Serbia v Ireland - WCQ 2021 - Gameweek 1

Good night for big dan campbell seeing Serbia winning. If we had Randolph or Kelleher in goals i think we get a draw there. Thought Coleman was very good.

Lads want Brady to start. OK.
They say heā€™s got something. Right.
A bit of class, a creative player. Grand.

Never, ever let him take a free kick or a corner though. He has proven over and over and over again that his skillset in this regard is to pick out the first defender no matter how hard it is.

Iā€™d do better in the wellingtons. And the oil skins.

Itā€™s been said many times but TOD really is some eejit

That was a great loss.

I much preferred watching that and getting the result we got than anything I saw under that dinosaur manager Trappatoni and then that awful man M Oā€™N.

Is Tony Oā€™Donoghue gone to Serbia to interrogate the Irish Manager or is he happy like the off the ball lads with the current manager and the football he plays?

Hourihane is possibly worth carrying for dead balls alone, although he doesnā€™t give you the same energy as Browne/Cullen/Molumby offered tonight.

We had a goalie then.

Are we not allowed call it Man of the match now? Even though they are all men? For fucking fucks sake

Iā€™ve heard Hourihane is a dead ball expert. Iā€™ve never seen it though

I donā€™t trust him. Sport is a contest when you boil it down, he doesnā€™t compete enough.

Ah tbf to him, heā€™s a bit soft but he does deliver a good ball and has done for Ireland.

In form at the moment, suits a 10 role where he doesnā€™t have to do as much work.

He had a great game against Georgia at home in the last campaign. Scored from a free kick and whipped in a number of dangerous corners and/or free kicks.

It has been all downhill since then though

I wouldnā€™t argue that point at all.

If you play him, youā€™re carrying him to take free kicks and corners. Sometimes at international level, that can be worth doing.

Keeping to the GAA theme, we remind me of a qualifier team that plays some nice stuff before ultimately losing tamely enough when the opposition ups the ante.

Wexford?

I honestly donā€™t think you can select Travers for the Luxembourg game no chance the other options could be as bad as he was tonight, imagine a packed stadium he would have fainted out there. His confidence or what little he had is shot now too.

And we fielded an amateur keeper to keep up the Gaa theme. Butā€¦ Weā€™ll be in the long grass waiting for Serbia when they come to Lansdowne roadā€¦

I said plays some nice stuff.

Travers looked a bag of nerves all through. All over the place.

We saw the impact quality has tonight. Tadic and Mitrovic. Donā€™t think with our lack of quality we can afford to carry anyone, but I take your point. Too many times with free kicks and corners we murder the delivery. From a stats point of view aloneā€¦

Serbia at home with the vaccinated masses roaring Spockā€™s boys onto a famous victory. A mouthwatering prospect (cc @peddlerscross)