Retiring GAA Stars tribute thread - May cause brain/neck damage

Fuck it Lee, you’d another year in you. They’ll probably win the All Ireland now

Here comes @Juhniallio with his yup yup up de dubs routine.

^^^

This.

gimme ciaran mcdonald over him any day of the week

NO THEY WON’T

FUCK MAYO

No, they’ll lose the final by a point and only wonder what would have happened if they’d Keegan available.

Surely the best not to win an All Ireland?

Good but no Dermot Earley.

Ah here, come off it now

He is one of the best without any caveats. If Mayo had one forward it wouldnt be a doubt.

He was better than Early.If he was born in Dublin or Kerry he’d have multiple All Ireland’s.His tussles with Dublin and Connolly in particular will be a highlight reel on Loachra Gael in time to come.

Auld fella often spoke of the brilliance of Early. And how on his final game for the sheep stealers he was carried off shoulder high by some mayo players.

Keegan is by a mile the best player Ive ever seen play for mayo. Lads comparing James McCarthy to him . A fine player but, :joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy:

He wasn’t better than Earley, Earley was a force of nature himself.
The same criteria applies - Earley would have been an automatic on any Kerry or Dublin team of the last 40 years.

He was the best leader in the most successful team ever… Knew what to do and when to do it to get Dublin over the line … unfortunately that Mayo team never had anyone who could do that , even though they had outstanding players like Keegan …

Outscored Dublin’s best forward in all Ireland finals. Outrageous stuff.

A savage, savage footballer.

Awful pity he got sent off in all
Ireland semi final in 2014 agin Kerry with the petulant kick … cost Mayo big time ,that all
Ireland was there for them …

Jack mccaffrey was better than James McCarthy

I’m sure we could name a dozen lads who would be well befitting of the honour of the greatest player never to win an All Ireland. But you’re into era’s and differing football styles etc. However I’d be confident a man such as Keegan could have held his own in any era up to now. Much in the same way as I’d be sure the likes of an Earley or Benny Coulter, Kevin Cassidy, Michael Meehan, Frank McGuigan, Mick Lawlor, Johnny Doyle etc.

Tommy Murphy deserves to be in the conversation