhocal scoir, i am fondly disposed towards the celtic symphony song. I once wrote a parody of it that i was delighted with.