Seeking members for the Limerick Chippers Social Group

Where is this Donkey Fords ye speak of and is it worth a visit for a bit of grub if I was in Limerick city

Up by St Johnā€™s Hospital/St Johnā€™s Cathedralā€¦

Here Iā€™m neither religious nor sick, what kind of directions are they donā€™t get a job in a tourist office whatever you do.

Is it any good Puke some of this limerick crowd like raspberry creams?

Itā€™s basic but very good.
Youā€™ll only really be getting fish & chips or battered sausages & chips.

If you are heading along by the river across from Barringtons hospital turn right at the junction where Portleys pubs is.
Continue on up that road until just before you get to the top of it, Donkeys is on your right.

Tis a decent feed for a small price, worth a trip alone for the look, tis a Limerick institution, had a granduncle home from Australia for the first time in 40 odd years and it was one of the things on his to do listā€¦

How well would you know Limerickā€¦Coming in from Ennis turn off at Ivanā€™s head past Thomond Park and King Johnā€™s castle and so, head over the new bridge and take a right on the round about, then take a left at the traffic lights and it is at the top if that street, up past Houriganā€™s the lawnmover/moterbike shop on the other side of the roadā€¦

Fords is grand to go to once in a while, thereā€™s nothing pretty about the place, just good fish and chips. You wouldnā€™t want to make a habit of these types of spots though.

Some very disturbing news has reached me regarding a famous Limerick chipperā€¦

Go onā€¦

[quote=ā€œThe Dunph, post: 342062ā€]
Go onā€¦
[/quote]Tonys pizza house is gone!

The Yellow Roadā€¦ Gone.

Grabbed myself a bag of Enzos chips there at lunch time.
Donā€™t know if just a single bag is enough for a review, but I can confirm the chips were top notch.

I have yet to get a bad feed out of thereā€¦some spot, although have never used their takeaway, always go for the sit down optionā€¦

I think now that the accounting scandals of the past are well and truely behind us, I think we should look at re-launching this group for 2011.

The lads on Boards.ie have taken up where the Dunph has failedā€¦ Best of luck to them.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056122648

I notice ā€œClaremanā€ posting on threads over there.
He used to post on here a bit, most notably in relation to an incredibly irritating work colleague.

That thread is boring man, itā€™s just six pages of talking about fryersā€¦

A documentary called ā€˜Chippersā€™ just after starting on TG4. It tells the tale of an Italian family that moved to Ireland in the early part of the 20th century to set up fish and chips shops. I would recommend all club members take a look at this.*

*Please note: The documentary is not centred on Limerick, rather Dublin, but is relevant nonetheless. As we know, the Italians are responsible for many of the fine chippers we have here in Limerick.

Word as just reached me that the landmark Limerick establishment The Lobster Pot will not be renewing their membership of the TFK Limerick Chippers Golden Circle Club and have ceased trading.

i think you mean New York City pizza, that used to be The lobster Pot, which used to be Friar Tucks