Roughest pub you've ever been in

there was no metal detectors any night i was there anyway. not saying there might not have been in the past. brixton is just around the corner and some of the edgy/cool bars there have metal detectors on the way in alright.

adare , landed gentry stock sure its all the one :smiley:

im trying to think of some rough pubs i was in in the UK. Wetherspoons in Birmingham was full of scobes when I was there alright. I tend to get on alright with scumbags for some reason.

Thinly veiled “I get on well with scumbags because i am weak and they see me as no threat” post from KIB Man there…

Wasn’t in it but I gazed from across the street at the Lauden in Glasgow. Didn’t seem like the nicest spot.

Was in a few roughish spots in Oz but I thought the Cock and Bull in Bondi was the scummiest. Was only in there a couple of times as I didn’t like the atmosphere. There’s a fully open window round the front of it. Couple of my mates saw a lad throw another lad out that window while they were fighting. Yer man landed on his head and was knocked out. And the other chap hopped out after him, maced his wallet and walked off. Then everybody just got back to their pints and left the fella on the ground outside.

ah he was probably just english.

cock and bull is far from rough.

Yeah I don’t think it’s considered that rough. I found it so though. No problem with Tea Gardens or Scruffys or Courthouse or any other pubs there really.

i would have said it was basically the exact same crowd that frequents all of them. anyway i was never in any of them more than twice thankfully.

Some lad told me he was going to stab me in the Royal Hotel near Bondi one night. It’s the same spot that lad from Cork got the bad beating outside.

Few pubs in Limerick city Ireland no longer open
Ma reilleys parnell street ran by a few brothers one called tank all very big men used to throw customers down stone stairs out on to laneway eventually fellow killed here pub closed after that we use to say Bruce lee at his best would think twice about going there.Another pub near Southill called the galvone arms fights on a regular basis if you werent known be in trouble.Another pub near Southill called the Steering Wheel paddy Wagon used to be parked outside waiting for trouble pub was dog rough.

There is a guy who posts here that knows the Steering Wheel well

I don’t think he ever got in the door

He turned the other way i believe

Tank from Mungret? Thought he was just the bouncer?

I arrived into the Padraig Pearse in Dublin the night that Paisley died. I was saddened to see that there was no reference to the passing only a bunch of young scumbags playing pool and flouting the no smoking rules. I was offered drugs, I turned it down and made my wake to the jacks. It only dawned on me afterwards that I could well have been robbed in there and it was an unwise thing to have done but thankfully nothing happened.

I used to frequent an earlyhouse on Moore St called Trader John’s many moons ago. The bartender ended up taking on the lease on the Deer’s Head on Parnell St, and the Windjammer I believe after that. It was populated by thieves, some who’d shoplift around town who’d come in and shift their wares afterwards, and those who traded in other illegal industries. I remember a character and his group one early afternoon who were celebrating what was rumoured to be a cash-in-transit robbery on the teletext/aertel newspage they demanded to leave on the pub TV whilst he sang Sinatra’s ‘My Way’ whilst intermittently stopping to powder his nose from a tin full of an unconfirmed white substance. A chaotic shop, at times. Fighting was not that common, as most people knew better.

I was in there a few times years and years ago. When I used to travel up to see Waterford United play we used to go in there for some reason. Was near the ground I think. Looked rough but the locals were sound to us and we never experienced any issues at all.

Same happened in the towers on the few occasions we were in there
They’d flog their aunties

The most important time to stay quiet about a coup is afterwards, these lads never understand that. It’s like the Monk now, tipping around Dublin. They are sensation seeking, too much so.

Trying to square this post away with your lament about the bondages women have suffered under the big bad patriarchy …

You would miss @The_Dunph readimg back on threads like this. Shame what happened to him