Sounds like another desperate crash in Carlow. 4 people in early 20s, 3 dead, 1 critical.
Obviously very sad but very avoidable from what I hear.
Car went on fire too. Horrific scene for the guards, paramedics and the poor priest.
We had a similar thing happen in 94,a neighbour crashed with a car full of people into a tree right across the road from his house.The two people in the front passenger seat were killed and the car went on fire.Luickly one of the lads in the back got the rest of them out.The father of the driver woke up when he heard the crash and looked out to see a car on fire across the road not knowing his two sons were in the car.Horrific stuff.The same year that families house burned down when it was hit by lightning and the father fell off the roof while up examining the damage and broke his two arms
Ah Jesus.
Car crashes are shocking things in a community. A neighbour of mine at home lost his mother when he was 3 and his brother when he was 20 in separate crashes. Both shook my family and other neighbours.
He’s an alcoholic now alas.
I have a daughter here inconsolable. She was friends with the lass who died
The tragic incident happened at 11.30pm on Wednesday on the N80 at Leagh on the Wexford Road in Carlow.
The victims of Wednesday night’s crash were travelling in a red Lexus car with English registration plates.
Superintendent Anthony Farrell appealed for anyone who may have seen a car of this description between Ballon and Carlow town last night to contact investigators.
He said: “It’s believed that the driver of a red Lotus with an English registration plate lost control of the vehicle travelling towards Carlow town, impacting a tree.
“There is no indication yet as to what caused the crash. An Garda Siochana are exploring all avenues as part of this investigation and we make a media appeal for people who might have been on the Wexford Road area of the town.”
They were all car enthusiasts who used to meet regularly. The young girl was driving.
RIP
They’re a rough one. RIP.
It’s a notorious black spot.
Horrific incident. Look after your girl.
Was it an electric vehicle? Recent anecdotal evidence about electric cars going on fire after crashes would seem to me to suggest there’s a serious safety problem with these vehicles.
I know feck about the technical side of it and would be interested in any more informed view or any view to the contrary but it does seem to me there’s a problem.
This article suggests electric vehicles are not a particular fire risk. Is there a problem with lithium ion battery cars though, or locking mechanisms? What’s the difference between lithium ion battery cars and electric cars? Is there any?
No. A second hand Lexus saloon. Not electric
There were some highly unsubstantiated anecdotes around about electric cars locking the doors after a crash. I know this has happened with ICE cars in any case.
I think the danger with electrics is their acceleration tbh.
I presume you mean the one out your neck of the woods recently? I find them very discombobulating as a pedestrian. They have a very sinister sort of whirr off them, they’re almost silent and they sneak up behind you, like a shark. I don’t like them.
No, not that one especially. That was just awful.
The sister has an eup. It’s mighty.
Reports two young lads killed on the N69 just outside Askeaton tonight. Desperate stuff.
Single car?