Apparently, it’s run by an absolute dickhead but they discuss all things golf over there.
What do you make of Ian Poulter pulling out of the last European qualifying event to instead play in the States this week? He cited two reasons: 1) He needs to finish in the top 70 of the US Order of Merit to qualify for the lucrative end of season Tour of Champions events; and 2) He’s played 13 US Tour events and you need to play a minimum of 15 to retain your tour card. If he really wanted to play in the Ryder Cup then he’d be over in Scotland this week like Justin Rose.
Darren Clarke really put himself into contention by winning the Dutch Open last week but it’s probably too late for Paul McGinley despite his second place finish. Paul Casey is also relying on a wild card and he’s got an excellent matchplay record and is a cunt I like. I think Monty is an outside bet given his personal differences with Faldo and his inconsistent form. That said he could probably still turn it on at The Ryder Cup if picked, like he’s done in the past.
Poulter would have been the only debate if he’d stayed in Europe. You’d have had Clarke, Casey and Poulter going for two spots. Now it’s just academic because Poulter has basically made cash his priority.
Fair play to you Bandage I never realised that Clarke won anything last weekend at all. Heard no sports news or saw nothing at all this weekend as was groomsman at a wedding and was busy as fook with organising stuff and beerin etc from Friday until yesterday.
I myself am pretty disgusted with his decision, Poulter has enough money made this year, he should be concentrating on doing everything in his power to get into the automatic picks the prick. I don’t like that attitude at all in the way that he is kind of taking for granted that he’ll be picked(Grant it he should be but still I don’t like the way he’s thinking)
2other wildcard picks that should be considered are Ross Fisher and Oliver Wilson, they have played some great golf this year and it wouldn’t bother me in the least to see one of them sneak in.
[quote=“Bandage”]Could Poulter have already discussed things with Faldo and been assured he’s going to be one of the picks?
I doubt it. Surely Faldo would have preferred if he played his way automatically onto the team to give him more scope with his picks.
Faldo’s a bit eccentric so I wouldn’t take it as a given that he’s going to pick Casey and Clarke.[/quote]
He has discussed things with him according to europeantour.com and I reckon myself he will pick him and has more or less agreed to that but you’d never know.
Hate Faldo the cunt, I wonder will the guys play for him, he’s not a popular man I believe, time will tell I suppose
[quote=“Bandage”]Could Poulter have already discussed things with Faldo and been assured he’s going to be one of the picks?
I doubt it. Surely Faldo would have preferred if he played his way automatically onto the team to give him more scope with his picks.
Faldo’s a bit eccentric so I wouldn’t take it as a given that he’s going to pick Casey and Clarke.[/quote]
Middle bit - Exactly. Faldo’s ideal situation was that Poulter qualifies and the other two picks are his own choice. It hardly makes sense to let Poulter off the hook now.
Plus I don’t think Faldo’s ego would allow him to have it all sewn up with no suspense building up. This is all about Nick Faldo, no way is he going to have a quiet word with someone and dampen down the speculation.
See Faldo made a quip in commentary for NBC last weekend. Casey had a tricky, downhill 20 footer and Nick said something along the lines of, ‘If he makes this then he’s in the team!’ Casey went and rolled it in and all the American commentators were giving him grief about it.
Faldo the auld Engerlish mucker could go for both Casey and Poulter but Clarke will be hard to ignore after the KLM open.
Couple of things about Poulter
He’s been on Soccer AM quiet a bit and seems a sound guy. Loves his football so that’s alright with me.
-Wacky clothes aside he’s a good player. He had that putt on the 18th in the British Open to what he would have thought was to win it and he sunk it: shows what he can do under pressure.
He’s been there before and usually does okay over in the States.
Casey is well used to the States and the way they set up their courses over there. He was a bit of a bollix when I got him to give me a signature a couple of years ago over in Dubai but in fairness to the guy he did get caught in a bad rain shower and was like a wet rat at the time and he had his own marker.
Clarke is just a legend and I would defo have him on the team. Class act.
It comes down to Faldo though and he’s more Georges Cross than Combat 18 are. He could go for Casey and Poults.
Not in the running is Monty, I’d be shocked if he got the pick.
I think it will be Poulter and Casey, they have the US experience. Darren is too unreliable and not sure he has played enough US golf in recent times. Suspect Faldo would like to deal with more malleable characters than ‘our’ Darren.
Not sure Puke but according to Montys comments there on Ssports news I’d say Sunday night for the European team as he said all I can do is play as well as I can this weekend and then go home and tune in to the tv Sunday night like everyone else.