Stopped in Tipp town one day with a few lads from college, on the way home from a 21st. Strolled into some place on the main st. about one o’clock in the day. The sickest shower of cunts that were ever seen. Lads in Celtic Jerseys and tracksuit bottoms. Straight over then asking questions, scabbing fags, giving us shit etc. Didn’t stop for long.
The Spotted Dog in Limerick. Some serious clients in that spot. Was there with a local so it was grand. Great craic actually. Fair rough though, saw three or four rows and a few pint bottles thrown.
Been in a few rough spots around West Limerick, North Kerry. Minstrels in Tralee comes to mind. Davey Manns Knacker Nest in Rathkeale aswell. Askeaton would probably seem rough enough if you weren’t from there I suppose.
Went into a place up in Killester one night at the back of a housing estate.
It was all boarded up at the front with a steel grill over the door. I think it was called The Ramble Inn, went in ordered a drink, went to the jacks, straight away a fella followed me into the jacks asking me who I was, what did I do, was I cop? He was being real pally but in the type of way you felt he could knife you in a flash. Had one more drink and left, plenty of jeering from the table your man was sitting it as we were leaving. I’d say they were convinced we were cops.
Some bloke was shot dead outside the pub a week later.
Its about roughness though, not feeling threatened.
I’ve been to a few in Dublin, the Windjammer, rough, but great craic.
Another one on the quay by the back of Guinness, can’t think of the name. A few female friends of ours got talking to some of the scummiest fuckers i’ve ever met, they were grand though.
Place in Ballyer, might have been called Fitzgeralds 51? No natural light and a lad came in on a horse when I was there one Sunday morning. The owner asked him to leave mind you, so maybe it wasn’t all that rough.
although not strictly a pub the yacht club in malahide gets a lot of out of towners around regatta time - as there are so many competitors in the bar the atmosphere gets quite tense
Not sure that would count as a “rough” pub mate, but nice try. You just wouldnt seem to have the experience for this thread it seems. Not a bad complaint mind.