Scotland v Ireland, Saturday - 7.45pm

Switzerland won away in Spain Saturday night, topped a group with Italy to qualify for the World Cup and as you say knocked France out of the euros.

This group of Swiss players have qualified for five tournaments on the trot and have a number of lads who consistently play above their club form for their country. They are a very solid team

Dubs will always let you down, soft as shite.

Spock out

I’d imagine the grand total of minutes you’ve watched of Tranmere Rovers and Calcio Udinese’s B team this season is zero.

He has been on the first team squad for all bar one game this year.

Switzerland drew with Wales in the group and were hammered by Italy, they got out of the group in 3rd spot.

They drew with France and won the penalty shoot out.

They were a solid side, an average side.

Again, it’s actually strengthens the argument for what Ireland are currently trying to do. If average sides like the Swiss can be considered “Quality” sides by lads like yourselves, surely you can see that if Ireland can get themselves playing decent football where we’ve a genuine chance against everyone without being camped in our own box for 90 minutes that we could actually really give a tournament a proper rattle

eh, we are losing to armenia & luxembourg mate

Spock has destroyed Irish football

Fuck off with your logic mate. Luxembourg are on the up. Armenia will soon be a eurasian powerhouse of football. We need to get shitter to be better you see.

Plus Switzerland are way stronger now than they were 3 years ago. Much better side.

Football man Ken Early had spoken

I believe we can beat the likes of Luxembourg and Armenia if we keep progressing

But it doesn’t have to be one or the other. Its not a case that Kenny has us playing this wonderful expansive football that nobody else could, or if we replacement we have to go back to 4-4-fucking 2 and defend the edge of our box for 90 minutes either.

It is the same group of players as three years ago. How are they much stronger?

Surely you recognise that we are playing far far better football now than under several previous managements???

Nobody is looking for expansive football that nobody else is playing. Just a style of football that actually gives us a realistic chance against every team.

It’s also not true that he dumped a load of older players and started to bring through yourh straight away. The ‘Building a squad’ bollox is just that. There’s no huge revolution in the style of play(trap was turgid alright). He has been very inconsistent in his selections. And games where we seemed to come into with momentum have had shite performances. I’m far from Kenny out but there are huge questions about his performance as manager. A little realism would be fine.

The Luxembourg thing again :roll_eyes:

McCarthy, O’Neill and Trap had some poor results too by the way, but yeah keep using that one :+1:

He has us playing far better football than Mick or O’Neill had, ffs will you stop

What is better football? Consistently conceding sloppy goals from set pieces, a disjointed press, aimless square passes in our own half? Our home performance v Serbia was about as ineffective a performance as I can remember from an Ireland team - It is entirely subjective as to what better football is. We are certainly playing a less effective football based off the results of the last 30 games. The low points of Kenny’s tenure so far have been every bit as bad as the low points of our previous managers without the high points that Mick, Trap and O’Neill had.

This seems to be what it boils down to for you. What constitutes far far better football? We’ve kept possession better but have had very little going forward. Hendrick was the man charged with playing little through ball in for the forwards up until recently and he is pilloried by most. He’s chopped and changed none stop in midfield. Most of our goals end up being from corners anyway. Collins goal was individual brilliance. Only the scotland game had link up play between the 2 forwards. Where is this far far better football you speak of?

yes, apologies, i keep falling into the trap of discussing previous results when discussing a managers performance