Senior Hurling Quarter Finals

The Clare v Galway match is a total crapshoot. Both sides have loads of potential, but they are both flakey as shite. If the Galway from last year’s Leinster final and first half of drawn AIF show up, then they should cruise.
Could be a cracker of a game.

KK will stumble over the line in the opening match, through shear determination. They are wounded, but still have enough bite in them.

[quote=“glasagusban, post: 805619, member: 1533”]Can’t see Clare winning I’m afraid, Galway to win by 7. This is unfortunate as of the teams left I would least like to play Galway if they hit anything like their form of last year.

Galway gained huge benefit from contesting the League Relegation ties against Dublin last year, they really improved with the extra games and built on it.
This year Dublin again gained a huge advantage from the draws with Wexford & KK and look what they did to Galway. I think Clare hold a huge advantage due to more competitive games in the bank and the open spaces of Thurles will suit their high fitness levels. Galway physically should bully Clare but i can’t see Davy playing a system which involves that being a problem.

Clare by 2-3 points for me.

Cark should take us if they’ve any cop on. We’re like a knackered car at this stage, just spluttering along til the inevitable breakdown. Fennelly needs more time, from the looks of Henry against the blaas, he’s nowhere near ready for battle.
Belligerent and all as we are, if cark are organised and play smart, they’ll win by 3. Christ knows they need it more after the shaming that chipp gave them in the u-21.

Davy Fitz’s fear of losing is greater than his desire to win. That said, Galway are such a one man team, if Clare hold that man, they may win. Clare to put two men on Joe and squeak a win by 2 in a low scoring affair.

[quote=“carryharry, post: 805644, member: 1517”]Galway gained huge benefit from contesting the League Relegation ties against Dublin last year, they really improved with the extra games and built on it.
This year Dublin again gained a huge advantage from the draws with Wexford & KK and look what they did to Galway. I think Clare hold a huge advantage due to more competitive games in the bank and the open spaces of Thurles will suit their high fitness levels. Galway physically should bully Clare but i can’t see Davy playing a system which involves that being a problem.

Clare by 2-3 points for me.[/quote]

You expect Davy “shipped 7 goals in a munster final” Fitz to play a system that will disarm the other team? :confused:

ffs glas.

Clare by 2 (but they should have won by 7)
Cork by 4. Kilkenny will have 2 players sent off.

What? He is possibly not as tactically inept as people make him out to be but he does tend to do off the wall shit. The Clare team look afraid to do anything that might not be part of the system, the way they are playing I think Davy restricts them. Plus, Galway on paper have better players for me.

[quote=“Piles Hussain, post: 805682, member: 363”]Cark should take us if they’ve any cop on. We’re like a knackered car at this stage, just spluttering along til the inevitable breakdown. Fennelly needs more time, from the looks of Henry against the blaas, he’s nowhere near ready for battle.
Belligerent and all as we are, if cark are organised and play smart, they’ll win by 3. Christ knows they need it more after the shaming that chipp gave them in the u-21.

Davy Fitz’s fear of losing is greater than his desire to win. That said, Galway are such a one man team, if Clare hold that man, they may win. Clare to put two men on Joe and squeak a win by 2 in a low scoring affair.[/quote]

There’ll be no holding that man, but it probably won’t be enough for Galway. They’ve shown no form this year at all so can’t I see them just being able to turn on the tap on Sunday and cruise to victory. Davy will have the Clare lads wound up to the last, he’ll have it drummed into their heads that Galway are a soft touch and that they are there for the taking…Unfortunately, he’ll probably be proved correct.

In the undercard match, I can only see a Kilkenny win. Can’t see too many of them Cork forwards getting the better of their men, The Cats have been struggling this year, but mostly in the forward / midfield positions, their backs have kept them in the championship and I expect them to do so again on Sunday.

If the Cork forwards can somehow exploit the Kilkenny backs lack of pace then they have a chance.Waterford showed the template on how to beat Kilkenny and Corks forwards are better than Waterfords.Waterfords forwards just couldn’t get enough scores to reward all their hard work.However i think Kilkenny are coming into form at the right time and i can’t see Cork getting to within 5 points of them.Kilkenny to win but Limerick will win the all ireland!Galway will beat Clare.Clare are a overrated team with a demented mad man of a manager!

Did he restrict Waterford from beating Galway while in charge?

[quote=“His Holiness Da Dalai Lama, post: 805628, member: 1503”]The Clare v Galway match is a total crapshoot. Both sides have loads of potential, but they are both flakey as shite. If the Galway from last year’s Leinster final and first half of drawn AIF show up, then they should cruise.
Could be a cracker of a game.

KK will stumble over the line in the opening match, through shear determination. They are wounded, but still have enough bite in them.[/quote]

what?

Clare and KK

Galway should have 3 or 4 all Irelands won in the last ten years on paper.
If they click at all they’ll win it. They haven’t looked like clicking at any stage this year.

They need to put Joe in full, leave him there and just fuck it in to him.

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 805740, member: 332”]Galway should have 3 or 4 all Irelands won in the last ten years on paper.
If they click at all they’ll win it. They haven’t looked like clicking at any stage this year.

They need to put Joe in full, leave him there and just fuck it in to him.[/quote]

They were poor against a fired up Dublin and still put up 2-13. I fancy them to put up the same or a few points more against Clare, will Clare give a return of 22/23 points? I said already I think they will need goals to win this, is Honan injured?

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 805740, member: 332”]
They need to put Joe in full, leave him there and just fuck it in to him.[/quote]

Just fuck it into him, they don’t call you one of the primary thinkers on the game on here for nowt Julio :clap:

Thats the problem with Galway, too much thinking.
They’ve the best FF in the country, leave him there and puck the ball into him. Simple.

[quote=“Julio Geordio, post: 805754, member: 332”]Thats the problem with Galway, too much thinking.
They’ve the best FF in the country, leave him there and puck the ball into him. Simple.[/quote]

Fair point, I can see fartholey robbing it though for his next big match preview.

I think the talk of short passing and confined hurling is overstated when talking about this Clare team, there are times when they make the wrong decisions and it breaks down but this is as much to us being too caqllow a side to go out and just play direct hurling, but the two biggest failing we had against Wexford were not due to short passing or over elaboration.
The fact is we hit too many wides, most of which not under a huge amount of pressure and we struggled at puckouts, both their and ours. We simply din’t win enough clean ball in the air - maybe three puckouts in 90+ minutes - and even when it was broken and hit the ground we failed to get on the breaks, both of these kept Wexford in the game and allowed them to take us to extra time where we were more clinical and saw it out relatively easily.

Both of these aspects can be rectified on the training ground to a large extent. Keep Canning relatively quiet and stop Tannion and Smith from dominating at midfield and we well win IMHO unless of course we hit another heap of wides

Sparrow is busy sorting Newtownshandrum, but i did hear he is releasing Niall McInerney (six mile bridge native) from the senior panel to play for the Clare seniors:)

[quote=“Mark Renton, post: 805382, member: 1796”]Thoughts, speculation, predictions… anything?

If KK and Galway bring their A-game they could deliver two bad beatings to Cork and Clare respectively going on form, but neither have played particularly well this year, Galway more so. Clare have delivered decent spells in games to date but have also yet to put in a 70 min performance, I don’t know if it’s niavity or coming from the sidelines, but they need to be far more ruthless, especially in front of goal. Breeze or no breeze, they should have been out of sight, or at least had a substantial lead, against Cork at half time but blew it. Again against Wexford the last day there were opportunities to go for the Jugular but they didn’t leaving Wexford in the game. Honan will be key if they are to even think about winning you’d feel but the one thing i’d like to see is some passion, it has been sadly mssing all year bar maybe for a spell in the second half against Waterford. (Is Honan injured???)

Cork have Horgan back, great news, but how are they going to use him and the other forwards?? Lobbing ball down onto of the KK defence like they did the last day against Limerick will be suicide, they’ll clean up all day. Cork’s movement and their short running game was great at times against LK, they need more of the same here, particularly if they are going to persist with the short puck out. Kk have not been finishing teams off like in years gone by tho, which gives Cork a chance, but the likes of O’Farrell and more so Lehane are not going well from what i’ve seen, I’d start Coughlan. Like Clare, they need to bring a bit of fight to the table tho or they could be eaten alive.

What Galway turns up will decide that game- But i think they will do it Galway by 4.
We know what you are gonna get from KK, how will Cork bounce back and do they have some fight in them? KK by 6.[/quote]
Coughlan has to start at half forward along with Cronin and Hardney, i would drop Lehane and McCarthy, might have some chance then, Shane O’Neill has to start or we are goosed…