Rugby World Cup 2023/ Crochet & Knitting chit chat

Every tour since 1997 but they got pushed out of other rugby rights.

Likely Amazon

Itā€™s great to see the mighty all blacks emulating Irish rugby once again, in rugby journalism this time.

They could do with an editor at rugbypass

Alickadoos love putting initials on their middle name

Can someone do the needful?

On a scale of 9-10, how bored are you exactly?

Ciara Kelly pal. Donā€™t be wasting the server space.

Knock yourself out kiddo.

Ciara Kelly: The Irish who celebrated the loss of our ā€˜elitistā€™ rugby team are snobs themselves ā€“ I have no middle-class guilt about calling them out

Today at 02:30

Inverted snobbery against societyā€™s middle class is unacceptable, particularly when it comes to sport

ā€œThere are Irish people who wonā€™t support the rugby team because itā€™s a middle-class sport played by ā€˜the eliteā€™ and inverted snobbery apparently is fine.ā€ Photo: Xavier Laine/Getty Images

A week on from the Rugby World Cup final, Iā€™ve been processing our collective reaction to it. (Yes, my brain does move slowly). Not whether weā€™re cursed to remain forever stuck at the quarter-finals stage or how our nerves let the All Blacks get away from us, but more that a cohort of Irish people took some perverse pleasure in us being knocked out and had no problem expressing their gleeful schadenfreude publicly.

And I donā€™t get it. I donā€™t care if soccer is your game or youā€™ve no interest in sport at all. The clue is in the name. Theyā€™re the Irish rugby team. And surely whether itā€™s the Irish darts team or the Irish axe-throwing team, when they put on the green jersey, we support them. (As it happens, I know a couple of our axe-throwing team and theyā€™re a lovely bunch!).

But no. There are Irish people who wonā€™t support the rugby team ā€” despite them playing their hearts out and bravely putting their bodies on the line in an incredibly physical sport. Despite them punching above our weight internationally as a tiny country and despite them being our best shot at actual success in a major sport. They wonā€™t support them. Why? Because itā€™s a middle-class sport played by ā€˜the eliteā€™ and inverted snobbery apparently is fine in a way ordinary snobbery isnā€™t.

And the vitriol against them was so unfettered because rugby fans love their sport enough that it more or less prevents them from being cowed with middle-class guilt or middle-class shame ā€” in the way they usually are about most other things. So it drives some people mad. Itā€™s only the middle class who say, ā€œGosh no! I donā€™t need an energy credit and Iā€™d much rather you gave it to someone who does!ā€ or ā€œIā€™d happily pay more taxes for better public services.ā€ (Even though Iā€™ve already opted to work my ass off to pay for health insurance for my family). Middle-class guilt is why Labour and the Social Democrats are led and voted for by a solidly middle-class demographic. Same as Labour in the UK. More working-class people in the UK vote Tory than Labour. Labour is a party of college graduates.

Middle-class guilt was why some Irish fans were afraid to belt out The Fields of Athenry during the Haka in the Stade de France, in case they were being culturally insensitive. And itā€™s why no one complained when predicted grades, in the 2020 Leaving Cert that never happened, didnā€™t actually predict what kids were likely to get in the exam.

Because itā€™s not cool to be middle class is it? The bourgeoisie has always been despised. Even though as a wealthy country (yep, we actually are), thatā€™s loads of us. Working-class protagonists are salt-of-the-earth heroes. Middle-class ones are Ross Oā€™Carroll-Kelly-type eejits.

Iā€™m only first-generation middle class. I donā€™t feel that guilt. My parents were Dubs. Dad was one of a family of nine who grew up in a two-up-two-down and Mum was from a tiny cottage in Ringsend. Work not privilege was how we did well and I make no apologies for it. Punching up may be more acceptable than punching down, but itā€™s still punching. The chip-on-their-shoulder brigade are not actually better peoplethan the prawn-sandwich brigade. Allez les Verts!

A second opinion

Speaking of rugby. I was lucky to make it to the Ireland-New Zealand game in Paris but I was still on crutches post hip surgery and had to fly out through Heathrow, which also meant changing terminals so I asked for airport assistance.

Basically, if you have a mobility problem, theyā€™ll provide you with a wheelchair and a person to help you navigate the airport. We had a very nice man who knew nothing about the Rugby World Cup and was a bit perplexed by my green Ireland hat with horns on it. We realised quite quickly when he berated my daughter for not letting me push the lift button ā€” after I went to push it but she got there first ā€” that he thought I had a learning disability.

It suddenly made sense why he was speaking to me slowly and over-explaining about the bus between terminals. Whilst thereā€™re people who know me well who may think he has a point, it really struck me that this must happen towheelchair users a lot and maybe we should all stop presuming that just because someone canā€™t walk, that they canā€™t do other stuff as well.

Well said Ciara

And calling others snobs no less.

Theyā€™ll still get the RTE Team of the Year for the Grand Slam.

C Oā€™C

What in the name of good jaysus is that? She is abusing working class people and thinks itā€™s football fans who hate rugby? All the anti rugby heads on here are confirmed Gahliban and absolutely middle class if not upper middle class.
Bizarre shite altogether.

Ciara, you were wearing a hat with horns on it.

Itā€™s Ciara Kelly.

Sheā€™s playing to her audience

She has an audience?