Careful now
I’d have Nicky over Eoin Kelly and Callanan.
I know its controversial but Callanan had it all. Pace, power, great in the air, magical wrists, eye for goal and a deadly finisher.
His freetaking wasn’t as reliable as Kelly but in almost every other department he was better.
Mick church was dead ordinary from I’ve seen back.
He’d a couple of very good seasons. A proper tight marker. I would rate Paul Delaney much higher though. A classy hurler
Paul ormonde was a much better corner back.
Than church? I’d agree there. Great player. Was unlucky with injuries.
Old school
He was sensational when he arrived on the scene.
Looking back, Tipp had a generational group of young lads arrive on the scene together.
Mick Church
Conal Bonnar
Declan Ryan
Leahy
Cleary
All of them were on the scene before Church though. All the rest played 89 final while Leahy and big Dec started in 88. Church didn’t play until 91 (interestingly I think he played senior football before that). That was some u21 team they had in 89 though. Cleary would have been a few years older than the rest.
They were still all under 24 tbf which was young for the day & age.
Bar Cleary! He was 25 by 91 final!
Kelly spent most of his career playing with absolute shite and was still putting up unreal scores.
He’d bate you on his own
I loved Eoin Kelly but I think that element of his career is overrated.
He was only playing on a terrible Tipp team for 3-4 years out of a 14 season long career.
Even in his pomp he could be held at times by Ollie Canning and Brian Murphy whereas Callanan was pretty much untouchable no matter what teams tried against him - Sweepers/Hatchetmen etc.
Apart from Richie Mc
He did score 14 points against KK in 2009
He often did the bollix
Yes his finest hour. And never missing a free in 4x All Ireland Finals is some going.
Callanan got 14 points in 2016 - 9 from play. He exercised his Richie McCarthy demons in 2015 destroying him until some hatchetman goalkeeper from Kilmallock tried to murder him.
Dont remember too many other players having to put up with the treatment Callanan got in terms of assassination attempts like Callanan got off from Tyrell, Hanbury and Hennessy over the years. I’m probably forgetting a few too.
Eoin Kelly was a good step above Seamie but he is like few others tbf
Seamie progressed steadily into a fabulous hurler. He arrived on the scene & lit it up.
His star faded after an intense arrival but he matured and excelled.
His leadership qualities improved as he became surrounded by equally driven lads which was most impressive imo.