Robbie Keane, Stan, the Late Late and the meedia

:sick: Was in Derry on Friday and missed Robbie on the Late Late, but I heard it was an interview that would have confirmed most of what I always suspected about this (talented) waster.

Nicked from the Fiver:

SUNSHINE! MOONLIGHT! GOOD TIMES! MEDIA!
The Late Late Show is a weekly chat show that’s been running on Irish television for over 352 years. It is hosted by what appears to be a cardboard cut-out named Pat Kenny, who plumbs depths of obsequiousness that make even the sycophantic Michael Parkinson look like a member of the Spanish Inquisition. Last Friday night, it was the turn of Robbie Keane to chew the fat with Kenny. As is customary when Ireland’s record goalscorer finds himself in a one-on-one, he failed to hit the target.

“The media are trying to get the fans against us,” he whined, simultaneously crediting his team’s long-suffering fans with very little intelligence and suggesting it’s somehow the Fiver’s fault that he’s firing more blanks than Boycie from Only Fools and Horses. And while we struggled to recall which of our press-box colleagues was responsible for appointing Stan “Steve” Staunton as Ireland’s manager, or how many hacks from The Theme-Pub Times played in green when Cyprus walloped Ireland 5-2, Keane continued his rant. “I’m worried about the next generation of young players coming through and the desire they have to come over to play for Ireland. From the minute they come over on the Tuesday to the game on Saturday, they’re getting hammered and that can’t be good for Irish football.”

That’s getting “hammered” by the media, as opposed to Robbie’s forte: getting “hammered” in Dublin nightclubs during the build-up to a very important match against France. That probably can’t be good for Irish football either, but as Robbie failed to mention it at the weekend, we can only assume the media were to blame for that too.

Staunton is expected to lose his job tomorrow when the FAI holds an emergency board meeting to figure out a way of blaming the weather, the media … basically anyone but themselves for the disastrous appointment of a “world-class” boss whose management experience was restricted to handing out bibs for Paul Merson at Walsall. “I’m the boss. I’m the gaffer. At the end of the day what I say goes, the buck stops with me,” said Staunton on his appointment. The buck shouldn’t stop exclusively with him, but tomorrow it almost certainly will.

:sick: :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick: :sick:

Good read that (as often the case with the Fiver). In a similar vein:

Robbie: don’t blame the messenger
Tom Humphries

Locker Room : Robbie Keane. Robbie Keane. You crazy, mixed-up kid. What were you thinking jetting across to lecture the confused peasantry on the insidious evils lurking within the media?

Lawdee. We can accept that the media’s embarrassing failure to qualify the country for next summer’s European Championship finals is something you might well take personally, Robbie. Still. That doesn’t make you Marshall McLuhan.

And we can only imagine how deeply you must resent the fourth estate’s tendency in recent years to score goals only against very poor teams. But your deconstruction of the media-celebrity-football matrix lacks clarity, Robbie.

Listen. We hacks may be the lowest form of life you can imagine, but we are at least a couple of evolutionary stages beyond being your publicists. If you ever give us a second glance you might notice how few of us actually wear cheerleaders’ skirts and tassels while we work.

Jimmy Cannon, a crusty old sportswriter who didn’t know how to pull a punch, used to say that sportswriting survives because of the guys who don’t cheer. Sportswriting just about survives in this country and a lot of the time we do actually cheer. But, Robbie, we have nothing to be cheering about.

The cheering thing was a theme Jimmy Cannon felt strongly about.

“I don’t want sportswriters being fans,” he wrote about the baseball beat. “I want them to be the guys who neither love nor hate the sport and whose life is not wrapped up in the sport and who remember they are working newspapermen and not baseball people.”

We’ve all done plenty of cheering for you, Robbie. In the good times maybe you mistook us for fans. That’s the cheering that got you boot deals and endorsement contracts and made you a very wealthy young man.

There’s been so much cheering done for you that it’s just about possible to understand how you would mistake journalists for publicists and come to resent the sudden withdrawal of fondling and fawning when times go bad.

You know well how it worked. You once - amusingly, I thought - refused to attend a press conference because your agent hadn’t been given final approval on an Evening Herald article. The article in question made you out to be a cross between Mother Teresa and Pele and was actually a puff piece arranged by your boot sponsors, whose name and logo figured prominently across the two pages.

Still, great and fearful was your sulky wrath.

You know how these things are. The same agent once responded to an interview request with you by inviting me to fly to England, where he would arrange a five-minute slot with you.

I genuinely thought he was joking, Robbie, but he said that, no, you were very busy being a footballer and all that. I could take it or leave it. So I left it.

We’ve done longer interviews since and they have been grand and whatever they provided for the newspaper those interviews gave you a chance to transmit some of your personality to the Irish soccer public; they gave the people who buy the boots and the tickets and the jerseys some idea of what kind of a fellow Robbie Keane is.

That is good for everyone when it comes to creating a bond between players and public. That sort of exposure has meant that in good times you are feted and in bad times generally, Robbie, you are forgiven. People feel they know Robbie Keane.

It’s not so long ago, for instance - just two years, in fact - that in the run-up to a huge game against France your own preparations for that match involved a night of karaoke till the small hours in the local and then a prolonged occupation of Lillies Bordello till the early hours the following night.

Good luck to you, but before you lecture us about how we are all in the same boat and all want the same thing you might stop to think about how short-changed the paying punter felt. Same boat? Some of us seem to be rowing harder than some other people in the boat, Robbie.

One of the many failures of the regime presided over by your old friend “Stan” has been the whole media-relations thing. Back in the Mansion House when “Stan” was launched by John Delaney (who, we now realise, was doing so only because his wife and children were being held at gunpoint somewhere else) there was much brave talk from “Stan” and his Uncle Bobby about how the media were going to be co-opted into the deal and we’d all be just a part of Stevo’s Army.

That was kind of off-putting right from the start - being patronised and told how we’d soon be all on the payroll working as shills in the brave new world. But we have seen regimes come and go and we shrugged and got on with it.

Of course it took one bad result for the shutters to come down and for the team and management to adopt a policy of speaking only through gritted teeth.

It’s not really of any interest to the general peasantry how the media are treated by the Irish team, but it should be. The media are merely the instrument through which players communicate with the people who pay their wages and puff their egos.

It doesn’t really matter if the team find us all to be a lowdown bunch of scurvy curs; the bigger picture is that if you want to communicate with the general public it is much easier to do it through expressing yourself reasonably in interviews than indulging in epic sulks or performing in a string of karaoke nights.

That’s why when you wanted to get your pouty message across you decided to get your face onto the Late Late Show on Friday night.

Ah, Robbie. When you ban the media from setting foot in the team hotel, when your manager gets everybody to drive to Malahide and then gives 20-second press conferences the bulk of which are composed of silences, when players are pulled from one-on-one interviews at the last minute, when the team and officials sit at the front of the plane eating hot food while the common hackery look on starving - when all these things happen it’s best that the team perform with a passion and an excellence that bowls us all over because there isn’t going to be much goodwill left in the media.

And funny enough, there is going to be less goodwill left among a general public who feel not only that they don’t know the current team but also that the side offer very little that can be identified with.

In that regard it was nothing short of hilarious to hear Steve Staunton respond to a question about the team’s isolation from the public by stating that ye go for walks on the beach, and sometimes go to Malahide. Brilliant!

The media are not perfect. Sometimes criticisms are excessive. On the other hand, the rewards at your end are always excessive so it balances out.

All the media ask and the general public ask is that the team prepares as well as is humanly possible and gives the green jersey as much as is humanly possible.

Not speaking to the media is petulant and childish. Not because we are so charming that you are missing out on the chance to become better people just by mixing with us, but because you leave a vacuum to be filled.

On the day before the Germany match, for instance, the FAI nixed an interview this paper had arranged with Stephen Hunt, who was ineligible to play against Germany but was perfectly happy to be interviewed. So the space had to be filled with a critical piece about the current regime.

That’s not ideal for anyone, but the space unfilled by the meagre harvest from sulky press conferences and nixed interviews always gets filled by analysis pieces and critiques, and without the need on the part of the media to maintain the lifeline of access the pieces get more and more robust.

Robbie, it wasn’t actually the media who were booing you in Croke Park last week. It was the people who pay your wages. They felt they had been short-changed. And they were right.

And seeing you on the Late Late asserting that people booed because of what they read in the paper overestimates the power of the media and underestimates the intelligence of the fan.

We, fans and hacks, all have jobs to do, real worries and mortgages and pressures. You are our distraction. You live the life, you score the goals, you wear the green. We’re sorry if you think that we have all let you down, but now you know how we’ve been feeling.

the Irish media is a disgrace in fairness - not one paper worthreading
cant stand that fat humhries

FingalRaven wrote:

the Irish media is a disgrace in fairness - not one paper worthreading
cant stand that fat paedo humhries

Aah poor deluded Raven. Locked in your Seaside Ivory tower casting shots at that brave warrior of truth Tom Humphries.
Some say he cut his teeth on the Northside People.

Re:Robbie Keane, Stan, the Late Late and the meedi

Juhniallio wrote:

FingalRaven wrote:

[quote]the Irish media is a disgrace in fairness - not one paper worthreading
cant stand that fat humhries

Aah poor deluded Raven. Locked in your Seaside Ivory tower casting shots at that brave warrior of truth Tom Humphries.
Some say he cut his teeth on the Northside People.[/quote]

that fat sat beside me on a plane before- I got upgraded to first class- got window seat- spare seat in the middle- looking forward to a paper & a full irish & then next of all this sweaty stinking munter sits down beside me, all of sudden i was crushed into the window, if i wa spaying for the flight id defo put in a complaint, im sure people have- this obnoxious should buy 2 seats in future- its only fair on the rest of passenegers-
a vile vile

Maybe you should retract certain descriptions of Mr Humphries there Raven?

Check this:

Warning to abusive bloggers as judge tells site to reveal names
Football fans may face expensive libel claims
Defamation lawyers see growth area in cyberspace

Clare Dyer, legal editor The Guardian Monday October 22 2007

Disgruntled fans of Sheffield Wednesday who vented their dissatisfaction with the football club’s bigwigs in anonymous internet postings may face expensive libel claims after the chairman, chief executive and five directors won a high-court ruling last week forcing the owner of a website to reveal their identity.

The case, featuring the website owlstalk.co.uk, is the second within days to highlight the danger of assuming that the apparent cloak of anonymity gives users of internet forums and chatrooms carte blanche to say whatever they like.

In another high court case last week, John Finn, owner of the Sunderland property firm Pallion Housing, admitted just before he was due to be cross-examined that he was responsible for a website hosting a scurrilous internet campaign about a rival housing organisation, Gentoo Group, its employees and owner, Peter Walls.

Exposing the identity of those who post damaging lies in cyberspace is a growth area for libel lawyers.

Dan Tench, of Olswang, the law firm representing Gentoo, said: “This case illustrates an increasingly important legal issue: proving who is responsible for the publication of anonymous material on the internet. This is likely to be a significant issue in defamation cases in the future.”

The website Dadsplace, set up to campaign against perceived injustices in the family courts, had a forum where anonymous postings made various accusations against Gentoo, Mr Walls and his staff.

Those posting the comments went to considerable lengths to hide their identity, and Gentoo’s lawyers ran up a bill estimated to be about 300,000 - which Mr Finn will now have to pick up, along with any damages awarded - taking the case to court and amassing circumstantial evidence that he was behind the website.

Revealing the Sheffield Wednesday fans was comparatively easy since there was no secret about the website owner. The next move was to apply for a court order requiring him to reveal the identities of “Halfpint” and the other fans behind what the club’s lawyers described as a “sustained campaign of vilification”. Fans made serious allegations against the club’s chairman, Dave Allen, and directors and shareholders.

The club’s lawyers asked the judge, Richard Parkes QC, to order disclosure about the identity of 11 fans.

But the judge decided some fans, whose postings were merely “abusive” or likely to be understood as jokes, should keep their anonymity.

The judge ordered that three fans whose postings might “reasonably be understood to allege greed, selfishness, untrustworthiness and dishonest behaviour”, should be unmasked. Their right to maintain their anonymity and express themselves freely was outweighed by the directors’ entitlement to take action to protect their reputation, he said.

Court orders obliging websites to disclose the identity of users posting anonymous defamatory remarks began in 2001.

Dominic Bray, of K&L Gates, Sheffield Wednesday’s solicitors, said: “There seem to be quite a lot of websites that are using their anonymity to make comments about people and think that there shouldn’t be any liability for it. But the internet is no different to any other place of publication, and if somebody is making defamatory comments about people then they should be held responsible for it. What these cases do is just confirm that’s the law - the law applies to the internet as much as it does to anything else.”

Clever Raven. You’re a wily old fox, like when you hacked down that attacker for the good of the team the other day. http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif

On the actual topic, I have a bit of time for Robbie Keane but blaming the media for the inept Irish performances is plainly insane.

dont think he was blaming the media- he was saying that the media have a negative attitude towards the team & some of the younger players feel it. this affects their mind frame going into a game

I think the negative attitude comes after poor results. If they produced half decent performances and looked like they’d any semblance of a clue then the media reports would reflect that. If you produce scheidt then it’s hardly a surprise that the media comment on it.

true - but the sometimes the press has an agenda - 55,000 to see Ireland play cyprus is a great crowd yet the media were saying it was shit
they hounded mccarthy & kerr out & right from the start some of the negative attitudes to staunton were ott & personal - in certain quaters he was hammered because of his accent-

I caught the re-run of the Keane interview on the Late Late last night. :shock:

As I’ve always said, he’s a scummy fook. Scum scum scum! I hate the coont.

Apparently the fans are being turned against the team by the “meedea”. Of course its nothing to do with the disastrous performances of the team and the fact that the team is being led by a totally inept man, calling him a manager would be folly on my part.

Another thing is he doesnt even seem to keep himself informed of what is being said in the irish “meedea”. It seems to me he doesnt know what the pundits have being saying or whats in the papers. He said a couple of times he couldnt comment because he wasn’t aware of what was being said and yet he still placed blame on the “meedea”.

Idiotic waste of space.http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif

FingalRaven wrote:

true - but the sometimes the press has an agenda - 55,000 to see Ireland play cyprus is a great crowd yet the media were saying it was shit
they hounded mccarthy & kerr out & right from the start some of the negative attitudes to staunton were ott & personal - in certain quaters he was hammered because of his accent-

It was a woeful attendance considering the number of tickets that had been sold. Plenty of people bought tickets and didn’t bother showing up. That’s an embarrassment.

What the media opinions and McCarthy and Kerr were are irrelevant. Neither of them were hounded out though, McCarthy was doomed by the Keane incident because it defined him for too many people. Kerr was the victim of an orchestrated campaign by Delaney to replace him. (This is your beloved Delaney by the way Raven).

Attitudes to Staunton have not been over the top. He is without doubt unqualified, far too inexperienced, hugely ineffective and massively out of his depth. He has failed. Miserably. And the team have failed. Miserably. The media reflect this. They’re not there to lend their support, they’re there to comment on the state of Irish soccer. Which (from an international point of view) is utterly miserable.

the team have done ok- finishing 3rd would be ok - performances dont inspire though the czechs & germans are way better than us
55k to see Cyprus is a remarkable attendance & if 15k bought tickets & didnt turn up then the FAI deserve credit for their ticketing policies

So if the FAI deserve credit for their ticketing policies that reflects positively on Staunton and negatively on the media how exactly?

That Czech side is brutal and the team have not done “ok” - far from it.

sold 70,000 tickets for a game vs cyprus - thats very good by the FAI
czech side is good - some top players- rosiscky jankulowski - we dont have any in that class

Getting thoroughly outplayed by Cyprus home and away is way worse than ‘ok’. It’s incredibly inept.

McGeady outplayed Jankulovski at Celtic Park the other week. He’s a reasonably talented full back going forward, but he’s not much of a defender when you run at him. Even Pennant got the better of him in the CL final, he just couldn’t cross the ball to save his life.

Rosicky is a decent player but he’s not especially gifted or anything. It’s an ageing and ineffective Czech team and we haven’t even threatened them.

Why are you changing the topic from defending Staunton to defending the FAI? The crowd didn’t turn up for the Cyprus game - that’s a criticism of Staunton’s team. FAI marketing is irrelevant. Try and keep up with the debate.

Whatever about Germany, the Czechs were there for the taking, without doubt.

55k is a great attendance for a Cyprus game
Jankulowski got the better of Mcgeady twice in recent months.