No theyâll probably do the top teams getting a bye into the quarters finals.
For example the top 4 through and the next 8 playing a Wild Card round.
No theyâll probably do the top teams getting a bye into the quarters finals.
For example the top 4 through and the next 8 playing a Wild Card round.
The top 4 out of 6 groups? How is that determined? If itâs on point differential, that would increase the size of the hidings the minnows would get.
The next 8 would be the two remaining group winners and the 6 runners-up?
With 6 groups youâre going to have some lopsided groups.
Yeah something like that. Wouldnât make a difference really- bonus points will be the key determining factor.
I think they might end up with something like the Champions League format which would be better.
3 tiers of seeds with 8 in each, you play one from every seeding tier.
This RTE article is saying thereâll be a round of 16.
It does shorten it as group goes from five weeks to three weeks.
To get to 16 youâre going to have 3rd place teams advancing. Round of 16 will see some unmerciful hole openings.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby-world-cup/2023/1024/1412691-world-cup-to-be-expanded-to-24-teams/
Will there be a repechage?
World rugby doing their best to ensure Ireland can finally win a knockout game.
Too big to be let continue to fail
ZOMBIEZOMBIEZOMBIE
Round of 16 is a shite idea.
Have the IRFU phoned and asked if Ireland can be included as a third team in the final due to the foul play of a 50/50 decision going against them
Nations Championship is where itâs at now
https://x.com/murray_kinsella/status/1716783244689969323?s=46&t=pBoz6vwJNpAFZhshXLNoZg
Will dilute the value of the world cup and/or the 6 nations if playing this abridged version every 2 years.
Will bodies be able to sustain that large increase in play too?
Leave well enough alone was never going to happen when was sold off to that investment group
International rugby was absolutely unreal and they go and ruin it like the club game.
The gaa destroyed its self.
Soccer just becoming a little boring and repetitive. The mystique is gone out of it. International soccer completely destroyed too.
Jumps racing gone to shit.
All I have left is my beloved flat racing.
Such a pity everybody seems intent on destroying on whatâs good about my life.
Be grand mate
Thereâs much, much more to life than sport and the craic associated with it
Makes note
Do Laundry.
Threaten Bart.
Destroy Flat Racing.
Buy Corn Holders.
20 months beforehand still seems ridiculous.
Itâs a bit like my granny being in the church an hour before the start of mass to make sure she got a good seat.
I mean if she only turned up 45 minutes beforehand she could have been in for a nasty surprise. You canât be too careful with these things.
In the group stages. But what happens after that, a round of 16 or straight to QF? If the former, you have 8 more games and more than likely a load more batings.
You have one less game for each team in the pool but the Round of 16 hasnât exactly been a major success story in the Champions Cup thus far. The pool will have no suspense now at all and will only eliminate 8 teams from 24. Similar to the new Sam Maguire and Tailteann Cup structures.
Thatâs the way it looks to me.
Theyâve 4 years to improve the weaker countries. Should just do that
Theyâve 4 years to improve the weaker countries.
Shure Ireland have had 40 years now and still no progress.
flattythehurdler:Theyâve 4 years to improve the weaker countries.
Shure Ireland have had 40 years now and still no progress.
Ireland have made huge progress.