From what Iāve read the Broad jump is a ridiculous drill for these lads to go through. Itās explained on the NFL website as so:
The broad jump is like being in gym class back in junior high school. Basically, it is testing an athleteās lower-body explosion and lower-body strength. The athlete starts out with a stance balanced and then he explodes out as far as he can. It tests explosion and balance, because he has to land without moving.
Tim Tebow used a different approach to the 40-yard dash. He walked up to the starting line about 10 minutes before his run, felt the turf with his hand, took a step in each direction to figure out where he wanted to begin, then moved back to the center of the field to continue preparing.
It was an interesting routine, one that no other quarterback went through Sunday at the NFL Scouting Combine. And it worked.
Tebow ran in 4.72 seconds, the fourth-best time among the 16 quarterbacks who participated in the 40.
The University of Florida standout not only demonstrated his outstanding speed, but he also showed he can be a cheerleader. He consistently stood off the line about 5 yards to the left and yelled encouragement to his fellow competitors.
Tebow is a freak, religious nutjob. Itās the one thing that I donāt like about the game. All this God bullshit is horrendous. Brees thank you to God after the Superbowl was funny though, more of a āI suppose I better thank yer man to placate the freaksā kind of thank you.
Hey Woody, would you be up for hitting Dallas next year for the Superbowl?
Iād need to see a map of the world before committing to something like that And Iāll probably have to go on a honeyomoon after Christmas too. So in theory yes. In reality I donāt think so
college football has each team getting the ball until one beats the other. the ball starts on the 25 yard line. it has unlimited OT periods, until the third period when you have to attempt 2 point conversions.
think its better than the NFL way to be honest. Iād like to se the stats, but whoever wins the coin toss will generally win. Realistically, they only need to move the ball 40 yards to win (average start on the 30, kickers in range at the opposite 30). so thats shite. game is basically decided on a coin toss.
Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger has been accused of sexual assaulting a woman early Friday morning at a club in Georgia.
TMZ was first to report the allegation.
The Milledgeville Police told ESPN a woman reported having been sexually assaulted or sexually manipulated by a white male, 6-foot-5, 241 pounds with brown hair and brown eyes, but would not confirm that man was Roethlisberger.
Roethlisbergerās agent in a statement confirmed the Steelers quarterback was questioned, but no charges have been filed.
āLast night, Ben and his friends met a group of women and everyone mingled together throughout the evening,ā said Ryan Tollner, Roethlisbergerās agent. āWe have spoken to law enforcement. Based on information currently available, an allegation was made against Ben, which appeared to be dismissed after a preliminary investigation last night. Obviously, given the prior accusation against Ben, we are skeptical of motive, but we will continue to cooperate with everyone involved.ā
A Steelers spokesman told ESPN: āWe are gathering information on the report and we will have no other comment at this time.ā
Roethlisberger, who owns a home in nearby Lake Oconee, Ga., is facing a civil lawsuit from Andrea McNulty, who claims he raped her in 2008 in Lake Tahoe, Nev. Roethlisberger has denied those allegations and no criminal charges were filed in that case.
I was meaning to post about Westbrook last week - sad to see him depart but itās probably the best decision in truth given his injury problems. I read before that running backs of 30 years or older statistically donāt put up the numbers that they did earlier in their careers. Heās not going to get any quicker and heās taking longer to recover from knocks so itās time to move on. Still, a magnificent Eagle all the same.
Chicago Bears sign:
[list]
[]Julius Peppers [Defensive Tackle from the Carolina Panthers]
[]Chester Taylor [Running Back from the Minnesota Vikings]
[*]Brandon Manumaleuna [Tight End from the San Diego Chargers]
[/list]
Detroit Lions Sign:
[list]
[]Nate Burleson [Wide receiver from the Seattle Seahawks]
[]Kyle Vanden Bosch [Defensive end from the Tennessee Titans]
[*]Corey Williams [Defensive Tackle from the Cleveland Browns]
[/list]
New York Jets Sign:
[list]
[*]Antonio Cromartie [Corner Back from San Diego Chargers]
[/list]
New York Giants Sign:
[list]
[*]Antrel Rolle [Safety from Arizona Cardinals]
[/list]
Releases:
[list]
[]New York Jets released running back Thomas Jones
[]Cincinatti Bengals released Wide Receiver Vern Coles
[*]Carolina Panthers released Quarterback Jack Delhomme
[/list]
Coming back for more:
[list]
[*]Indianapolis Colts re-sign linebacker Gary Brackett.
[/list]
Other deals that could be likely:
[list]
[]Jets may try resign RB Thomas Jones to a smaller contract
[]WR Vern Coles to contact the Jets looking for a job
[]LB Karlos Dansby likely to sign with the Dolphins from the Cardinals.
[]Seattle looking to sign WR Brandon Marshall from Denver.
[]Atlanta are looking to sign Texans cornerback Dunta Robinson
[]Saints LB Scott Fujita is meeting with the Cleveland Browns
[/list]
One thing that is clearā¦
With the Cardinals losing Warner to retiremant and losing Boldin, Rolle and most likely Dansby in free agency, it looks likely that the Cardinals will be fighting it out with the Rams at the basement on the NFC West next season.
The Bears have made some nice additions. Julius Peppers and Chester Taylor have a lot left. Taylor always did well when called upon for the Vikings and Peppers record speaks for itself.
The Lions made a nice move picking up Burleson and Vanden Bosch. Burleson is a tidy enough reciever who can easily put up 800 yards in a season. Vanden Bosch on the other hand has declined, probably because of big Albert not being around but heās got experience I suppose.
Big news is though that the Patiots have signed Vince Wilfork to a 5 year deal and Tully Banta-Cain to a 3 year. Boom!