RTE Sport

No,that’s not due to RTE, that’s just due to them being arseholes.

Can you repeat/explain fully the last sentence?

[quote=“Georgy Comerford”]Dead right, RTE will happily show any shite soccer or rugby game they can get but don’t work too hard on the other sports, if they had the chance to show the cycling and the cricket they should have.
.[/quote]

Thats bullshit about the rugby anyways. Five 6 N games, maybe 3 autumn internationals and max 5 club games a season is all RTE show live. As a result I forked out about 60 quid a month for Sky and Setanta last season to watch HEC/Mag Lge.

They would get very strong viewing figures for the Mag Lge if they showed it.

[quote=“hbv*”]iv never watched the premiership and agree its a waste but in your original post you lamented rte not showing some cricket match, the cycling and the irish soccer teams in europe who only attract a couple of thousand to their home games.

I would like the captains prize at limerick golf club televised but at the end of the day rte need to balance the books.[/quote]

lol :clap:

They could just have stuck it on TG4

fuck off carter you gimp

[quote=“dancarter”]Thats bullshit about the rugby anyways. Five 6 N games, maybe 3 autumn internationals and max 5 club games a season is all RTE show live. As a result I forked out about 60 quid a month for Sky and Setanta last season to watch HEC/Mag Lge.

They would get very strong viewing figures for the Mag Lge if they showed it.[/quote]

Speaking of Setanta, the fact that they retain the Magner’s League will probably be the only reason pubs retain it. The only other thing of note they’ve kept is the exclusive Irish rights to EPL 3pm Saturday games. However, Sky and ESPN will have the pick of what to show each weekend so Setanta will never have a Manchester United vs Chelsea or something. It’ll be more like what they had last Saturday with a Wigan vs Manchester United. Setanta Ireland is free on the normal NTL package so they’re moving the rugby and EPL to Setanta Sports 1 to ensure people fork out.

Good debate here. Think RTE do a good job of the sports that they show. Would definitely agree there is too much soccer on though in comparison to other sports. When the CL is on there is 4/5 hours of it on RTE 2 each night.

Another sport not mentioned is Racing. RTE show v little racing now in comparison to years ago when at least Sports Stadium would have racing every saturday. Im sure it would cost fook all just to buy the feed off C4 or someone. And it is a good filler for saturday afternoons when there isnt much else on.

Think RTE missed a trick with the Mag Lge as well. Granted I tend to know more rugby folk than anything else but everyone I know that has setanta has got it for the Mag Lge games. Id say they would have jumped at getting it on terrestrial TV. Would have said they would have been v cheap as well. Show one of the Irish provinces each weekend and a magazine show in the MNS slot on a Monday night

Yeah see my post just there. Think they are leaving the rugby on Setanta Ireland to be fair, I actually only saw it today when I was looking at the fixtures.

http://www.magnersleague.com/matchcentre/fixtures_list.php

[quote=“dancarter”]Good debate here. Think RTE do a good job of the sports that they show. Would definitely agree there is too much soccer on though in comparison to other sports. When the CL is on there is 4/5 hours of it on RTE 2 each night.

Another sport not mentioned is Racing. RTE show v little racing now in comparison to years ago when at least Sports Stadium would have racing every saturday. Im sure it would cost fook all just to buy the feed off C4 or someone. And it is a good filler for saturday afternoons when there isnt much else on.

Think RTE missed a trick with the Mag Lge as well. Granted I tend to know more rugby folk than anything else but everyone I know that has setanta has got it for the Mag Lge games. Id say they would have jumped at getting it on terrestrial TV. Would have said they would have been v cheap as well. Show one of the Irish provinces each weekend and a magazine show in the MNS slot on a Monday night[/quote]

i thought i told you to fuck off carter you gimp

There is only one gimp around here NCC, and everyone knows who it is.

[quote=“dancarter”]Yeah see my post just there. Think they are leaving the rugby on Setanta Ireland to be fair, I actually only saw it today when I was looking at the fixtures.

http://www.magnersleague.com/matchcentre/fixtures_list.php[/quote]

Not sure if that’s definite, dan. Setanta (Ir) could just mean it’s available to Setanta viewers in Ireland, but on Setanta Sports 1. A mate of mine was trying to organise getting in the different packages for the season ahead for the pub he works in and he told me the rugby football will be moving to Setanta Sports 1. Obviously, he could very well be wrong himself.

MMmmmmmmm, never thought of that, could be a kick in the stones. I actually checked it and rang and cancelled my Setanta sub on the back of it. Makes sense that they wouldnt give it away for free alright but loads of them games were on it last year.

Oi oi, you can have Tuesdays

Would you actually watch a game involving, say, a Welsh team against a Scottish team? I’d imagine you’d be at the Munster games…

Personally, I don’t think there’s a significant general interest in rugby football in Ireland. People are into Ireland and the provincial brands in ever increasing numbers but in terms of watching a European Cup quarter final between Cardiff and Perpignan or something, then I don’t think the interest is widespread at all, never mind a Magner’s League game between Edinburgh and Newport/Gwent.

Dare I say*, lots of the mongs who follow Munster and Leinster do so largely for the social aspect, especially the sheer amount of birds to be found out in groups for a ‘big rugby football occasion’, if that’s not a contradiction in terms. Because rugby football is utter shit.

• I did say it in the end.

I live in Dublin and Munster play away from home every second week so I only see them in 5/6 games of the season. I see Leinster more if the truth be told. There are games Fri/Sat and Sunday as well so I do watch a shit load of it. Good betting medium too. I would watch a game between a Welsh and Scots team alright but I would guess I am in the minority on that alright

I got in contact with RTE and got the following response from Ryle Nugent:

Many thanks for your mail. I appreciate your positive comment and fully understand most of your frustration. I will explain the reasoning with regards to points below, but before I do so, I need to reiterate what I know you understand – we have had to make significant cut backs in the current economic climate. In addition, it is necessary to point out that we are not a sports channel. There are many licence fee payers who believe that we already offer too much sport (I disagree with that perspective!). We are consistently competing with the other genres and departments within this organisation for funding. In short, the budgets available only stretch so far and our effort is to provide a wide and varied portfolio of national and international competition of interest to the Irish audience.

Now to answer your direct points/criticisms.

The Tour of Ireland was only offered as a highlights event in this territory.

The Ireland cricket match against England would have cost considerable sums to produce and would require an entire channel for the day us to broadcast, neither resource was available.

RTE’s commitment to the League of Ireland and their teams is not, in my opinion, questionable. In addition to 13 live matches this season; we produce a prime-time highlights show (MNS) with a camera at every game. In the coming years our live out put will increase. In order to show the European games RTE would have had to provide rights fees for every game shown (home & away) and provide outside broadcast facilities for the home matches. This total would have been a significant sum that we simply did not have.

The Confederations Cup was a contractual obligation for all broadcasters who acquired the rights to next years World Cup. It is our policy to send commentators to all live broadcasts. It is not feasible for them to do their jobs on live programming in any other manner.

The English Premier League is of significant interest to many sports/soccer fans in this country. In addition many of Ireland’s top international players ply their trade in the League. I fully accept that it might not be your chosen viewing but it is for many thousands on a weekly basis. That is our reason for providing the highlights programme and will continue to be so.

TV Sport has no control over the News Dept and their bulletins. I was away on leave at that particular time and cannot give you a clear understanding as to why the St Pat’s match was dealt with in the manner you outline. I will pass this reply to Declan McBennett who heads up the news sport area and ask him to reply on that issue.

I hope all the above will give you an understanding if not alleviate your annoyance/frustration on the issues you raise. I would like to add that we here in RTE TV Sport are anxious to provide as comprehensive a package of sports events as possible for the audience. We attempt to do so but finance, availability of rights and the significance and timing of events all come into play and we are forced to make choices. I would like to think that mostly we get it right.

Kind Regards,

Ryle

Fair play to Ryle for responding, he makes some decent points.

I was meaning to mention the Confederations Cup point. It was my understanding, and he seems to have confirmed it, that this is sold by FIFA as part of the World Cup rights package. The cunts probably argue that the Confederations Cup is a valuable event is its own right and demand more for the overall package from broadcasters worldwide as a result.

I imagine it’s similar with UEFA and the Super Cup, which they’re showing this weekend.

[quote=“Bandage”]Fair play to Ryle for responding, he makes some decent points.

I was meaning to mention the Confederations Cup point. It was my understanding, and he seems to have confirmed it, that this is sold by FIFA as part of the World Cup rights package. The cunts probably argue that the Confederations Cup is a valuable event is its own right and demand more for the overall package from broadcasters worldwide as a result.

I imagine it’s similar with UEFA and the Super Cup, which they’re showing this weekend.[/quote]

That’s all well and good, but there is no reason why in the current climate, RTE employees shouldn’t shoulder a bit more responsibility in order to cut costs - they do say that they are committed to cutting costs.

So why not have the commentator and co-commentator presenting the programme from pitchside a few minutes before KO? Do we really need the full treatment, not to mention the rumours doing the rounds of the lavish expenses?

Yeah think you’re right on the Super Cup too Bandage.

I know there’s a recession on and everything but in the digital age it’s a bit of a shamles that RT don’t have an RT extra station on digital. Could show reruns of popular programmes and then be a valuable outlet during World Cups etc to switch programmes around.

Confederations Cup isn’t important enough to disrupt all their scheduling, stick it on RT Breise and it’ll take up no more room. Extra station would cost fuck all to run if it’s mainly repeats and there’s enough home generated content to fill it up anyway with Reeling in the Years, some +1 hour programming etc.

They won’t do it now but it would get rid of half their problems for not broadcasting more sport. In fairness as others have said they generally cover sport very well, it’s just the money they’ve thrown at certain events (the EPL in particular, Forumla 1 back in the day) that’s questionable. And the most worrying part is how that seems to influence their news agenda.