Rugby World Cup 2019 - Ireland shit the pot all over again

From boards

The haka

Quote:

Originally Posted by Strazdas View Post

Thatā€™s one hell of an atmosphereā€¦weā€™ve never heard the Fields of Athenry during the Haka ever

I guess part of the haka objective is to intimidate the opposition. This is potentially most effective by the opposite team LOOKING straight at the haka being performed , with their hands down by their sides almost, while giving their full concentration as to what they being performed in front of them.
I was so thrilled to see the fans singing ā€˜The Fieldsā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€”-ā€˜. It really took the STING out of whatever the performance of the haka was trying to achieve.
A SUGESTION
When the late Anthony Foley passed away the Irish team, in their next match, formed a figure of 8 at the start of the match in his honor.
Maybe Joe Smit would not be let back into NZ if he did something to counteract the Haka. The new management now have an opportunity to come up with something WHEN PLAYING NZ IN THE FUTURE.
So what about the fig of 8 being formed and slowly walking while maintaining the figure while contemplating AF fighting to the end attitude.
What a counterpoint if the above or something was performed while the fans were in full flight with ā€˜The Fields ā€”ā€”ā€”ā€˜

Is there any Boardie out there - and who has got an ear in the inner circle- share the thought with it.
All traditions had a start date and the haka is no exception - so there was a time when the haka was not a tradition. So what is wrong with Ireland starting something that can become traditional

Riverdance?

Cc: of @tallback

Way more dramatic. Swung both ways. Down to the last kick of the game. Odds ion Spurs were astronomical at ht. Liverpool were heavy odds on favourites before the tie v Roma and unbackable by about 10minss in.

So youā€™re now talking about drama, not standard

Drama is very much in the eye of the beholder

I would say both ties were dramatic, but Liverpool v Roma had more drama throughout - the first three quarters of the Ajax v Tottenham tie were not dramatic at all

Liverpool and Roma swung both ways too, Liverpool were far ahead and then Roma came back, a team doesnā€™t have to actually take the lead for things to swing

There were 13 goals in the tie and it also went down to the last kick

But apparently thatā€™s not drama, or something

https://www.google.com/search?q=liverpool+roma+2018&rlz=1C1CHBF_enIE766IE766&oq=liverpool+roma&aqs=chrome.0.69i59j69i57j0l4.5082j1j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#sie=m;/g/11hd70y_39;2;/m/0c1q0;dt;fp;1;;

Youā€™re seriously reaching here. Drama??? Liverpool were 5-nil up and Roma got 2 back. Zero drama. 5-2 defeat with 2 goals in the last ten minutes.

As for stasndard? Do you think Liverpool were better in 2018 than 2019?
Their defence was a laughing stock in 2018. They went and spent 150ā‚¬ million on a couple of players and then their defensive record improved dramatically.
In 2019 Ajax had knocked out Real and Juventus, Spurs beat Man City. Liverpool had just beaten Porto.

Sweet divine ā€¦

If @ChairmanDan tried to fuck himself, heā€™d probably miss the touch.

I can understand why a Manchester United supporter would not think a 13 goal thriller in a European Cup semi-final which Liverpool won by the odd goal was dramatic :grin:

Thriller? You reckon Liverpool Roma swung both ways? Like the way the NZ Ireland game swung both ways at the weekend!

It did

Liverpool took a five goal lead playing sublime football and ended up hanging on by the skin of their teeth to win by one goal in the face of a superb Roma comeback

That is indeed a serious swing, and a classic European Cup semi-final tie

There was never any realistic expectation that Roma would make it back. Spurs v Ajax was iconic.

As soon as Joey Carberry opted for his Surrender Kick Irelandā€™s world cup was over.

It must be horiffic for Ewan to put up with from Brazil.
Friends ringing him after their 1st class flights are interrupted by loud passengers.

Iā€™d agree that Ireland bombed, it was a disastrous WC, probably their worst yet considering the talent available.

But, he cannot just brush aside 6N wins & Grand Slams with that excuse.

He can say what he likes about NZ being on the piss in Chicago or end of Season NH trips but how many of these games do they normally lose. The answer is very few.

Iā€™m not going to even ask why he mentioned GAA & Soccer.

Heā€™s a gas ticket, he seems to let his emotions run away with his articles & pity is if he reigned it in he has some really succinct points that Rugby people would find very difficult to debate. Imo, he missed an actual open goal here.

Essentially the Cream of the Crop that Ewan alludes to as a negative in Rugby?

So that section in football produce the best football for you?

Thereā€™s a designated Thread for that lads.

Iā€™m responding to Flatty, not Ewan ā€¦ Flatty said thereā€™s no good spectacles in soccer ā€” I gave the knockouts of CL as an example ā€¦ there are plenty of other instances also.

This is a good one. After watching a replay of Japan beating Ireland he thought theyā€™d beat New Zealand.
Got a couple of likes too froma couple of ā€œGod Help Usā€ types :grinning::grinning:

Thereā€™s so many gems in there :grinning:

The lads were awful cunts for giving that a like, building the wee fella up.

Most people grow out of soccer once they get into their 20s.an average sport especially as its played, or attempted to be played in ireland. Exceptions would be Dublin, sligo louth donegal, places that have a history in the game and you know straight away talking to supporters from there they know it inside out. But then you have clowns from other parts of the country in the manyoo and pool pyjamas like this cunt. Still collecting stickers?